We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for families with young children”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of FOREST GLEN

FOREST GLEN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FOREST GLEN
VIEW FROM THE PRIVATE REAR GARDEN PERFECT FOR ENJOYING LAZY SUMMER DAYS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
FOREST GLEN
VIEW FROM THE PRIVATE REAR GARDEN
PERFECT FOR ENJOYING LAZY SUMMER DAYS
MASTER BEDROOM WITH KINGSIZE BED
RELAX WITH THE PAPERS IN THE CONSERVATORY
SPACIOUS DINING AREA
JUST AS PRETTY IN THE WINTER TOO!
DOUBLE BEDROOM
TWIN BEDROOM
SINGLE BEDROOM
FAMILY BATHROOM
FAMILY BATHROOM ALSO HAS A SEPARATE SHOWER
WHERE IS JAMIE OLIVER WHEN YOU NEED HIM?
ENTRANCE HALL
COSY LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM WITH WOOD BURNING STOVE
KITCHEN
MASTER BEDROOM EN SUITE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Naomi L
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with young children”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Forest Glen for a long weekend with another young family. Between us there were four adults and three children (aged 3 and under).

The photos do not fully display the extent of this cottage, it is huge! Plenty of space for the children to play and for the adults to relax, we could have had a reception room each. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could think of from cooking utensils, essential food items, toys, games, and baby equipment. I had brought several bits and pieces for the children but really all we needed was our clothes! It made for a very relaxing and easy stay.

Claire was very helpful in the weeks leading up to our stay by answering all my questions. The cottage has a toddler bed which was ideal for our two year old, it also has two travel cots and three single beds so it can accommodate any age of child. A travel stair gate is provided too. This is the first time I have stayed somewhere that feels designed with children in mind, it made such a difference to our holiday.

I would highly recommend this accommodation to families with children from 0-18. It would also be a really nice place for older families or groups (it could sleep up to 7 adults in 2 doubles and 3 single beds). The location is ideal too, with a New Forest bike/walking trail on the doorstep, and local villages and towns just a short drive away.

(One very small downside is that the second double bed is quite cosy, it was fine for a long weekend but just something to consider if you are particularly large. The master bedroom is a very good size with a king size bed).

All in all we had a wonderful time here and would love to return. 5 stars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela G
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house in a great location”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a week in this super cottage, the best of the New Forest on the doorstep. The house is spacious & perfect for all family members , particularly the little ones, with the child friendly garden to play in .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairel15...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, lovely location”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as an extended family. Myself, husband and 2 children along with both sets of our parents. On arrival we were thrilled to see how lovely and spacious the house was. Even with 6 adults the house was plenty big enough.

This is a 'must stay' if you have children. Our 2 1/2 year old absolutely loved it. There was a play room downstairs as well as a Wendy house in the garden full of toys and of course the slide. She was very excited to have a park in her back garden!

We spent most evenings in the lovely conservatory at the back which remained nice and warm. We were even luckily enough to see deer in the field behind the house 2 nights that we were staying there. The large open plan kitchen dining room was perfect for us all to prepare food and eat together and the kitchen was well stocked for the cooking we did.

Upstairs the rooms were all nice and spacious. The master en-suite being very large. The showers were good and the bath was fantastic!

It was a good 15 - 20 minute walk into Brockenhurst but here you will find a good selection of shops including a local butchers, bakers as well as a Tesco express and Sainsburys local. There is a pub less than 10 minutes away.

It was lovely to have the new forest on our doorstep and just 2 mins from the house is a lovely spot beside the river where horses often visit. It was a good location to explore the rest of the New Forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug...
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect base for a family to explore the beautiful New Forest”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from a fantastic stay at this perfect cottage. It had such a lovely family-feel - clean, well-equipped kitchen, plenty of games and toys for young children and a wonderful sun room for the adults to enjoy on an evening!
The garden is also a fantastic feature with a bbq, plenty of seating and play equipment that my nearly 3 year old absolutely loved!
The cottage is situated in an ideal location to explore the new forest. It's only a 15min walk to Brockenhurst high street and the same to the railway station . A visit to Rosie Lea's tea shop is a must if you choose to stay here!!
We will most definitely be returning to forest glen in the future - what a great find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StokeOnTr...
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at this lovely cottage, seven of us in total, my brother and his family along with myself, husband and daughter. The cottage is simply beautiful, very tasteful decor and well equipped. There is plenty of room to spread out, a lounge which we used to watch a couple of films, a spacious dining area with sofa and a beautiful warm conservatory where we spent most of our time. The large king size bed in the master bedroom, which overlooks the garden, was so comfortable. Bathrooms also lovely and very clean. Booking was very easy, communication with Claire the owner was excellent. We all took bikes, and while there was no access to a garage, we left them under a tree in the secure garden where they were fine. We had a brilliant stay at Forest Glen, by the end of our week it felt like home and we were all genuinely sad to leave. We would not hesitate to stay again and would highly recommend this lovely, lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character, cleanliness and location of property
Liked least: nothing i did not like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idilic week in the forest”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned after perfect week in the new forest. The cottage was fantastic. Fully equipped kitchen ETC. Lots of rooms to allow everyone to have their space. Made good use of BBQ. Conservatory amazing. Beautiful location, Stream at the end of the road is perfect for kids to cool off in. We loved the cows coming past each morn and eve. Perfect location to start many bike rides from. Wild horses in abundance all around. Only very small quibble would be that we would have liked access to a garage as we had 8 bikes we wanted to secure each night. Also a washing line would have been handy (although there was a tumble drier). Would definitely use again and certainly recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barde M
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a mixed family group, with an age range of between 3 -90 years! It was the perfect house in a perfect situation. The beautiful village of Brockenhurst was within an easy 15 minute walk, and although the road to it was very busy, the house was in a much quitter road. Our first impression was one of unusual speciousness in a holiday let - the open plan kitchen diner was huge and the children loved the 'run a complete circle' through the utility room and kitchen area.
Much of my father's time (he's almost 90) was spent in the very large conservatory with it's unique garden/field with ponies aspect. It was warm and very inviting. The children loved all the available toys, both inside and out, and appreciated the garden play area. Although they had their own TV room, they spent most of their at home time in the garden and conservatory. We are musicians and found the 'spare' downstairs room, between the kitchen and sitting rooms, the perfect place for our keyboard, music stand and and teaching materials, making a complete music practice/teaching room. All the children willingly did their daily practice on the way through to breakfast each day! We really could find no fault with forest Glenn, spending much time on the close by cycle tracks. 2 of the children learnt to ride their bikes without stabilisers during their stay, which just added to the perfect holiday. Thanks to the owners for providing an excellent home environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and conservatory
Liked least: no wi-fi access and the stair well at the top of the very steep stairs (little boy had a fall)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing