We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, quaint, romantic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. We were so happy with our room - the Earl Grey. It was adorable, comfortable, had everything we needed and was amazing to explore and look around. It is really oldy worldy and the whole place is decorated so uniquely and with so many lovely trinkets to admire. The only thing about the room we chose was that there wasn't a stand up shower, and you had to have a bath really as the roof slopes, but for a couple of days it was a novelty and didn't put us off at all. The service was great - they left us to our own devices but were there as soon as we needed anything. We had breakfast in bed which was such a treat and it is a great location as there are lots of pubs/restaurants within a minute's walk for evening meals. Breakfast was gorgeous - really good choice, healthy if you want or traditional English too. It didn't feel like it was greasy at all - the veggie breakfast is recommended. We loved this place and would go back. Such a treat in the heart of the New Forest for some great walks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRTravelReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 332 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a beautiful b&b. The room was really attractively decorated & furnished with everything we needed. It was a real treat. A quality cafetiere, china tea cups & filter coffee, along with tea bags and bottled water was a welcome little luxury instead of the usual instant coffee .There were also bath robes provided, along with toiletries in the exquisitely charming en-suite. The breakfast consisted of a small buffet of fresh fruit, continental meats & cheses & quality cereals and juices. There was a menu in addition for a nice choice of cooked breakfasts and we chose the free range breakfast. The presentation was beautifully done & the breakfast was very generous and obviously good quality, with innovative little additions such as potatoes, vine cherry tomatoes and a special fried bread (rye or sourdough?) Without a doubt, the best we've ever had on every level (& we have travelled extensively.) Only 2 tiny niggles-we had to have white toast as they'd run out of brown bread and I was gutted to find that I could have had a capuccino with breakfast, rather than filter coffee. This wasn't offered to me but I heard it being offered to another guest as we were finishing our breakfast. We definitely intend to return & take friends next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel4tvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at Thatched cottage. The Assam B.O.P room we stayed in was small, but adequate with an ensuite.The decor is an eclectic mix of styles in the rooms and the restaurant, but very clean despite the nicknacks.The service was superb throughout the weekend. A good range of food at breakfast and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hertssunlover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here with my 5 year old daughter in July 2012, I was pleased to see such a beautiful building to stay in, i found the staff pleasant and helpful when asked somthing but an offer to help with our bags up the very steep stairs would have been nice. The room was very fairy tale which was great for us, my daughter loved the four poster with netting. Complementry bottled water and fluffy dressing gowns were a nice touch. We had pizza in the garden cooked in the clay oven which was delicious in the evening. breakfast was the best we had all week staying at various B and B's - a great choice. I found the room clean and comfortable, but pricey. Would like to go back when i have saved up!! Would have liked a stand up shower

Room Tip: if you can get up stairs ok, choose the four poster room, no stand up shower though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a double room here at the weekend, for a wedding locally.

We loved the B&B - it's small and different, if you want 4 star luxury and a spa, stay at Carey's Manor 300 yeards away at double the price. If you want something different this is the place.

The room is quite small, low ceilings. Lots of old furniture and mirrors/pictures. Tea and coffee, plus free bottled water. Bath robes. The breakfast, for us, was perfect. It wasn't the usual things, it was all freshly made and lovely, coffee was really nice too. The people were very friendly and the B&B is part of a restaurant, plus they do brick oven pizza's.

I've rated this place on value you for moneyy, as I always do. If you travel a lot or are a little fussy, you may have given it a 3 out of 5 ie bed is not the best I've slept in and the shower takes a lot of messing around with, dont stand under it and change the temp!

We loved it overall as it is different and not the usual boring hotels you get. It's a notch up from a B&B as you get more privacy that most B&B's. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Eat a brick oven pizza and realx and enjoy the quite location and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaintmarkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night in a small and slightly tatty room. It was charged at £90.00 per night which did not offer good value for money. The breakfast was again ok but everything cooked was fried and although there was a lovely selection of fresh fruit it was not covered so I was put off by the number of flies hovering around. The location is fantastic and from the outside looked lovely but generally not upto expectations.
P.s there is a very nice Indian restaurant in the village.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Found this today after a very early morning's birding on the south coast. Lovely buidling and a friendly welcome. We had a cooked breakfast and eggs benny. Both very good and excellent coffee (which is sometimes hard to find). Toast came with three diferent jams and marmalades and all wonderfully presented. Might go back for a cream tea one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,087 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,760 reviews
2.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatched Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatched Cottage Hotel

Address: 16 Brookley Road | New Forest National Park, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $127 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thatched Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 year old thatched cottage and garden rooms situated in the village of Brockenhurst located in the heart of the New Forest National Park. Something really special, a cosy boutique hotel, a touch of romantic luxury combined with a homely charm. Well equipped historic and garden rooms with all modern essentials, supported with friendly professional service. We offer breakfast, afternoon tea and a gin bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thatched Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatched Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing