We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect For Large Families”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hazel House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HSegel
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect For Large Families”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

As nice as Hazel House looks in the pictures, it's even better in person. 8 of us (3 married couples and 2 children ages 10 and 12) spent 6 wonderful days there. As soon as we stepped through the front door, everyone started oohing and aahing. The house is cozy but had plenty of room for all of us. The two baths upstairs (one en suite and one guest) and one small one downstairs really made life easy. The solarium off the kitchen/dining area is a great plus and one or both of the kids decided to sleep there each night. It has a fully equipped kitchen with a gas stove, oven, microwave and full-sized refrigerator. It also has a washer and drier. [Caution to Americans: be sure to read the manuals as many of the appliances operate slightly differently from what we expect]
The house is very conveniently located (10-15 minute walks to "downtown" grocery stores and tea shops, the railroad station and restaurants) in a lovely residential area with very friendly neighbors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay5v
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed with a group of 6 adults/2 children and had a lovely stay. We wanted to visit Peppa Pig World and this was ideal, only a 15 minute drive from the cottage. There was ample space and everything was very clean and tidy. Another lovely surprise was the BBQ which we used on the second night. Would definitely stay again..

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diskii
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I have just spent a weekend at this lovely house. I don't get to spend a lot of time with my family and we had a brilliant few days in this superb location. The house is immaculate. There is everything you could possibly need. It has beautiful furnishings, the most comfortable beds and is warm and homely.
The owner should be very proud.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigamorti...
Torquay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We all had a lovely weeks stay at Hazel House in early June, 6 grown ups and 2 small children.
Upstairs bunk beds for the children and 3 cosy double bedrooms, one with en suite and a separate bathroom with bath/shower.
Downstairs, another toilet and shower, Comfy lounge, large kitchen/dinner with everything you might need and more. There is a large kitchen table for 8, which we used for breakfast. As we were lucky with the weather, we had BBQ`S several evenings, using the outside table and chairs, whilst. the children played in the lovely garden.
Brockenhurst is a lovely old fashioned English village. The children and we enjoyed a round walk to the shops, small supermarket reasonably priced, bakery, butchers and greengrocers. We can also recommend the Chinese Takeaway, it was delicious!! We always had to stop and watch the cars drive through the ford on the way !.
Overall a lovely well equipped house in a great location for exploring many interesting places nearby.
The children were surprised to see ponies walking down the road most days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Snug bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praken
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A lovely house very well maintained and furnished bedrooms and beds very comfortable with good quality linen and nice white towels. Although we didn't cook very much the kitchen is very well equiped. The owner Lesley was very helpful but unobtrusive we felt perfectly relaxed at this lovely property. Lots to do and see in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Comfy beds with good linen
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaury D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house and Perfect location!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice and big kitchen! A beautiful conservatory and a cosy living room! The house is kids friendly and the location is perfect! You are 15-25min of everything! Just loved it! On top of that the owner, Lesley, is very friendly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppodopo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 6 (3 couples) rented this lovely house for the weekend at the end of January. It was in a great location, a fantastic size and the beds were very comfy! Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a central base to explore the new forest.

Booking was simple, Lesley was fantastic in answering all questions quickly and providing clear directions,instructions and information.

We ate at Bistro 26 which was great - their Key Lime cocktail is delicious! We also had tea and scones at the Buttery which is highly recommended, and The Snakecatcher does great chips. We ate at home the one evening as the kitchen in the house is lovely. It can get quite dark when walking home in the evening (in Jan) so be on the lookout for horses and other large animals that seemingly appear from nowhere!

We did not have a car and did not need one - train straight into Brockenhurst and everything was walkable from there. We went on some lovely big walks and a bike ride, and can recommend The Pig as a treat for drinks and nibbles by the fire.

Top tips: Use the instructions provided by Lesley to get to the house - do not use google maps! For exploring the area, there are walking/cycling maps in the drawer in the kitchen on the right. There is a Tesco at the top of the road towards the village/station, and I would pick up the bare essentials there such as milk, bread etc. so you can have a cuppa when you get to the house. Do not leave the key in the lock on the inside as you will not be able to open the door from the outside if you do! Luckily one of us was still in the house when we realised :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going Home...
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing