We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful grounds and excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed June 25, 2014

everything was almost perfect,very disappointing hotel entrance and the area between the bar/lounge and hotel bedrooms is very poor ...otherwise excellent.a hotel which has the qualities of this should have more attention to detail

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquelineg1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Jacqueline
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and for your constructive comments. The areas in question are already under review for this year. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
There are newer reviews for Rhinefield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

We decided to come for lunch and enjoy the alfresco in the beautiful gardens,overlooking the grounds of the New Forest, The staff were a bit slow and in the end we found a table over looking the grand pond. After deciding what we were going to have for lunch and our order had been taken,we enjoyed a glass of wine until our lunch arrived....My first impression of my plate of food was that it did'nt look very appetising. I had ordered roast vegetables in granary bread and my friend ordered Ham from around Dorset and a piccalilli on the side. The bread was soaked in some kind of liquid from the vegetables which hadn't been roasted or caramelised as said on the menu,and tasted of nothing. A load of crisps piled on the plate with some rocket. The ham was very thin,when really it should been a nice chunk of ham with some fresh home made crusty loaf and the piccalilli had to much vinegar in it. So overall we didn't enjoy lunch really.
I did complain to the manager and we didn't have to pay the bill, but will not come again.This shouldn't happen in a four star Hotel.......

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank cita777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night on the 21st of June. We had a ground floor room in a wing off the hotel. There was no view out of the window only trellis hiding the outdoor pool. The room was hot and air less if you opened the windows all you heard was people in the pool. Later that night a wedding party had a disco till midnight great! a choice of loud music with heavy thumping bass or swelter in a sauna of an airless room no sleep till one when guests had all returned to rooms and we could open windows again.
Light in bathroom round mirror didn't work so shaving a bit hit or miss. Over all not a very relaxing night. We've been before when there was no wedding on and it was great but don't go if they have a wedding on.
On the upside the staff where great and they did reduce my bill when they asked if I had .slept well ! And I informed them of the noise and heat etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01689857192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest
Please accept my apologies that you were kept awake by the Wedding that was taking place the evening you stayed. We have nearly completed the project to have air-conditioning in all our rooms so this will help. Please do let me know the next time you are staying as I would like to attend to any future bookings personally. I was pleased to read that the service and food met with your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in the Rhinefield Hotel for only one night, but I wish it was longer as the hotel was absolutely spotless. Check it was very efficient and didn't take more than 5 minutes, we were also offered help with the luggage. Upon check in we changed and had a drink in the bar. The bar area has a lovely view over the fountains outside and was nice and busy, with many people just chilling after a busy day in the woods. The highlight of our stay however was dinner in the small but stunningly decorated Alhambra Room. The name of the room comes from the Alhambra Palace in Spain and it mirrors the Middle Eastern style of the palace. Food was excellent, we had a 3 course dinner and all dishes we order from starter to dessert very absolutely lovely. After the dinner we slept like babies in the hotel very comfortable beds.

Next day it was time for leisure. We went for a dip in the swimming pool and visited the sauna. There facilities are not very big, there is a small pool, hot tub, sauna and a steam room. We asked for a late check out to enjoy the facilities at the hotel a bit longer, and it was not a problem with the reception, without any additional cost.

To sum up it is a beautiful old hotel in a wonderful location, in the middle of a national park. You can see ponies, squirrels and rabbits running around and the place is very relaxing and peaceful.

To sum up I will recommend the hotel to anyone, it is very charming and beautiful located between the woods. It is perfect for weekends away from the city rush and for any functions. Also very good for families with children... The only minus is that no dogs are allowed.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level and the views weren't great. Would go for an upper floor room next t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agatiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Agatiki
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at Rhinefield. I was so pleased to read your comments and that you had really enjoyed your stay with us. I know the chef is over the moon that your highlight was the dinner in the amazing Alhambra Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We booked afternoon tea for Mums 80th Birthday. I have to say all the staff were absolutely first class and looked after us brilliantly. Nothing was too much trouble and they even agreed to arrange to play a special track of music for Mum to waltz with my Dad as it was her wish having been unable to dance recently due to
Ill health. Very reasonably priced afternoon tea which was enhanced by super service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R33da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your Mums 80th Birthday with us here at Rhinefield. I was so pleased to read that you had had such a good time and I know the team were really excited about the dance. Thank you for sending the pictures through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The stately home/hotel is stunning and set in equally stunning grounds. We took a one night break for an anniversary and were not disappointed. We had previously stayed at a 'Hand-Picked' hotel and this was just as impressive. We had champagne by the large carp filled pond and followed this with a visit to the spa. The swimming pool area could do with some under water lights as its a bit of a dark area. We then had a fine dining experience in the oak panelled restaurant, attended on by attentive friendly staff. The room was medium size but with all amenities. The staff also took their time to show you the way around rather than just pointing in a general direction, when we appeared lost. A very pleasant overnight dinner and stay. Thank you. p.s breakfast was ample and tasty.

Room Tip: Make sure you have Air-con as the flat roofs on the house extension soak up the sun and make the roo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Paul
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor, and thank you for choosing to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary with us in the New Forest. I was so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will be finishing the air-conditioning in the last few rooms by the end of July so that should help keep the temperature down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The drive through the forest to the impressive hotel building was a great start to the weekend. The hotel staff efficiently worked around the actors, which couldn't have been easy! We loved relaxing by the pond watching the fish and fountain, between murders. The grounds are wonderful - we would have loved to have more time outside, but there were murders solve! The hotel is large enough to host several events simultaneously. We would love to return just to enjoy the hotel and the fantastic setting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest
I was thrilled to read that you had enjoyed the Murder Mystery Weekend hosted with us here at Rhinefield. I know we really enjoy doing them and they are becoming very popular. Hoping to put a few more on at the end of the year for more people to guess who!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,639 reviews
3.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
7.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $205 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing