We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A seldom found gem of an Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cloud Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cloud Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Ferring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A seldom found gem of an Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We returned in January for a second visit and everything consistant with the first, very pleasent,
helpful, genuinely friendly staff who ensure that that the guest is happy, comfortable and wants for nothing. The room immaculate and comfortable, and the restaurant exceptional, This is a special Hotel, with such a warm, welcoming feel that stands out from the others in the Forest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you when you stayed recently and and I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed yourself. I would like to thank you most sincerely for giving the Cloud Hotel such a glowing review. I am very lucky that the majority of my staff have been working at the Cloud Hotel for more than 10 years and are committed to giving our customers 5 star service. They, like myself really appreciate your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    40
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
48
119
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We drive from Poole for lunch at The Cloud as and when time permits. From entrance to exit, the staff are a gem: so attentive, happy and helpful. Proprietor Avril Owton (a former Tiller Girl) will often serve you. Her staff do her proud, without exception. If you, like us, go for good traditional lunches, then you'll just love The Cloud. Yesterday, the mains were a choice of Roast Leg of Lamb, Chicken Supreme, Grilled Salmon steaks, Homemade Cottage Pie etc. The Lamb was both generous and first class with superb roast potatoes plus offerings of mint sauce and red currant jelly. I love the cheese to follow, and there's NO supplement, and it doesn't taste as if it's come straight out of the fridge. It's old fashioned but truly excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbenezerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It is always a pleasure for myself and my staff to receive such excellent feedback and we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your lunch. Positive feedback is very important to us and thank you for your review. We pride ourselves with our traditional service and menus and hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here during the snow in January for 3 nights. What can I say, it was fabulous! The Cloud Hotel is a small non chain hotel, which does cater for the more mature person. Having said that my husband and I are both in our 40's, wanting a quiet break, in a clean and well run hotel.

This did not disappoint. The hotel was lovely, exceptionally clean in a great location. Food fabulous. Mrs Owton and her staff all very welcoming and attentive!!

We've never stayed in the New Forest during the snow before, but it really made it special. Can't wait to return same time next year.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I really appreciate your kind comments and thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review. It is always a pleasure for myself and my team to receive such good feedback as we are continuously striving to improve the hotel to meet the needs of our customers. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and I look forward to having the pleasure of your company sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My friend and I dropped in here after a 2 hour ride on the forest and were a bit muddy. The hotel had only just opened after a break and they could not have been more welcoming. We were settled in the lounge next to a lovely fire and coffee was provided. Will definately be coming back and what a lovely team you have at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_L1924848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
You were more than welcome to come and enjoy a coffee by the fire and we are quite used to muddy boots as we are in the heart of the New Forest National park where people ride, walk,cycle and enjoy the beautiful area. My team really appreciate you taking the time to give them such positive feed back. I value my team as they are my greatest asset and many of them have worked at The Cloud Hotel for over 10 years so I realise I am very lucky. I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went there for a special birthday party held in the Cloud's private room. It was arranged at quite short notice and the hotel could not have been more helpful. On the day, there was a welcome message at the entrance, the food was beautifully cooked (and a choice offered even though there were 20 of us) and the service was first class - what was more there was a very helpful gentleman to assist in the parking. The house wine was reasonably priced, as were the pre-luncheon drinks, and very quaffable - not always the case with house wine. We thought the price was very reasonable for what we received. Thoroughly recommend it for a small, private party.

Room Tip: Did not stay but if up to the standard of the other parts of the hotel, probably very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed your birthday lunch at the Cloud Hotel and thank you for your positive review. Like me the staff always appreciate positive feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

If ever (God forbid) Avril Owton sells the Cloud Hotel, she should immediately write the definitive book on hotel management and staff selection. This is a small, delightfully well run hotel where Mrs Owton's high standards of care are achieved with a cast of friendly, efficient staff. It is difficult to choose a favourite member of staff or indeed a favourite facet of the hotel - all were so good - but the over riding impression is of an hotel where the guest is paramount and everything possible is done to make their stay as pleasant as possible. The menus for breakfast and dinner were excellent and portions were generous too.

The hotel is located on the very edge of the New Forest and many of the rooms have views out over the landscape where ponies and donkeys roam. Inside the hotel are three cosy lounges, a bright conservatory and a large function room which is regularly used by locals for either luncheons, cream teas or five course dinners.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I am told that rooms 9,10,11 and 12 are particularly roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Cloud Hotel over the Christmas period and thank you for taking the time to give the hotel and myself such a positive and glowing review. My New Years resolution is to respond to my reviews again as both my staff and I appreciate receiving such positive feed back. I have written a book 'Delighting Your Customers' that was published in 2006 and a revised edition in 2008. I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cloud again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our bedroom looked out onto the New Forest and we would see the ponies grazing when we looked out in the morning. We had a lovely stay in November 2012. The staff and the owner were very nice, friendly and helpful. A nice little extra was the fresh milk available for teas or coffees in the room. I do so hate those little UHT capsules because they never taste the same as fresh milk do they?
We were on half board and we were very pleased with variety and quality of breakfast and dinners.
We took our bicycles with us to do a bit of cycling.(They have cycle storage which was useful) There are several New Forest off road cycle rides that can be started from the hotel which we did and enjoyed.
All in all we have a very pleasant stay and I can see us visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdewijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloud Hotel

Property: The Cloud Hotel
Address: Meerut Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cloud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cloud Hotel is a 3 star hotel located at Brockenhurst in the heart of the New Forest National Park. The famous New Forest ponies can be seen outside the entrance of the hotel which faces directly onto the open forest. The Cloud Hotel has recently been upgraded from an AA 2 star to an AA 2 red star Inspectors Choice Hotel, and upgraded again to an AA 3 star hotel. We continually strive to offer the best customer service and standards possible for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloud Hotel Brockenhurst
The Cloud Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing