We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb afternoon tea!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhinefield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Superb afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed afternoon tea here and very much loved it. It is a beautiful setting, with a real wow on the approach road with the enormous redwoods alongside the ornamental drive. The building is gorgeous, lending a wonderful ambience to the experience, and we relaxed with a walk around the grounds after taking tea. Having booked we arrived to find a table reserved, and didn't have to wait long to be served. The food was lovely, proper ham clearly cut from a joint, smoked salmon with cream cheese, gorgeous scones and clotted cream. A super-light strawberry mousse tasted sublime. It isn't cheap, however feeling full they kindly brought us a little container to take some home for later. The service was superb, the waiter kindly added on an extra table for us to give us more room, and even placed a floral arrangement in the extra table to decorate it. Everything was of a high quality, and a gentle stroll around the grounds was the icing on the cake. As an aside please get rid of the modern BBQ station outside, it clashes really badly with the Victorian Gothic feel of the architecture and the beautiful Koi carp pools.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Hrpj
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and I was so pleased that you had enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience with us here at Rhinefield. We are very lucky with our location right in the heart of the Forest and the chef was really pleased that you had enjoyed his home baked ham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    440
    239
    104
    78
See reviews for
315
947
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Located in the New Forest west of Southampton this is a great old manor house with beautiful grounds. Dined in the main dining room and food was excellent. Amazed to see giant American redwoods on the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mike W
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review to Trip Advisor. I was really pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your visit and the quality of the food in the Armada restaurant.
Between you and me and unofficially I believe we possibly have the two largest Redwoods on the property in the New Forest and maybe even in the UK..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited the hotel for a spa day and it was lovely as the day started bright and sunny. When I booked I organised the treatments so we could plan when to arrive.

The hotels is in a beautiful setting and looked glorious. Plenty of carparking when we arrived (before wedding guests) and there is a short walk from the car park to the hotel entrance. There are a couple of accessible parking slots nearer to the entrance. It would be hard to take a wheelchair over the stone though.

The Spa is in the basement quite a walk through the gardens or the hotel corridors. You have to go down small steps to get in. We were lucky as when we arrived the spa pool area was not in use and as the sun was shining we decided to grab some lunch beforehand.

Lunch was lovely - service not that attentive - we have to initially find someone who told us she was new and was not too sure and later a gentlemen looked after us and he was great. We had sandwiches and they were tasty and well presented and we sat in a lovely setting by a 'fish pond'

We went back to the Spa around 3 and were again lucky as we only shared facilities with 2 people. the pool is small (and felt cold - number of people commented on this later), there is a water fountain and then spa pool, sauna and steam room. Small space and by the time we left busy and not restful.

included in our package was a salt rub for half an hour and a shape and polish. The spa uses Elemis products and the treatment rooms are well sized. We did not rate the treatments - I was advised that Elemis prescribe how the srub is to be done but it just felt half hearted.

We loved the hotel but would probably find somewhere else for a relaxing spa day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlamNik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear GlamNik7
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Whilst not wholly positive I would like to thank you for the constructive way it was written. I was really pleased to read that you had enjoyed your lunch and relaxing outside. I will be reviewing your comments in a hope to make improvements for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night break for a family birthday party, on a special champagne and canape deal. The old part of the hotel is magnificent, full of beautiful wood carvings, huge chandeliers and full of character. The food in the Grill room was excellent (especially the passion fruit mousse) and the service superb. The waiters could not have been more attentive and helpful, both at dinner and breakfast. Our 'special' meal in the private Alhambra room was a little disappointing. Unfortunately the service was very slow and the food was served luke warm and although some of our party requested our lamb 'pink', it all came quite well done. The staff were helpful and apologetic but this is not what I expected from a hotel of this standard. Starters and desserts were excellent however. The wine list was quite expensive but the house wines were more than adequate. Our party had some standard rooms and some executive rooms in the modern wing and they were all exceptional - large bright rooms with very comfortable beds, fluffy white towels and a spotless, modern bathroom. The setting for this hotel is perfect, in the middle of the New Forest with walks on your doorstep. The outdoor pool was perfect for the children, although too shallow for serious swimming. The koi pond was lovely with fountains in the middle, and it was so pleasant to sit around this and have late afternoon drinks. A really lovely hotel that I would recommend to anyone wanting a short break or a longer peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Our group used a variety of rooms, but all were excellent. Some overlooked the forest, some the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nincornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Nincornwall
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about us here at Rhinefield. Your recommendation means so much to us and the team are really pleased you had such a wonderful stay. I will most certainly talk to the chef about your meal experience in the Alhambra to see what improvements we can make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had the special deal champagne I nighter recently and were absolutely delighted with our experience.Whilst the room we had was standard better hotel type,and nothing special, it was very well appointed with bath television and all the things you expect.The staff were excellent,the outdoor pool was ideal for the weather and the food was very cleverly put together and pleasantly served.I don't think anyone could be disappointed here if you are lucky with the weather.Well worth going.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1947145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mike
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor. The team are all really pleased to read your comments about the food and service and I was really pleased you had enjoyed your stay in the beautiful sunshine we had. You are right of course the forest has so much to offer what ever the weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visiting Rhinefield House for a stroll and some afternoon tea was such a special treat. My friend had hosted many weddings and bridal shows here and wanted to show us this magnificent place. The estate had it's ghosts of course, winding paths and gardens including a maze, and a beautiful outdoor area for tea and conversation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear RenaeJ
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It is always special to welcome guest from over the Big Pond to our small but Grand Ponds here at Rhinefield. Afternoon tea sat around in the glorious sunshine is truly something to treasure and I was glad you chose to spend it with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in this hotel so wonderfully situated down a small road in the forest. The old parts of this Country House are stunning, lovely rooms with wooden carved ceilings & panels, a sweeping staircase. Our bedroom was in the new attached building & was large, nicely furnished, with a large comfortable bed, the bathroom very high standard. And although we were almost in the forest it was very quiet with no birds waking us up with a dawn chorus. The food excellent, at breakfast there was a large choice of everything you could wish for, dinner also good but a bit too many unusual flavours put together. The wine was expensive.
The well laid out gardens could have been prettier with more flowers. The outside garden furniture was old & rickety.
But the staff were attentive, although they did forget to bring our canapes at the time required.The layout of the hotel is a bit confusing, making your way to the bedrooms from the dinning rooms took some remembering, but that was just part of the charm of this old magnificent Country House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walmeractually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Walmeractually
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor. I was really pleased to read that you had enjoyed our Beautiful House and the bedrooms. I will pass on your praise for the food to our team of chefs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
7.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing