We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bentley Cottage

Lounge/Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/dining room Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/dining room
Lounge
Log burner
Dining Room
Kitchen
Front aspect including off-road parking
1st bedroom
1st bedroom
1st bedroom en-suite
2nd bedroom
2nd bedroom en-suite
Bunk bedroom (3 standard size singles: 6'6)
Bunk bedroom
Family bathroom
Lobby
Patio
Mare and foal near Bentley Cottage
New Forest Ponies
Pig at pannage time, near Balmer Lawn - Brockenhurst beach
Stream near Queen's Meadow
Can you see the deer?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nikhnik
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

have just returned from the most amazing weekend at the beautiful Bentley Cottage, location great in Brockenhurst so easy to get to both coast and forest. Lovely warm cottage with every conceivable amenity. Homemade brownies were a big hit and other lovely touches such as locally reared bacon and welcome goodies in the fridge. Plenty of firewood to keep you cosy and the bedrooms/bathrooms were all of such a good standard. This is our annual ladies weekend and we have been to other properties, none of which quite live up to these standards, so no doubt we will be back. Ashley and Katrin popped in to make sure all was ok and offered us some tips for walks and places to eat, both of which you are spoilt for choice with. Cannot recommend highly enough - Thank You

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in good location and friendly help full owners.”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A modern well equipped and spacious bungalow. Wood burner a welcome bonus of an evening. Perfect location for long walks and a good base for costal or new forest walking. One of the best holiday lets we have stayed in. SUPERB.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K8steven
1 review
“Christmas Vacation”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My family booked this cottage for our Christmas vacation in 2016 & with it being our first Christmas away from home I wasn't sure what to expect! Well I can honestly say this was one of the most memorable Christmas's we have ever had! The cottage is absolutely beautiful with great open space, child friendly & cosy surroundings there was nothing to disappoint! The owners popped by to show us where to go for walks & my hubby even joined them on a santa run on Christmas Eve! the surrounding area is stunning and my kids could not have enjoyed a better Christmas! Everything was thought of from the brownies & champagne on arrival to the beautiful Christmas tree! There's games for the children, a cosy fire & everything thought of from the toiletries to the kitchen cupboard items, everything was thought of to make it like your home! I will definitely be looking to book this again for my family and can't thank the owners enough for making the week so special for our family! x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bushwalk2...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage for family get together”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is a beautiful appointed cottage. We were made very welcome by Ashley and Katrin. The welcome pack was most generous along with logs for the fire and Christmas tree with lights. Local village and commoner rights meant making way for cattle, donkeys and ponies on walks. Lymington harbour only one train station away.
We all had a wonderful time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliastee...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent, clean, friendly hosts and everything you could need for a most enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The cottage was in a perfect location so near to many beautiful towns and places to visit. We stayed with our family for Christmas and it was magical. The comfort of the beds, cleanliness and friendly hosts was second to none. Everything was in the cottage that you could ever need for a very relaxing and enjoyable time. Our grandchildren kept saying it was the best Christmas ever. We would definitely recommend to anybody for any time of the year with so much to do in the area. The log fire made it so warm, cosy and comfortable. The welcome pack was much appreciated and the brownies were to die for.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect at every level!”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have just come back from a perfect four night stay. Brockenhurst an ideal location in the centre of the Forest. This property is immaculate, furnished to a very high standard and finished with style and homely touches. Lots of attention to detail, log burner with plenty of logs, champagne, brownies, eggs, bacon, butter and juice, the list goes on and of course the real Christmas tree! The owners are next door but the property is quite separate, own drive etc and 100% respected our privacy, they just briefly said hello, and were there to assist, which we didn't need. 100% recommend this, we will be back next year - thank you. Guy & Dawn

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Mont a...
1 review
“Comfort and Style in a Great Location!”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed at Bentley Cottage after 4 days in London. It was immediately obvious that we should have left London after 1 day and stayed at Bentley the extra 3 days. That would have given us a full week in this delightful home.

About the house: Katrin has an excellent sense of style and it shows throughout the home, It is very well decorated. The beds are gloriously big and comfy! The comforters are beautiful, the drapes are high quality and the leather couches are easy to sit on. The bathrooms are large. We did not use the 3rd bedroom with bunkbeds so I cannot comment on that. However, all of the bathrooms are nice and big, with good water flow and lighting. The washing machine and dryer are a real convenience, but the dryer does take a long time. The house is off the main highway and very quiet. There is plenty of dry firewood and we enjoyed a cozy fire on the day it rained. The only issue we had was with the wifi, which would cut in and out sporadically, and then work fine for quite awhile.

Don't make the mistake of stopping at the store on your way in, like we did. The house comes stocked with fresh eggs, a rasher of bacon and bread, juice, jam, butter, coffee, tea and milk. And did I mention the freshly made brownies that were there waiting for us?

Transportation: Although we rented a car, we left it parked the whole time we were there. That was a waste of money. We did not need a car. Once you are checked in, it's a simple walk to all parts of town and to the train station. However, if you are travelling with luggage, Katrin will gladly pick you up and take to back to the station in her car. There are some amazing walking trails in Brockenhurst, all within easy strike of the house.

Restaurants in town are pretty good for English fare. We never had a "foodie" meal quite like you can get in California, but we were not disappointed. The Italian restaurant at the train station parking lot was excellent.

Overall, this house and the Harvest House in Milford on Sea were the two best places we stayed in England. We would not hesitate to return to either of them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was lovely and so comfortable! The location is perfect.
Liked least: Our time here was too short.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing