We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was the perfect place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of FOREST GLEN

FOREST GLEN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FOREST GLEN
VIEW FROM THE PRIVATE REAR GARDEN PERFECT FOR ENJOYING LAZY SUMMER DAYS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
FOREST GLEN
VIEW FROM THE PRIVATE REAR GARDEN
PERFECT FOR ENJOYING LAZY SUMMER DAYS
MASTER BEDROOM WITH KINGSIZE BED
RELAX WITH THE PAPERS IN THE CONSERVATORY
SPACIOUS DINING AREA
JUST AS PRETTY IN THE WINTER TOO!
DOUBLE BEDROOM
TWIN BEDROOM
SINGLE BEDROOM
FAMILY BATHROOM
FAMILY BATHROOM ALSO HAS A SEPARATE SHOWER
WHERE IS JAMIE OLIVER WHEN YOU NEED HIM?
ENTRANCE HALL
COSY LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM WITH WOOD BURNING STOVE
KITCHEN
MASTER BEDROOM EN SUITE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barde M
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a mixed family group, with an age range of between 3 -90 years! It was the perfect house in a perfect situation. The beautiful village of Brockenhurst was within an easy 15 minute walk, and although the road to it was very busy, the house was in a much quitter road. Our first impression was one of unusual speciousness in a holiday let - the open plan kitchen diner was huge and the children loved the 'run a complete circle' through the utility room and kitchen area.
Much of my father's time (he's almost 90) was spent in the very large conservatory with it's unique garden/field with ponies aspect. It was warm and very inviting. The children loved all the available toys, both inside and out, and appreciated the garden play area. Although they had their own TV room, they spent most of their at home time in the garden and conservatory. We are musicians and found the 'spare' downstairs room, between the kitchen and sitting rooms, the perfect place for our keyboard, music stand and and teaching materials, making a complete music practice/teaching room. All the children willingly did their daily practice on the way through to breakfast each day! We really could find no fault with forest Glenn, spending much time on the close by cycle tracks. 2 of the children learnt to ride their bikes without stabilisers during their stay, which just added to the perfect holiday. Thanks to the owners for providing an excellent home environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and conservatory
Liked least: no wi-fi access and the stair well at the top of the very steep stairs (little boy had a fall)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuLawrenc...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful, child friendly house with lovely garden.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here as an extended family including two children, added 4 and 20 months. The house is absolutely lovely and the garden is fantastic for children and adults alike.
The generous downstairs meant plenty of space for the children to play and the conservatory was our favourite haunt, especially in the rain! Upstairs is so nice; lovely, huge master bedroom and 3 decent sized bedrooms that were decorated in a really pretty style. Lots of books for children in one of the rooms. On the whole the house is very well equipped for children, 2 "trip trap" high chairs, plenty of plastic plates and cutlery, a toddler bed and a travel cot and so many toys including a wooden train track that my eldest loved.
The lounge is small, but it's lovely and cosy and we found we sat in the conservatory almost all of the time anyway. It was nice and warm in there.
We did find the road quite busy, which surprised us. But it was lovely to see a herd of cows pass by the house! It's great that you can walk straight into the forest from there.
Claire, the owner, was really helpful and we are thankful to her for our wonderful weekend. We would definitely stay again. In fact, we did say that we would love to live in a house like that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and child-friendliness.
Liked least: The road noise.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carr43
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect family cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Fern Glen with our 4 year old twins and our 6 year old for three wonderful weeks in August. The house is well maintained with all mod cons and because the owners have young children themselves it is well set up for little ones. There are books, toys and a lovely long garden that looks out onto a field with horses. The pretty sun room looks out onto the garden and is where we spent most of our late afternoons. You can get wi-fi from the reception room but we struggled to get in anywhere else.

The Balmer Lawn Hotel, which hosts regular summer cricket matches , is a stones throw away and the house is just about walking distance from the well known Pig Hotel and restaurant ( although my 4 year olds complained towards the end!)

The Pig is a slightly stuffier crowd but If you pick a nice day and sit outside it is workable with children as they can play in the garden area just below the patio. My children spent countless hours in the forest across from the Balmer Lawn Hotel throwing stones in the stream and building forts with branches and ferns while wild horses and deer sauntered by!
We rented bikes from a company by the rail station and cycled through the forest to The Oak pub in Bank. (highly recommended) We visited Lymington, Christchurch, Bournemouth by train, and several other seaside towns where the kids enjoyed crabbing over the side of the jetty. We survived a day at the very busy Peppa Pig World and thoroughly enjoyed another day at Moors Valley Park which is great for kids and adults alike. Would also highly recommend.

I can't really find fault with Fern Glen. The front door is hard to open and the living room is small but it was fine for just watching television. When we wanted to be social we used the lovely sun room instead. I don't think you can go wrong with this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sun room and garden
Liked least: the front door was stiff
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0elj13
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great half term break in lovely family cottage”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October half term. We are a family of four but the house could easily accommodate extended family.

Lovely, spacious house that felt like a real home from home. Welcome hamper that included 2 soft toys for the children and nice to have all linen and towels provided.

Conservatory is worthy of a mention as this was really stunning and a great area to sit and enjoy the garden and fields beyond. Our children loved the garden which was safe and had some play equipment for them to enjoy.

Cosy snug lounge with open fire and lots of books and games for the children. Perhaps a couple of grown up books/dvds would be nice but this is a minor point!

Brockenhurst village was a 10 minute walk away. We couldn't get a table at 'The Pig' which was a shame as highly recommended - book ahead! We ate at the Hare and Hounds at Sway which was very nice and the Rose and Crown in Brockenhurst which was a reasonable family pub.

Exbury gardens a good family outing with a ghost steam train for Halloween which the children enjoyed.

The owner was great to deal with (even when we got locked out!). We would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conservatory and garden
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blair_and...
Essex
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in perfect New Forest location”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent 1 week in Forest Glen early September and can highly recommend to anyone else wanting a perfect base for a New Forest holiday. The house is amazing and it was a real shame we had to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldivesF...
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful home with character, ideal for families with children”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at Forest Glen over a long weekend in May. We were a group of two families with two young children. Our reason for staying in the area was to visit Paulton's Park / Peppa Pig World, which is a 15 min drive away, so perfectly located. Beaulieu was only 5 miles away, but we ran out of time to visit.

Our first impressions of the house were wonderful, a large well-maintained cottage with gated driveway & cattle grid in a quiet road. A welcome hamper with two little soft toys had been left for us, which we thought was a very special touch.

The house felt very roomy so we could all spread out comfortably - downstairs there was a small lounge, TV/games room, large entrance hall/sitting room, utility room, and a very large kitchen/dining area leading to a spectacular conservatory where we spent most of our time enjoying views of the garden and horses in the field behind.

Upstairs there are 4 bedrooms, a master en-suite, one double, one twin and a single (with cot bed). All are tastefully decorated and bright, with good quality bedding and fluffy towels provided. Beautiful modern family bathroom and en-suite.

Our only minor criticism about the property was the small-ish lounge for the size of the house and not enough chairs for everybody at the same time, but everything else more than makes up for this. Overall, a real home-from-home and ideal for children. A travel cot and highchairs were provided. The kitchen was also better equipped than my home!

Brockenhurst village was a 15 minute walk away, the first half of which is along a busy road, although there is a pavement. The second half of the walk is quieter but no pavement. We didn't feel comfortable walking into town with the small children because of the roads.

During our stay, we also visited Moors Valley Country Park which I would recommend for families, lots to do, miniature railway, adventure playground, Go Ape and forest trails. That was about 20 miles away.

Claire Redway, the owner, was a pleasure to deal with throughout. All admin was clear and timely and we retrieved the keys with no issues. I highly recommend this property for a relaxing stay in the New Forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conservatory and garden
Liked least: Small lounge, not enough chairs for everybody
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing