We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream wedding celebration!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhinefield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A dream wedding celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked the Rhinefield for our wedding celebrations over 18 months ago as it was such a popular venue - and we weren't disappointed! Ever since booking the team have been attentive to our every need, coming up with superb menu ideas and accommodating dietary requirements with ease. On the day itself, the service was impeccable - the food served at our wedding breakfast was amazing and of an extremely high standard, and we didn't have to lift a finger. All of our family and friends were delighted with their stay at the hotel and with the service received while there. Our stay in the bridal suite was wonderful - worth every penny! We will be returning to the Rhinefield for our anniversaries!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Suzy
Congratulations again from the whole team on your recent Wedding. We are delighted that we gave you your Dream Wedding and we look forward to seeing some of the photos from the day and to welcoming you back on your Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    440
    239
    104
    78
See reviews for
315
947
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hi

Just stayed at Rhinefield house for a champange break. The Heron suite was lovely as was the spa and most especially all of the staff. My partner and I often visit Rhinefield on our way to the coast for a cup of tea and have always found the staff in the longue to be excellent. This led us to book a room and stay for a night at the weekend and am pleased to say that the rest of the hotel and staff all lived up to the same excellent standard.

We ate in the grill room for dinner and were very well looked after by Sandy and a tall young gentleman with a french accent, who's name sadly I did not get. The food, like the service, was excellent.

The following morning we took advantage of the Spa facilities. They are well designed, especially the Jacuzzi, well maintained, carefully monitored by staff for cleanliness and very enjoyable.

Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay.

Jane & Mark

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or intend to go to bed early, ask for a room away from the main hall as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jane and Mark
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and I am so glad you got to stay with us and had such an excellent time. We are very lucky with our setting but it is the team that makes all the difference. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here Saturday 12th October as guest's of a wedding function.

We were due to attend the wedding ceremony at 13.00, arrived at the hotel around 11.30 and our room wasn't ready, we had time to grab a quick latte in the bar/lounge area but had to get changed and ready for the wedding in a room upstairs. I found it surprising that rooms for the wedding party were not ready at this time of the day. Guests arriving after us had the same problem.

The above is my only negative point. When the room was ready our bags were moved to it by the hotel staff.

The hotel itself is stunning, set in stunning grounds. The room was fabulous, not huge, but well equipped and spotlessly clean.

Very impressed with breakfast the following morning, Full English, quality produce.


Also must mention the spa. I didn't get to use the gym but it looked good and well kitted out. Good sized pool (not huge) but you can swim in it. The whirlpool spa tub was amazing..... Bliss and i used the Sauna and Steam room which were both spot on. I came out of the well being area feeling like a new man.

Very pleasant and helpful staff.

The wedding and our overall experience was first class.

We would defiantly visit again for a night or 2.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Matthew
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am really pleased you enjoyed the Wedding you attended and that the rest of the Hotel was First Class.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
704 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in rhinefield house with my partner for our 5 year anniversary. Overall, the stay was lovely. The hotel grounds are stunning. The hotel itself is charming. The food in the main restaurant is exquisite and the service is perfect. The breakfasts are wonderful too.

Few things that made this a four star stay rather than a five star stay. We booked a package which included a room upgrade (subject to availability). No room upgrades were available, which is fine but we were not told this when we checked in. So I had to go back to reception to check after we were shown to our room. It was a disappointment and I wish someone had explained this when we checked in. Minor gripe - our champagne afternoon tea was plonked down on separate plates. Everyone else was given lovely three tiered stands. Lack of consistent presentation. And the hotel was packed out with several different, loud weddings. It took away some of the relaxation. Last problem was cleanliness of spa. A massive clump of hair and other bits and pieces was floating around in the pool. And used cups that we saw on out first visit were still left in the same places when we returned the next day which suggests the spa is not properly cleaned daily.

That being said, I still thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is beautiful and so striking when you drive up to it. The restaurant is the best bit. Fantastic local, fresh and beautifully cooked and served. A few extra touches and attention would make me give this hotel 5 stars.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateLondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear KateLondon_9
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get a balanced review and please be reassured I will look into your comments. I have also passed on your comments about the excellent Restaurant experience to the chefs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a special treat for a 21st birthday and we where not disappointed. Despite a very dull and wet day, we where made to feel welcome and the service of the staff was excellent. The tea was lovely with tasty sandwiches, lovely warm scones with lashings of cream and a nice selection of cakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Wendy
Thank you for choosing to celebrate a special occasion with us here at Rhinefield. Oh to be 21 again. A shame it was a dull day but its still very special to spend the afternoon at Rhinefield with friends and family and plenty of cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last week and what a wonderful treat it was. I came with my mother and two sisters and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful with very attractive grounds. The afternoon tea and champagne on arrival was a great start. We had a great deal which included dinner bed and breakfast each day and the tea on arrival along with use of the spa. The rooms were well maintained and sufficiently roomy as well as having a fridge which was great for the champers. The staff were extremely pleasant and all meals were of a high standard. The dining rooms had plenty of character which adds to the immense charm of the place. The New Forest is a great location with many cycling/ walking routes and lovely spots to visit such as Exbury gardens and Lymington. Very highly recommended by each of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Leighites
Thank you for you wonderful recommendation on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you had a great stay with your Sisters and Mum and that you all enjoyed the food and service so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have stayed at several Hand Picked hotels but this was the best yet. We got a super deal staying Sunday night for 3 nights, breakfast was included as was a three course dinner. The food was excellent, a new chef arrived just two weeks ago and he is a real asset to the hotel. We stayed in Foxhills and our friends were next door in Exbury room. They were comfortable rooms, kept very clean by housekeeping and included a nightly turn down. Beds were really comfortable and huge. We visited the spa facilities on a couple of occasions. Our visits were fine as on both visits we were in there on own. Beware weekends must be a nightmare as the facilities would not cater for all 50 rooms. The jacuzzi is for 4 people and the pool tiny. We all had treatments both none of us enjoyed the experience the therapists were not great. I have facials and massages monthly so I know what is good and bad.

Service in the main restaurant was superb we were looked after at both breakfast and dinner excellently by David. He was friendly, accommodating to our needs and again is an asset to the hotel. He even took the trouble to bid as farewell as we departed. A lovely chap who obviously is loyal and dedicated to his job.

We took the ferry over to the Isle of Wight which was a highly enjoyable day out and easy to arrange.

We often stay in macdonald hotels, after our visit to Rhinefield I feel Handpicked have the edge.

Room Tip: The double rooms are adequate but probably worth upgrading to the next grade of room up if reasonabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear BOD2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I will certainly make sure the team see it and especially David who is a great asset to our team. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Spa treatments and will look into this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing