We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very relaxing stay”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed on a Monday night on a DB&B break for my husbands birthday. We checked in to an Knightwood Garden Room. It hadn't been cleaned properly at all. Stray hairs on a chair. Bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned and the basin was chipped. Everything covered in dust. We rang reception immediately to complain. No problem within 5 minutes we had been upgraded to an Oakwood Road, which was lovely and given a complimentary bottle of Champagne as an apology. I was very impressed how this was dealt with.
After this our stay was perfect. Lunch in Blaireau French Bistro was delicious, and Dinner in the evening was excellent. Great selection for Breakfast. Couldn't fault the food.
Spa was very relaxing. Especially loved how the pool was gentle on your skin and eyes. Didn't seem to be strongly chlorinated.
Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Would say some rooms could do with a make over, as they are looking a bit tired. Otherwise we had a very relaxing time and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book a higher Grade room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironfoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I was alarmed to learn that the bedroom you initially checked into was not serviced to our normal high standard, but am comforted knowing that the Duty Manager looked after you and moved you to a more appropriate bedroom.

I am pleased you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, making full use of the facilites the hotel has to offer, from SenSpa to Le Blaireau Bistro & Bar.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    602
    233
    90
    45
See reviews for
219
1,466
49
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed careys manor on Sunday night as a treat after a very busy time and a need to relax its was certainly relaxing but the food was disappointing after the main course in the 2 ,,AA rosette restaurant the manor I had 2 deserts as was hungry there were 4 mouthfuls of meat a small dauphinoise potato and very little else tasty but not sufficent and certainly not good value . We paid ,,£25.00 to go in the hydrotherapy pool but discovered the code was irrelevant as the door was open the numbers were not limited and it was a conveyor belt of people queing to get in each sauna or shower not relaxing all ! However excellent service on reception and the cocktail bar did redeem some offer issues would definitely stay again however the rooms are overpriced and it would have. To be a good deal .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I was concerned to read your feedback regarding dinner in our Manor Restaurant, feedback quite adverse to the praise we normally receive. I apologise that the portion sizes did not meet your expectations, and I will be sharing your feedback wth our Executive Chef.

Regarding your experience in the Hydrotherapy area of SenSpa, I have shared your feeback with our SenSpa Director so that we can make any necessary improvements.

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed with my sister, and we had access to the private spa facilities which were great. Robes and slippers were provided and the place was all clean which was really important for us. Food in the evening was lovely and there was a really good selection for breakfast too.

Room was a great size and it seemed like they all had access to the garden or balconettes. Beds were really comfortable, the usual refreshments all included.

Only pitfall really is cost - especially if you want treatments, and be sure to use their quick check out as opposed to going to reception in the morning as it can be really busy.

Service was great though and I couldn't really fault them on anything. Great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, indulging in the Award Winning facilities SenSpa has on offer.

I look forward to welcoming both you and your sister back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel was poor for the price, certainly not worth the cost. Swimming pool and spa facilities average if you don't pay extra to upgrade to the hydrotherapy facilities (senspa). And even then I was surprised at the lack of facilities on offer. Simple showers in the hydrotherapy area would be nice. Windows in pool area dirty. Sauna and steam room in pool area are minute and dated!

Certain parts of the hotel were shabby. It's a lovely country manor hotel just wished the rest of the hotel matched the feel of the old country manor house (that being where the reception is located etc). Our room was shabby, wardrobes tatty and didn't close properly. Toilet extremely hard to flush. No in-room entertainment. There was a tv with freeview but that's about it. Pay for view movies would've been a nice addition or movie channels perhaps.

The senspa was ok but I wouldn't rate it as a luxury spa at all, average I would say. The relaxation rooms are nice though, probably the best bit along with the hydrotherapy pool.

Manor restaurant for dinner was lovely but then that is expected for the price. Breakfast was good on the first day and dire on the second. I ordered poached eggs and they were hard :-( second round were slightly better but still on the hard side. That's the first time I've ever seen that in a food establishment ever!

All in all average and not worth paying full price :-(

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oakwood garden room, it was ok but not a £200 a night room by any means!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenlen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay, your feedback being quite adverse to the praise we normally enjoy.

I do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future, confidant we could restore lost faith.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for valentines weekend on the Saturday night and had a SenSpa treatment and 3 course dinner in the evening before staying in the hotel. Everything was great and staff very friendly. Perfection in the spa and highly recommend the Rhassul treatment.

Room Tip: Make it down at 9am for breakfast as they stop serving at 10am and you'll miss the eggs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us over the Valentines weekend. I am very greatful of your kind praise towards the hotel and team and will be sharing this with all.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is closer to the road than you might expect. It's literally just off the "main drag". However the frontage is very pleasing. The lobby is all oak with an open fire. We were there in early October and the fire was on. The weather was not cold and the fire unnecessary but it made it feel very homely. We had a room in the new wing. Very nicely decorated and quite contemporary. The room was very spacious and although on the 1st floor had sliding patio style doors but no balcony. The bathrooms in their day would have been spot on. However they were starting to show their age. The wash basin was cracked and the towel rail beginning to come away from the wall. The leisure facilities were spot on. This is why we chose this hotel. The main pool was warm with a large hot Jacuzzi. However the thermal suite was breathtaking. There is an additional charge to use this but its worth it. The gym fantastically equipped. There are three restaurants. One sort of spa/poolside dining, a formal restaurant and a bistro type. The formal restaurant was to high brow for us. Plus we had just got off a P & O ship in Southampton. So we plumbed for the bistro. It had no atmosphere at all. There was a old Citroen Dianne crashed in to a wall as part of the decor, it was all kind of reminiscent of a "Parisian street" It didn't work! The food was OK but nothing special. Breakfast was served in the formal restaurant, all very pink but nice enough. I wont bore you with tales of breakfast as it was faultless. There is a pub about 8 mins walk away on the same side of the road. We had a look in there and if we stay here again will prob. dine there in the evening.

Room Tip: If you like a more modern feel stay in the garden wing, for that chintzy old English feel use the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa last October.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, making full use of our Award Winning facilities in SenSpa. I was sorry to learn that the interior design of Le Blaireau Bistro & Bar was not to you taste and do hope it didn't mar the overall enjoyment of your stay.

Thank you for you comments regarding the maintainence of the bathroom. I will be looking into this with our Maintainence Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel has friendly and extremely attentive staff. Spa facilities are excellent with a fantastic variety of saunas, steam rooms, hydrotherapy pool and relaxation rooms. We ate in the Manor restaurant for dinner and in the Zen Garden Thai restaurant for breakfast and lunch - food was excellent as was the service! Room very comfortable and over looked a pretty courtyard garden.

Only one small critisism, wardrobe shelves very dusty and after putting clothes on them it had left the clothes covered in dust! Just needs a bit if a wipe!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit thanks to the staff and facilities, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatout188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel and SenSpa.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and am very grateful of your praise towards the team.

I am very sorry that you discovered dust in the wardrobe of your bedroom. Thank you for highlighting this as I will bring this to the attention of our Head Housekeeper.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,772 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing