We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ignore negative reviews!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhinefield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ignore negative reviews!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

After reading many negative reviews my husband and I were very apprehensive about our one night stay. We had nothing to worry about though. Check in was quick and simple, room was clean, tidy and warm, staff were attentive and polite, food was very good and our overall experience was lovely. We are very well travelled and in our opinion Rhinefield is as good as any other hotel we've stayed in. (we usually stay in 4* or 5*) We spent most of our time in the lounge area due to the fact we were so relaxed and felt right at home especially as we sat in front of the fire sipping on our favourite tipples. In the evening we chose to dine at the grill restaurant which is located in what can only be described as a large conservatory (that we thought would be cold) but don't be disheartened by this as the food was excellent and it wasn't cold like people have suggested in previous reviews. We read about the limitations on wifi service and yes it's true, you don't get a signal anywhere in the hotel other than the lounge and even then it's limited but so what?... what do you expect when you're in the middle of a forest in an old manor house?! We were overjoyed to escape the rat race for a night and enjoy the wonderful tranquil setting of this hotel. We took a stroll around the grounds and My one and only criticism is that I wish it had been summer when we stayed because I would have loved to have seen the gardens in full bloom and to have possibly killed a few hours around the outdoor pool! To all staff at Rhinefield, thank you for a lovely relaxing stay and we very much look forward to enjoying it all over again in the very near future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaybee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Kaybee88
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us here at Rhinefield and had felt so relaxed in the Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    416
    229
    100
    75
See reviews for
297
900
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

After a wedding service where the food was very good we then experienced the room quality and service - which was atrocious. Unable to sleep due to a noisy air conditioner - at 3am we finally tried to call reception (no response). Then on deciding that we might as well go home as it was impossible to get to sleep we went to settle our bill. We eventually found the overnight staff who were Eastern European. Their lack of language skills and condescending attitude was astonishing. They were extremely rude - not exactly what you need at 3am. Even dealing with the management on the following day proved very unsatisfactory. We missed the breakfast with friends and family and I have no desire to repeat the experience at Rhinefield House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sean B
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. I was very sorry to learn that our air-conditioning unit kept you awake. As we have already spoken about this matter it is now fixed and I have already discussed your concerns with the team here at Rhinefield. I was glad that you had enjoyed the food that was served at the wedding you attended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A special birthday lunch for two was a very disappointing experience. Poor reception service; no chance to relax in lounge area to view menu and have a drink; taken straight to Grill room - no atmosphere; funereal music; wrong menu presented...we overheard chef having words with waiter. My reply to my letter of complaint was explained as being 'a blip in service'! More than one blip in my opinion!

Room Tip: Not recommended for a special lunchtime meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaguars30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your Trip Advisor posting. I was sorry to read that you had not enjoyed our informal Grill Room on your recent visit. I will discuss your comments with the team to see if there is anything we can improve on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
200 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed overnight on a 'package' including dinner and breakfast. Nice location, although may be a little remote for some. Accommodation was in the new 'executive' wing, rooms very well equipped, especially liked the wet TV in the bathroom. Ate in the a la carte restaurant and food was of excellent quality, although a bit disappointed with the menu which was quite a limited selection. Would probable eat in the grill if returned, for this reason. Nice wine list and pretty reasonable for a hotel of this type. Only things that made me rate this down one notch are: (1) no wifi in the rooms, as you can imagine phone reception is limited so no 3G (2) some of the public areas in the lounge are a bit dated (3) the piped music in the lounge and at dinner was a bit bizarre. Overall still very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive posting on Trip Advisor. I was really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are always trying to find ways to improve Wi-Fi in the Forest and we are definitely taking a look at the music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

First impression are very good the house looks splendid at a glance, nice surroundings,good location & courteous reception staff.not the same for the lounge bar staff,too many dirty tables around, we had to ask our to be wiped quickly before our food arrived, it was not busy,chef could have picked out the floppy & old salad leaves if cared enough and the sandwich would have been ok ( ok at £8.50. ??).
Although the public rooms may have looked grand it all seamed very tired & uncared for,like the gardens dead plant that should have been replaced years ago perhaps.
The room was in good shape, we were upgraded to an executive room because our reservation could not be found at checking time so the staff quickly put that right, thank God or really it wouldn't been worth the money paid.
Breakfast was good with efficient staff & good food.
Could I recommend it to my friends???

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinumest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your balanced review that you posted on Trip Advisor. We will be sure to look into the bits that we did not get right and I will certainly pass on the praise to the team for all the bits we did get right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is located in wonderland forest setting, in a stone manor house. The bedrooms are very pleasant, although mine had no real view.The dinning hall was also very good, and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I shall be sure to pass on your praise to the teams in the kitchen and the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

When I first drove up our first impression was Superb!! And then it fell apart...Amidst one of the most splendid settings imaginable lies a gem that has been left to fend for itself. On the outside all was well, especially for the time of year...but inside I found the service, the general maintenace of the building and the spa very depressing and not worth a fraction of the money. First off no concierge to help with bags...secondly, if you dont have a main hotel room and are in the 'wings'...then you have to travel thru a labrynth of twists and turns to reach your room. Room was clean but Grubby...everything tired and worn out or awkward to operate. Staff were un-attentive...spent my time in the lounge breaking my neck trying to get a waiters attention...not good and not relaxing. A great wedding venue you might think but if you are not a wedding guest it would seem pre-booking the fine-dining restaurant must be done weeks in advance of your stay as I was turned away...yes all dressed up with nowhere to go but the well overpriced Grill room (sorry cold conservatory). I have one of those at home!
But the spa is where they really let themselves down. Poorly informed staff, impossible to get a massage or facial therapy without prior booking, the spa was awfull, the pool COLD, the Jacuzzi COLD, No Sauna, and get this I was told I needed a £1 coin for the locker (no, not a token) so had to travel all the way back to the other side of the hotel to retrieve £2!...moronic in my book. The showers were, to my standards, discusting. a truly awful experience. So, to the Breakfast. It was superb, fine cutlery, napkins and china...in a beautiful grand dining hall....look closer? this is one of the Grubbiest places ive ever eaten. I dared not drop a fork! Im sorry to have to say the Graded listing of the property probably prohibits a lot of remedial work but the lack of investment here for its star rating beggars belief. What could be is not folks...perhaps in summer the House will have a mellow glow but in the winter Nothing is what it seems. My advice....just say no thanks until someone in its managaement decides to invest and heavily. And how likely is that...?

Room Tip: You must VIEW before you book I'm afraid ...I didnt have the choice to change as Hotel was fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Brad C
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor and your detailed critique of Rhinefield. Please be assured that we have taken on board all of your comments and will use them to ever improve our guest journey and levels of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing