We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Set in the New Forest this hotel offers a relaxed environment with great service and serves as an excellent base to explore the New Forest. You can explore on foot from the hotel and quickly pick up trails into the New Forest plus there are a number of friendly and welcoming pubs also nearby. We found the hotel service and atmosphere excellent and not at all pretentious. Two minor points the hotel guide in room says you do not need a password for the wifi but you in fact do and need to call reception and at breakfast croissants and muffins are advertised but were not there. Small and fixable issues. Overall I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realtrueopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am always pleased to hear of our guests venturing out of the Hotel to explore our stunning New Forest location, we certainly are very lucky to be placed right in the middle of it all.

I shall address the Bedroom Directory with regards to the information on our free Wi-Fi offering and will ensure that we are preparing ample Croissants and Muffins for our Breakfast buffet.
My apologies for these lapses.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,689 - 1,695 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our second visit to this venue, again for a special occasion. The staff were very friendly. We really appreciated the gift of chocolates and card in our room for the 'birthday' boy and the room itself was lovely. We did feel the hotel and spa were overly busy which meant that there were no free loungers or seats in the spa area on several occasions making it less relaxing that we'd hoped for. We had been told after booking that there was an event in the hotel that weekend but that the music would be turned off at 11pm and that was true, again we appreciated the fore warning. However, it was disappointing to be told we couldn't have one of the cream teas in the Zen Garden area in the afternoon because chef was busy with a wedding breakfast - or we could but there would be a wait of at least half an hour and then not sure.... etc., etc. We did enjoy the visit and would probably go again but check out how busy the venue was before confirming the booking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. I was pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your break.

My apologies that you were not able to enjoy a cream tea in the Zen Garden Restaurant, something I shall be addressing with the team at our next Head of Department meeting as it’s important that our guests may enjoy all that is available to them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Spa. We had the most wonderful break. The room had been recently refurbished. The leisure facilities are excellent and the spa was amazing. We had one meal in the main restaurant which was very good. The second meal was in the Thai restaurant which was also very good. We have stayed at several hotels in this country this year, but the breakfast at Careys Manor was the best with plenty of fresh fruit. Everything about the hotel was good, and the thing we took away with us was the wonderful staff, so helpful. The reception staff, staff in the restaurants and the spa were so helpful and always cheerful.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Garden Rooms and would certainly choose this again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

A pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind praise towards the hotel and the team.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We only spent one night at Carey's Manor. Could quite happily have stayed longer. We were warmly greeted on arrival. Our room was big, immaculate and the bed very comfortable. The spa was great. I loved being somewhere relatively child free. And we enjoyed our evening meal very much - would recommend the venison, and the cheese, particularly Lancashire Bomb. I liked being able to choose my cheeses from the menu rather than having to negotiate NO goat! I shall look forward to visiting again, and hopefully for longer next time.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MinkyOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight night stay and look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have stayed at Carey's Manor many times. It is great for a short, relaxing break. We love the pool and jacuzzi. The rooms are nicely decorated and well designed. There is plenty of parking. On the last visit we just felt things had slipped a bit, The sumptuous beakfasts were not quite as nice as usual and the housekeeping staff knocked on the door rather too often. I don't really need somebody to turn the corner of my bedcover down!

The hotel charges top price for this kind of hotel, and deservedly so when at its best, but standards do need to be maintained. If you want to try it, look for one of the special deals.

Room Tip: Look for a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your return visit to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am sorry to learn that on this occasion, you didn’t find our Breakfast offering as nice as usual and that our turndown service was not welcomed. We provide every room with a do not disturb sign and will never attempt to enter should this be in view.

We do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Didn't stay overnight so can't comment on hotel rooms.
Booked a Spa Day for myself and my (pregnant) daughter and we were pleased with every aspect of the day. The breakfast, thai lunch and complimentary drinks were very good and all the staff we dealt with were both professional and friendly.We enjoyed our treatments.

The highlight of this Spa is the pool and hydrotherapy area which is outstanding- better than any I have previosly visited.We could have happily spent our whole day there ! Can't wait to return and hope to stay in the hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktravellerspo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind review following your spa day at SenSpa. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and very much look forward to being able to welcome you back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our third visit here. It has provided a great respite from the demands of home and family, time away by ourselves to talk, New Forest walks, and relaxation in the spa.

The rooms are lovely. This time an Oak room (68) - spacious and recently refurbished. Tastefully designed with a large and very comfy bed. On previous occasions we've had one of the rooms opposite the first floor spa entrance (17 or 18) and these too have been spacious with room to spread out and feel at home when the weather outside has been poor.

The spa of course is wonderful. It's the reason many people come.

The Manor restaurant lets the side down. It tries hard, with the serving staff very attentive and strict on their formalities. Yet the food doesn't quite fulfill what's promised. It was fine but not really special. There was little variety of veggie options, and they were repeated on both nights. Sorbets tasted mass-produced. The 'chef's compliment' was the same as every previous visit. Breakfast buffet is excellent (fruit, nuts, seeds, yoghurt, etc) and awful (tureens of cooked bacon, etc). And the seating in the bar and restaurant is terrible. Like a dentists. Get the Feng Shui people in (or just some decent designers) and sort it out please!

Having said this Blaireau's restaurant is good. Much more straightforward and fine for soups and lunchtime snacks. Not an environment geared for romantic evenings however!

We'll be back as it is such a lovely venue, but we will keep our eyes open for other places to eat .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your return visit but naturally disappointed that your evening meal in the Manor Restaurant did not live up to your expectations.

We pride ourselves on using only local, free-range and organic produce at every opportunity. This really does make the difference, ensuring that from delivery to plate, we are serving nothing but exceptional food. Alongside our extensive Al a Carte menu, a separate Vegetarian Menu is offered and has always been well received by our Vegetarian guests. Our dedicated kitchen brigade are also only too happy to tailor any dish on the menu to the specific preferences of our guests.

Thank you for your kind feedback towards our Breakfast offering and your meal in Le Blaireau, our authentic French Bistro.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,949 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,796 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,683 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $192 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in The Telegraph's Best Hotels in Hampshire. Blending just the right fusion of relaxed informality and stylish refinement, a break at Careys Manor Hotel will make you feel wonderfully pampered. Nestled between the New Forest National Park, Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa provides the perfect base for grown up getaways to escape and discover. With 77 plush bedrooms and suites, the award winning SenSpa, 3 onsite restaurants and 4 star award winning service, create extraordinary memories at Careys Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing