We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great location, easy walk to shops, restaurants and lovely forest walks. Room spacious and good but a little dusty, bed very soft, pillows uncomfortable but should ask asked for extra so our own fault they were far too soft. Good bathroom and a great shower. We loved the balcony. The only down side was the dismal Manor restaurant, it was really a function room with dated decor, tables on top of each other even when you could drive a bus around the room, why do that. Pianist was dismal too, think he is used to fill the space, had he played some cheery music it would have been better. Food fine but portions too small and far too rich for us, would not eat there again, but breakfast was great, it was a buffet and was all excellent, you could order other things too if wanted. Staff friendly but we had a large selection of different ones waiting table at dinner which was odd. We did not use the spa but it is supposed to be great but you pay more for it. Only thing to remember is its not really a Manor house it has large modernish extensions on the back which have long corridors, we found it no problem. We would stay there again and will look forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time at Careys Manor and that you are looking forward to your next stay. We are sorry that The Manor Restaurant was not to your liking at dinner but delighted with your feedback towards Breakfast. We have two further restaurants available at Careys, Le Blaireau, our French Bistro & Bar and The Zen Garden Thai Restaurant and we are pleased you will get the opportunity to try one during your next visit.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    597
    231
    89
    45
See reviews for
214
1,449
49
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was our second time staying at Careys manor on a spa break weekend and once again we had the most amazing time. From our very first entrance to the hotel we were welcomed by the most friendliest and helpful staff which is rare nowadays. The same on our entrance to the spa- nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We received some amazing treatments during our stay and ate some mouth watering food in both the Zen Garden Thai restaurant and the Manor Restaurant, again served by some extremely friendly staff. We chose to be decadent and have breakfast brought to our room on the Sunday morning so we were able to fully relax on the last morning of our stay. Thank you to everyone at the hotel and spa for your amazing service.

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed an amazing Spa Break and very much look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Had our business retreat. Very good service, in particular at the reception. Rooms spacious and clean. Very good food. The swimming pool is rather small. A minor disappointment. Must have a guided walk in the forest and a bike ride. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your business retreat. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us in The New Forest and hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Our 14 meter Pool is Ozone treated which enables us to keep a clean and safe swimming environment whilst using only the smallest amount of chlorine in-line with our passion for minimising the impact our business has on the environment at every opportunity.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My Husband and I went to the Carey s Manor Hotel in may 2013, it was all excellent, my husband booked the Hotel for my Birthday. We had a full 1 hour massage each and I had a full facial, both were very professional and fantastic,we had full use of the spa all day, which we loved, and the staff are so helpful they can't do enough for you all of the staff you speak to make you feel like you're the most important guest in the Hotel. The food at lunch and in the evening is exquisite. We can't fault this Hotel, and have now booked again for our Wedding anniversary, we can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review following your special Birthday stay with us, your kind words are very much appreciated. We now look forward to being able to welcome you back for your stay to mark the occasion of your Anniversary.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Immaculate gardens leading up to the main entrance where we were greeted and shown into reception. The staff are very helpful and professional whilst remaining friendly and welcoming.
The room (Oakwood Garden) we had was modern and led directly out into an enclosed garden area which was a delight as we actually had some sunshine.
Spa is very relaxing and again he team very welcoming and helpful.
Dinner was gorgeous with an attentive but discreet team making it a very enjoyable evening.
We will certainly return soon

Room Tip: Ground floor close to spa, as it can be quite a walk to other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. We are all very pleased to learn of how much you enjoyed your time in the New Forest and do look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I returned for the second time this year to Carey's Manor to celebrate my girlfriends birthday. We were welcomed with a complementary bottle of champagne in our room and a glass of bubby at dinner which we thought was incredibly kind of the hotel staff.
As a young couple visiting a hotel like this we can't thank the staff enough for treating us like every other adult.
The food at dinner and breakfast was delicious and we loved the variety to choose from.
Have already recommended Carey's Manor to friends and family and will definitely be returning for our hat trick visit! Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay in celebration of your girlfriends Birthday. It’s always a delight to play our part in marking such an occasion and our pleasure to have offered you a bottle of fizz so you could raise a glass. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleet
Level Contributor
262 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On arrival we sat in the lounge and waited for our room which was ready 2 hours before check in..we were told we could use the spa straight away room -
.We had the knight wood room ground floor with a lovely little table and chairs outside facing a well kept garden.I was however a bit disappointment in how old sort of 90s the room felt also walking along the corridors to the room no 93 felt like we were in some back street hotel rather than the fabulous manor we were expecting..
Spa -
was lovely clean and not busy at all,the selection of towels and toiletries were excellent.sen spa fab was hardly anybody there when we looked around definitely be back to use this.
Dinning-We went for the zen menu,the food was lovely but felt rather spicy,i had the tofo stir fry partner a chicken dish,golden prawns for starter...food was very nice but as i say a little too spicy,staff were friendly the restaurant was very nice but far too hot,that hot we rushed too get out of there..not sure i would visit this again..
Breakfast-lots of choice and a menu for freshly cooked too...I had a vegetarian breakfast cooked to order,i did find that a few of the waitresses and bar tenders had lack of English which i did find a little off putting,tables were set out perfect..
We had a few problems with our room,being non smokers the whiff of cigarette smoke came floating in our window/door on the ground floor room,and above had a child or 2 which was stamping screaming very loudly for over an hour,my partner asked politely to be moved,the staff were very friendly understanding and with out a problem moved us to another room 61,this was a larger room but with no balcony or outside seating,however did have a large open door..to be honest they said this was an upgrade,it may have been but we didn't get the chance to sit outside our room like we wanted too.....Dont forget your toothpaste...they charge you extra..Of course a small cost of £1.50 but i was shocked has i have stayed in a lot less star hotels and they provide combs and toothpaste if u forget yours like i did without a charge...I would go back here again but only for the reason of the spa,i do think this is the only reason this place gets the ratings...corridors are like a maze too.......large drawing room with lots of comfortable sofas in was bliss to relax too..£5 nearly for a pint of out the can Guinness gets the thumbs down when warm as well. lovely area to go for a walk and pub shops close by....I shall be back to use the spa.thanks guys PS we both slept like baby's beds are very comfortable and the pillows too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ok78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. I was pleased to learn that we could exceed expectations in having your room available to you 2 hours before check-in and that you found your room well appointed, particularly the benefit of the patio with table and chairs.

Our aim is to always provide a balanced menu across all three of our restaurants so we can be sure to have on offer something to suit most palates. All menu items in the Zen Garden have the spice level indicated and the team are always ready to adjust dishes to the preference of each guest. We do prefer to keep the Zen Garden warmer for the comfort of most guests who take lunch in their robes, but please except my most sincere apologies for any discomfort caused.

I am sorry to learn that due to nearby smokers and children playing you had to change your room. I am pleased that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade but was sad to learn that this was not to your complete satisfaction being located on the first floor. Had one been available, we most certainly would have allocated you a ground floor bedroom.

We offer Guinness to our guests through means of a Guinness Surger unit. The Guinness is poured into the glass and placed on a metallic plate that emanates surger vibrations through the glass to form the perfect serve of a pint of Guinness.

I am pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your time with us and particularly pleased that you found your bed and pillows comfortable allowing you to “sleep like a baby”

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing