We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane W”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived on a wet Sunday afternoon to a warm welcome and offers of help with bags and parking the car. The Hotel is comfortable with seating areas & open fires. The 3 restaurants serve delicious food and the staff were attentive, helpful and professional. Our visit centered around the SenSpa which is excellent in all respects. We loved the Thai architecture, food, wonderful, pampering massages, & all the extra facilities. The SenSpa is inspiratonal, very well organised and the friendly service second to none.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review about your stay way with us.

SenSpa is fast becoming renowned for offering world class facilities and treatments and so I am delighted that you too found it to be inspirational and excellent in all respects. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an first-rate experience have been appreciated, including our exceptionally talented chefs who always strive to serve fabulously delicious food.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and if you wish to be one of the first to receive details about forthcoming special offers, please do sign up to our newsletters through our website (if you didn't provide an email address at check-in).

With best wishes
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,453)
There are newer reviews for Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 glorious days in this hotel. We felt pampered the minute we arrived (albeit on a gloomy and rainy Sunday afternoon) and we were delighted that our garden room was ready for us even though we arrived somewhat earlier than normal checking in time. The room was very well equipped, lovely soft towels, an ample supply of tea and coffee facilities, a lovely comfortable bed and extremely bright bedroom overlooking a colourful garden - are you getting the picture?
The pool was lovely as was the jacuzzi (water could have been a bit warmer) and we felt that the health club should have had a coach on duty making sure that we were "fit" to use the equipment (that was our only negative issue).
Continental breakfast served in elegant surroundings with wonderful friendly and efficient staff which made our short break even better.The two receptionists, Sophie and Charlotte, helped to make sure that we found the walks in the New Forest that we were looking for - thanks ladies!
The lounge with its log fire and cosy feeling was truly a wonderful place to relax with a very enjoyable cocktail. In short, we had an amazing time; we would thoroughly recommend the hotel and its facilities, especially to young over 60s (as we are). We would most definietely come there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geffen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your superb feedback following your stay with us.

I am delighted that you had a wonderful time at Careys Manor & SenSpa and thank you for taking the trouble to describe many of the hotel’s qualities. Our gardeners are always thrilled to receive compliments from guests as they too work very hard to keep them looking beautiful and colourful all year round.

I will report back your observations to SenSpa’s Operations Manager about the Jacuzzi pool being a little on the cool side and there being no duty manager present in the health club.

Having now discovered that there are some great walks straight from the hotel’s door out into the beautiful New Forest, I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Careys Manor & Senspa again in the future.

With best wishes
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Was treated to a spa break at this hotel
I decided to extend the stay by couple more days
Very expensive for the service and facilities
Rooms small and poky
Spa treatment ok but can get better treatment elsewhere
Food ok but again expensive
Nothing special on the table de hote menu

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swanour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide feedback on your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. We do pride ourselves on offering a flawless service and outstanding facilities and among our multiple awards are delighted to have recently been voted ‘Best Spa Hotel in the South’ in the 2013 Good Spa Guide Awards. We were also voted by The Independent as being one of the ‘Top 50 Hotels in the UK 2013’ and at the World Luxury Spa Awards were finalists for the Best Hotel Spa 2013. The aim of so many of these awards is to encourage and raise service standards within the luxury hotel industry with voting based on facilities and service excellence and, most importantly, is cast by hotel guests. Winning or reaching the finalist stage we hope is testament to our commitment to the delivery of world class spa facilities, luxurious bedrooms and delicious dining options which all combine to make Careys Manor & SenSpa in the New Forest so special.

I am very sorry that your stay with us was a huge disappointment and that we did not meet your expectations. I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future whereupon we will take every step possible to ensure that your Spa Break is a truly memorable one. If you do ever plan to return, please contact me directly beforehand and I will be happy to assist with your booking to ensure your experience of the hotel and spa is a far greater success.

Best wishes
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before cruising from Southampton and although it was quite expensive it did include 2 weeks parking and taxis to and from the port. The staff were helpful, and attentive except at breakfast when we had to ask for our toast and coffee 3 times. The bed was really comfortable and the room very spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LohManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest

I am delighted that your pre-cruise stay with us here in the beautiful New Forest got your holiday off to a great start. We genuinely believe that being able to enjoy the first night of your holiday in the comfort of a 4* country house hotel which provides luxurious bedrooms and a number of very exciting dining options makes a huge difference to your whole holiday experience.

Our cruise and stay packages are indeed very popular as they also include chauffeur transfers to and from the terminal which certainly takes the worry and stress out of parking and leaving a car in an unfamiliar large city.

Thank you for taking the trouble to give some feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that during breakfast it was necessary for you to make a number of requests for your toast and coffee and I will take this up with our Restaurant Manager. I am, however, pleased that you found all our staff to be very attentive and helpful.

We really hope to welcome you back in the future either when you next book another luxury cruise from Southampton or if you ever have the opportunity to spend a weekend away and want to be assured of experiencing a relaxing hotel break in a beautiful part of the world that prides itself on excellent service and outstanding facilities. Don’t forget also that we are renowned for our world class, award winning Thai spa. SenSpa combines eastern and western treatments and philosophies to evoke tranquillity, restore inner calm and renew energy levels and is the perfect place to escape to for a weekend of pampering and relaxation.

With best wishes
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just got back from a week end at the hotel. The stay was nice but I wouldn't say I would dream to go back.from the website and name I was expecting a manor but it's more a small manor house which has been added on progressively, especially during the 80's! The rooms are nice and clean but may just lack a bit of personality.

The breakfast has a good selection but since it's a spa hotel I was expecting more healthy options such as rye bread, fresh fruits, smoothies etc... This is just a small comment though. £18 was a bit expensive I thought.

I was very excited to discover the spa but a bit disappointing. To be honest I thought my pool area at my local virgin active was nicer. We couldn't use the loungers even if empty as they had towels on them. We ended up putting our towels and dressings
Gowns on the floor.... There were quite a lot of magazines and empty drinks lying around which just made it look messy. I would have expected a more relaxing atmosphere. Shame the nicer part of the spa is locked and can only be used if you pay extra, it would be a better selling point to include it.

A good hotel but not my idea of a good hotel spa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Careys Manor and SenSpa.

I am delighted that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and found the rooms to be of a good standard. Our Chef will also be pleased to hear that you felt breakfast offers a good selection and I will share with him your suggestions to include some more healthy options.

Having discovered the spa, I hope you were also able to visit the Zen Garden Restaurant within SenSpa as this does offer fabulously fresh and authentic Thai dishes and is also somewhere you can go and enjoy fresh smoothies along with many other exotic fruits and flavoursome dishes.

I am sorry our hotel did not meet all your expectations. Our website does describe Careys Manor as a luxury country house hotel and endeavours to draw a distinction between its modern bedrooms and its traditional manor house rooms. We do also offer Spa Breaks and Zen Spa Escape Breaks and these include overnight accommodation, fine dining and full access to our Award Winning and state of the art hydrotherapy Spa facilities where you will be able to seek sanctuary and enjoy unrivalled treatments.

Thank you again for your feedback which I will be sharing with the team in order to improve the services we offer our guests. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit in the future.

Best wishes
Thomas and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our third visit to Carey's Manor and it just improves each time. All aspects of the hotel contribute to a thoroughly satisfying stay: the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean, the grounds and surroundings are stunning and well maintained, and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts are exceptional and prepare you well for the day ahead. We always have dinner in the restaurant on one night during our stay, as the menu is always excellent and the food never disappoints. The spa facilities are good, although the pool area can become quite crowded during peak season and you may struggle to secure a lounger next to the pool. Finally, the location of the hotel is exceptional - Brockenhurst is lovely and is an ideal base from which you can explore everything that this gorgeous part of the country has to offer.

Room Tip: Garden rooms come with an outside patio area - try to get one that looks onto the centre gardens.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us and, in particular, for taking the trouble to describe many of the hotel’s qualities.
It’s very heart-warming to hear that you had another very satisfying stay and simply love coming back to us. We do continually strive to improve our hotel and the service we provide and it is therefore always a great pleasure to see returning guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Careys Manor and SenSpa very soon.
With best wishes
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had an all too short one night stay at the end of September 2013. It was understated luxury, a lovely indoor pool sp[acios and comfortable rooms great service and great food. We had dinner at the French Bistro where the food was just right and the atmosphere well judged.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cilc213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,742 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $196 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing