We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Perfect child friendly holiday Rental"”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hazel House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KRelt10
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Perfect child friendly holiday Rental"”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We recently spent a week at Hazel House over the Christmas period and as soon as you entered the house it felt like home. It was cosy, warm and it fulfilled all our needs for a party of 8 consisting of 5 adults and 3 children. The kitchen/diner was an excellent social space and the conservatory was an added bonus as the children had room to play with all their Christmas presents. They gave it 11 out of 10! The kitchen was well equipped and having an en-suite in one of the double rooms, a bathroom and a shower downstairs met our needs perfectly.

The house was in an excellent location with only a 5 minute walk to all the amenities in Brockenhurst. There were numerous eating places to cater for all tastes and there were two small supermarkets, as well as the local butcher, bakery and greengrocer.

In addition, dealing with Lesley the owner was an absolute pleasure. The booking process was seamless and Lesley accommodated all our additional requirements, making our stay such a memorable one. We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
247Anne
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home in perfect location”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is our 4th summer at Hazel House (Holly House) and we still love it. No need for any car hire, everything walking distance or accessible by local bus or train. So relaxing and peaceful on the edge of the Forest, it really is our most favourite holiday destination to date (and we have travelled a lot!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet and. Natural beauty of the area all in walking distance
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randhcode
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Spent our golden wedding there with our son, daughter, son in law and 2 granddaughters. I could not fault the house at all. Everything was there that you could possibly need and with 7 of us three showers was a bonus. Lovely to see all the ponies. All the eating places were within walking distance and also Tesco's and Sainsburys Went to the Isle of Wight for the day. Had our golden wedding meal at The Huntsman which we all enjoyed. Also had pizzas, Chinese, Fish and Chips and went to Bistro 26. All of these were very good. Did not manage to get to the Indian so might have to go back again. Had a barbecue in the lovely garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSegel
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect For Large Families”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

As nice as Hazel House looks in the pictures, it's even better in person. 8 of us (3 married couples and 2 children ages 10 and 12) spent 6 wonderful days there. As soon as we stepped through the front door, everyone started oohing and aahing. The house is cozy but had plenty of room for all of us. The two baths upstairs (one en suite and one guest) and one small one downstairs really made life easy. The solarium off the kitchen/dining area is a great plus and one or both of the kids decided to sleep there each night. It has a fully equipped kitchen with a gas stove, oven, microwave and full-sized refrigerator. It also has a washer and drier. [Caution to Americans: be sure to read the manuals as many of the appliances operate slightly differently from what we expect]
The house is very conveniently located (10-15 minute walks to "downtown" grocery stores and tea shops, the railroad station and restaurants) in a lovely residential area with very friendly neighbors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay5v
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed with a group of 6 adults/2 children and had a lovely stay. We wanted to visit Peppa Pig World and this was ideal, only a 15 minute drive from the cottage. There was ample space and everything was very clean and tidy. Another lovely surprise was the BBQ which we used on the second night. Would definitely stay again..

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diskii
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I have just spent a weekend at this lovely house. I don't get to spend a lot of time with my family and we had a brilliant few days in this superb location. The house is immaculate. There is everything you could possibly need. It has beautiful furnishings, the most comfortable beds and is warm and homely.
The owner should be very proud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigamorti...
Torquay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We all had a lovely weeks stay at Hazel House in early June, 6 grown ups and 2 small children.
Upstairs bunk beds for the children and 3 cosy double bedrooms, one with en suite and a separate bathroom with bath/shower.
Downstairs, another toilet and shower, Comfy lounge, large kitchen/dinner with everything you might need and more. There is a large kitchen table for 8, which we used for breakfast. As we were lucky with the weather, we had BBQ`S several evenings, using the outside table and chairs, whilst. the children played in the lovely garden.
Brockenhurst is a lovely old fashioned English village. The children and we enjoyed a round walk to the shops, small supermarket reasonably priced, bakery, butchers and greengrocers. We can also recommend the Chinese Takeaway, it was delicious!! We always had to stop and watch the cars drive through the ford on the way !.
Overall a lovely well equipped house in a great location for exploring many interesting places nearby.
The children were surprised to see ponies walking down the road most days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Snug bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing