We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was taken to Careys Manor for a relaxing weekend break in May 2013. Generally I think the hotel is lovely, the staff were very helpful and the welcome at the reception is excellent. The reception area and the staircase are beautiful. The room was lovely with large windows opening on to beautiful gardens. I had taken some snacks and wine expecting there to be a mini bar that I could put them in and was genuinely amazed that there wasn't. I asked for a wine cooler and lots of ice which was very quickly produced, and chilled the wine and the snacks in it. Dressing for dinner I discovered that there was no full length mirror and that the light was so low in the room even with all the lights on!!! The meal in the restaurant was superb, I notice that others have mentioned the pianist and the small portions, personally I enjoyed both. My complaint re the food is somewhat different to other reviews in that I thought the breakfast was terrible. For the standard of hotel and restaurant I was shocked to see mass produced eggs sitting in a food heater turning to little bullets of rubber. It is possible to have a freshly cooked breakfast in a large hotel..I know as I have experienced it many times. On the nights I stayed there was a wedding on the each night. Although I could hear the music and celebrations they were not disruptive but on the sunday night after the party had ended there were up to 3 different voices all having a very loud conversation or even an arguement, this went on for a couple of hours. Surely something should have been done about it?
I do feel that calling it a Manor Hotel is somewhat misleading as the only thing reminiscent of staying in a Manor House is the reception area. Sorry to say as I was expecting to be able to write a great review. I would suggest a new approach to breakfast, update the restaurant so that it doesn't look like a conference room and update the bedrooms. Come on....even premier inns have full length mirrors!!

Room Tip: If you want a character room in keeping with the idea that its a Manor House...better check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mother-Hubbard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting Careys Manor and for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We do listen to all guest feedback both positive and negative, and your constructive comments are much appreciated.

We are very pleased that overall, you had a pleasant stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Careys Manor in the future.

Thomas & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,493 - 1,499 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Careys Manor is a beautiful hotel, great location, close to Brockenhurst train Station. You can arrange to be picked you up from the station if you wish, just let them know your train times. This was my fourth stay and as always the service was brilliant, very helpful efficient friendly staff. The rooms are lovely, very comfortable beds with big soft pillows. We had a beautiful garden room with doors opening onto the garden with our own table and chairs outside. The restaurant is lovely and food delicious.
My sister and I had spa treatments massages and facials both wonderful, relaxing and very experienced therapists. The spa is fantastic, lovely pool, jacuzzi and amazing tropical storm showers. The relaxation areas are very nice, peaceful and comfortable. I would highly recommend both the hotel and spa and cannot wait to return.
We visited Exbury Gardens which was beautiful, it would be amazing in May when the rhododendrons are in full bloom they were coming to an end when we visited. Don't hesitate to book you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DentalHygenist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. What a pleasure to read that this was your fourth visit and was just as enjoyable as your previous stays. Exbury Gardens is certainly well worth a visit and what a treat for you to be able to visit during the rhododendron season.

Thomas & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great location, easy walk to shops, restaurants and lovely forest walks. Room spacious and good but a little dusty, bed very soft, pillows uncomfortable but should ask asked for extra so our own fault they were far too soft. Good bathroom and a great shower. We loved the balcony. The only down side was the dismal Manor restaurant, it was really a function room with dated decor, tables on top of each other even when you could drive a bus around the room, why do that. Pianist was dismal too, think he is used to fill the space, had he played some cheery music it would have been better. Food fine but portions too small and far too rich for us, would not eat there again, but breakfast was great, it was a buffet and was all excellent, you could order other things too if wanted. Staff friendly but we had a large selection of different ones waiting table at dinner which was odd. We did not use the spa but it is supposed to be great but you pay more for it. Only thing to remember is its not really a Manor house it has large modernish extensions on the back which have long corridors, we found it no problem. We would stay there again and will look forward to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time at Careys Manor and that you are looking forward to your next stay. We are sorry that The Manor Restaurant was not to your liking at dinner but delighted with your feedback towards Breakfast. We have two further restaurants available at Careys, Le Blaireau, our French Bistro & Bar and The Zen Garden Thai Restaurant and we are pleased you will get the opportunity to try one during your next visit.

Thomas & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was our second time staying at Careys manor on a spa break weekend and once again we had the most amazing time. From our very first entrance to the hotel we were welcomed by the most friendliest and helpful staff which is rare nowadays. The same on our entrance to the spa- nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We received some amazing treatments during our stay and ate some mouth watering food in both the Zen Garden Thai restaurant and the Manor Restaurant, again served by some extremely friendly staff. We chose to be decadent and have breakfast brought to our room on the Sunday morning so we were able to fully relax on the last morning of our stay. Thank you to everyone at the hotel and spa for your amazing service.

Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed an amazing Spa Break and very much look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thomas & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had our business retreat. Very good service, in particular at the reception. Rooms spacious and clean. Very good food. The swimming pool is rather small. A minor disappointment. Must have a guided walk in the forest and a bike ride. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your business retreat. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us in The New Forest and hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Our 14 meter Pool is Ozone treated which enables us to keep a clean and safe swimming environment whilst using only the smallest amount of chlorine in-line with our passion for minimising the impact our business has on the environment at every opportunity.

Thomas & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My Husband and I went to the Carey s Manor Hotel in may 2013, it was all excellent, my husband booked the Hotel for my Birthday. We had a full 1 hour massage each and I had a full facial, both were very professional and fantastic,we had full use of the spa all day, which we loved, and the staff are so helpful they can't do enough for you all of the staff you speak to make you feel like you're the most important guest in the Hotel. The food at lunch and in the evening is exquisite. We can't fault this Hotel, and have now booked again for our Wedding anniversary, we can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your special Birthday stay with us, your kind words are very much appreciated. We now look forward to being able to welcome you back for your stay to mark the occasion of your Anniversary.

Thomas & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Immaculate gardens leading up to the main entrance where we were greeted and shown into reception. The staff are very helpful and professional whilst remaining friendly and welcoming.
The room (Oakwood Garden) we had was modern and led directly out into an enclosed garden area which was a delight as we actually had some sunshine.
Spa is very relaxing and again he team very welcoming and helpful.
Dinner was gorgeous with an attentive but discreet team making it a very enjoyable evening.
We will certainly return soon

Room Tip: Ground floor close to spa, as it can be quite a walk to other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. We are all very pleased to learn of how much you enjoyed your time in the New Forest and do look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Thomas & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,957 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,800 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $190 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in The Telegraph's Best Hotels in Hampshire. Blending just the right fusion of relaxed informality and stylish refinement, a break at Careys Manor Hotel will make you feel wonderfully pampered. Nestled between the New Forest National Park, Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa provides the perfect base for grown up getaways to escape and discover. With 77 plush bedrooms and suites, the award winning SenSpa, 3 onsite restaurants and 4 star award winning service, create extraordinary memories at Careys Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing