We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisited after a 20 years”
Review of Il Palio 2 - CLOSED

Il Palio 2
Price range: $4 - $51
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Revisited after a 20 years”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice but noisy atmosphere. Lovely old building set near the railway station, free parking is limited.
Warm welcome and good food. We were lucky to get a table as pretty busy for a Wednesday evening. Had pizza and pudding, very good food, thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardtoplease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    33
    29
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Proper Italian food in a railway shed”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time here on bank holiday Sunday. Delicious pasta and nice house wine. Service friendly and puddings especially delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThebestTRAVELfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,008 reviews
700 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“Pretty standard”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

and nothing special. Yes the pizza I had was nice enough, and Andy's pasta was ok. House wine - quite nice and reasonably priced. Toilets - think they need to check them regularly. When I went they were not very clean which was rather off putting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Fab italian food, loved we could see the chef cooking our meal.
Portions were great value for money.
Venue was quirky, gave us something to talk about, and the staff were very friendly and were able to offer advice when we couldn't decide.A hidden gem, will go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosie u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Food,Location and Service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having just spent the best evening in IL Palio I have to share this with others - as much as I would like to keep a secret. Food was fabulous, service great, and having arrived at 6.30pm left at 9.30pm and was in no way rushed. I don't get the previous reviews and thankfully chose to ignore them for their total inaccuracy! All I can say is they should have gone elsewhere and obviously don't like authentic Italian and much prefer ready meals!!!! Keep up the good work and will be back - of that you can guarantee! Thank you so much - Fabulous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Palio 2 also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Sway, Brockenhurst
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing