We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break and spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked a mid-week break at this hotel. We chose a room in the main house. On arrival our car was parked for us and our luggage brought to our room, which made a nice to start to our break. We enjoyed using the hotel spa on the first night. The second evening my husband treated us to a birthday treatment in the hydro area. We would recommend having an upgrade to include the Senspa area. We almost had the area to ourselves, we enjoyed the hydro pool plus all the steam and sauna rooms. The ice room was fun too!! We ate in the Zen Restaurant which wasnt the cheapest, but was a lovely meal with beautiful presentations and surroundings, so would recommend. The hotel is situated in a handy area for the New Forest. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middy1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guests

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your mid-week break with us. Thank you for your fabulous feedback and, in particular, for describing so many of the good aspects of your stay. It's great to hear you had a wonderful time in SenSpa, our award winning spa with world class facilities which very few other hotels in the New Forest are able to offer. I will also be sharing your kind comments with my staff who are very dedicated to ensuring our guests are made to feel welcome and enjoy their stay.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,475 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just spent an amazing weekend in this Hotel and Spa. The room with its four-post bed was truly stunning and very clean. The hotel staffs on arrival were all very helpful and over the weekend we ate in two of the restaurants for evening meals. The Thai restaurant had lots of choice; the food was brilliant and the staff always at hand. The main Manor Restaurant was a wonderful experience on the Sat night with a pianist play the background. The food was exceptional and service impeccable. We were able to spend time on both days in the Spa with my partner experiencing two of the many excellent treatments on offer. Again all the staff were very helpful and the Spa itself was a very relaxing place to be. Our favorite part was probably the Ice Room!!! A five star experience that I would recommend to anyone wanting a romantic weekend away with someone you want to treat like a Princess! The towns and countryside around this hotel are absolutely breathtaking at times. (See pictures)

Room Tip: Rooms with the four poster beds are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas0n_M_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to post such a terrific review following your recent stay with us at Careys Manor & SenSpa. I am overjoyed your weekend was such a huge success and that you and your partner had a wonderful time. I really appreciate all your comments and praise about the hotel, our fabulous world class spa facilities and our dedicated team of staff.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend spa break, and we were both very impressed. The spa was by far the best we have ever visited, and the service was amazing. As others have commented, the hotel (room) was only average - but it was adequate. We ate in the Zen (Thai) restaurant as part of our all inclusive deal, and the food was superb, both at dinner and lunch. The breakfast choice was also extremely good. What makes this place special is the attention to detail from the staff, and the relaxed atmosphere of the spa, with first rate facilities. We will definitely be returning in 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your brilliant feedback following your recent spa break at Careys Manor & SenSpa. I am thrilled to hear you had a fantastic time and really pleased to receive such wonderful praise about all aspects of your stay and spa experience. SenSpa is fast becoming renowned for offering world class facilities and treatments and so its great to hear that you too found it to be excellent in all respects.

Thank you also for your praise about the staff and particularly commenting on their attention to detail. All our staff are very dedicated and continually aspire to providing a first class service and will do everything possible to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. Our brigade of chefs will also be delighted to hear you enjoyed all the delicious menus on offer.

I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a full day in the Spa and a 1 night stay in hotel for my wife's 40th. The Spa was fab (hydro upgrade recommended) which has a lovely hydro therapy pool (bubbles, jets and massaging water fountain things) some great experience showers that have thunder and lightening etc as well as saunas, steam rooms etc. With the upgrade you also get the use of the relaxation and quiet rooms upstairs which were ideal for after a fantastic lunch in the zen restaurant. The Spa staff were also fantastic, very attentive and there was always a member available as and when you wanted one but you didn't really notice them otherwise. Both my wife and I had various treatments which were good but maybe seemed a little pricey. The Hotel itself had great communal areas with a lovely entrance/ reception area and a grand lounge with a beautiful inglenook fireplace. However once you leave these areas you are soon just in a standard hotel corridor leading to a standard hotel room which to be honest disappointed me for the money that I had spent.(£220 for 1 night) (we had stayed in a much much cheaper B&B the night before which had a much nicer room and en-suite).
We had a very nice evening meal in the french bistro restaurant Le Blaireau. Decor a little quirky, but food and service were great.
So all in all I can thoroughly recommend the Spa, but just don't get too excited about the hotel rooms, nothing that terrible but was expecting a bit more after such a nice experience at the Spa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the trouble to describe the highlights of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a wonderful time and that our award winning spa exceeded all your expectations. SenSpa is fast becoming renowned for offering world class facilities and treatments and so it’s great to hear that you too found the spa and all it has to offer to be a really fabulous experience. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel consistently gives service above on beyond the call of duty -from the workmen to managers, the same courtesy and care is afforded to you -nothing is ever too much trouble. The staff all give the impression that not only should they be looking after you well but that they really want too.
The food, spa, rooms are fantastic at a price that means that you can keep going back for more!

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your kind praise towards the hotel, the spa and the team. It’s always very rewarding to hear when guests have been really impressed by everyone’s friendliness and helpfulness. I will be sharing your comments with them and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went for a couple of nights away to try out the spa. Decided to splash out and take a suite.

Started badly by room not being ready at 12 in spite if an empty car park and no sign of other guests.

Went to the spa which was ok looking old and tired with various bits not working and frankly pathetic changing rooms (men's at least).

As I said the room was a major disappointment. Bathroom tiny and impossible
To shower without wetting the entire bathroom.

There was a garish felt wallpaper with cutout figurines of English kings and queens - yuk. The sitting room was functional but uncomfortable. Lighting in bedroom inadequate and as I said wi-fi non existent in the room.

Dinner at the French bistro was a MAJOR disappointment. Particularly poor potted shrimp and the 'jus' which came with the lamb had more to don with bisto granules than any reduction of meat juices.

Breakfast was very good, the common areas of the hotel were nice and comfortable.

Overall not recommended - especially when taking into account the elevated price and high expectations set by the website.

I did full in a feedback form on checkout but lack of contact is indicative of a place in serious decline. If this is what a top independent hotel is like (as claimed in reception with a plaque) then I suspect I will stick to chains which usually live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WJOSHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I cannot stress enough that we always endeavour to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience whilst staying with us. I am, however, pleased that you found the old Manor House part of the hotel to be attractive and comfortable. Our Head Chef in the Manor Restaurant will also be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfasts.

We do pride ourselves on offering a flawless service and outstanding facilities and among our multiple awards were voted by The Independent as being one of the ‘Top 50 British Hotels in 2013’. More recently we have been voted ‘Best Spa Hotel in the South’ in the 2013 Good Spa Guide Awards and also reached the finalist stage at the World Luxury Spa Awards for the Best Hotel Spa 2013. The aim of so many of these awards is to encourage and raise service standards within the luxury hotel industry with voting based on facilities and service excellence and, most importantly, is cast by hotel guests. Winning or reaching the finalist stage we hope is testament to our commitment to the delivery of world class spa facilities, luxurious bedrooms and delicious dining options which all combine to make Careys Manor & SenSpa in the New Forest so special.

I am very sorry that your stay with us was a huge disappointment and that we clearly did not meet your expectations. I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future whereupon we will take every step possible to ensure that your stay is more enjoyable.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was my second time visiting and i will definitely be visiting again. Amazing place with a lovely relaxing atmosphere. By far the best spa i have visited.
I arrived at 11am and the room was ready for us. The staff are always helpful and always smiling :)

See you soon :)

Room Tip: You don't really need the upgrade - the standard rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RinksB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your lovely review following your return visit to Careys Manor & SenSpa. Its brilliant to hear that although it was your second visit, we still exceeded all your expectations. Great to hear too that you were again impressed by the hotel’s facilities as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,760 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $196 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in The Telegraph's Best Hotels in Hampshire. Blending just the right fusion of relaxed informality and stylish refinement, a break at Careys Manor Hotel will make you feel wonderfully pampered. Nestled between the New Forest National Park, Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa provides the perfect base for grown up getaways to escape and discover. With 77 plush bedrooms and suites, the award winning SenSpa, 3 onsite restaurants and 4 star award winning service, create extraordinary memories at Careys Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Manor Brockenhurst
Careys Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing