We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and ambience,we will visit again!”

Britannia Thai - Brockenhurst
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorking
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and ambience,we will visit again!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We dined at the Bistro 26 after reading the comments on Tripadvisor,we were very glad we did as the food was superb. I had the tenderloin pork and my wife had the duck,we both agreed that both dishes were excellent. They have a small but good choice of wines. The staff were very attentive but not to much. We were only in the New Forest for the weekend but chose to visit the Bistro on both nights. We will definitely visit the Bistro again when we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mar_di_graDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    125
    30
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service blooming awful!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Visited here as a treat in the peak of the summer months. They were quite busy, with most tables being full. We had scallops and a delcious salad to start. Mains of steak (one of the most well cooked ever had) and sea bass, which were done well. However the service was soooo slow. It took forever to get our starters and mains. We would have had a dessert, but were just so fed up with waiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not quite all there ...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a summer Saturday night and had booked in advance for a table for two for a quiet romantic evening. We were first shown to a table right at the back of the restaurant and away from the window and sunshine at the front and also very close to a large party who were just enjoying themselves but were a little noisier than we wanted. We asked the manager / owner if we could move to one of the empty tables at the front of the restaurant, to be told that they were holding those tables in case another big party came in. After a little persistence we moved further to the front to a nice table by the bar. Ten minutes later another couple walked in without a booking but known to the manager and were immediately seated in the window table we had asked for. It's not what you know, but who you know. Not an auspicious start. The other two members of staff were delightful, however, and partly made up for the manager's abruptness. We chose our meal and were delighted by our starter which was well presented, well cooked and had a sparkle of flavours. For mains we chose the special burger of the day ... but unfortunately it was not special at all. It was a pretty basic plastic burger with nothing home-made or particular about it. We didn't feel like a dessert. This could have been a great experience and I can understand how others might report having a better time than we can - especially the couple who got the window table - and who made better menu choices, but it shouldn't be hit and miss. It should hit the spot for all customers, all the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiddiprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service, would i recommend? certainly but perhaps wait a week until the owner returns.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a lovely dinner, great service and a nice relaxed atmosphere with good background music. It was a pity that half way through the evening the owner's (who was on holiday) father came in. Whilst he no doubt meant well his attempt to motivate the staff and assert himself on the proceedings just did not fit into a relaxed bistro.

Would I recommend certainly but maybe wait a week until the owner ia back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendliest little bistro south of London”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a find indeed. Tucked away in Brockenhurst near the station this establishment offered fine wines and a menu that would be hard to match. The friendly service made you feel as though you were part of the family (but without the washing up!).
The food was expertly prepared and well cooked and very tasty.
Book early to ensure a table.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank waywoodwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Thai - Brockenhurst also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Britannia Thai - Brockenhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing