We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovelly accomadation perfectly situated.”

Review of The Annexe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
New Forest Pony
Hungry New Forest Pony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheila an...
1 review
“lovelly accomadation perfectly situated.”
Reviewed July 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

this annex is the perfect location for visiting the beautiful cities and the coast and just tootling around the new forest this was our 4th visit to the annex and I am certain there will a 5th visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
918carmen...
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing stay in a comfortable place”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in the Annexe and found the location as well as the accommodation extremely pleasant. The bedroom was a good size for two people and the small but functional kitchen was more than adequate for our needs. The location was excellent for exploring the New Forest and having the ability to take our dog, made the holiday more special and enjoyable. The information about the places to visit and the short walks for all the family books were excellent

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of useful internet in the bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

New Forest Holiday Lets
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivianric...
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit to New Forest”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation was clean and ideal for a couple visiting the area. Our pet dog was accepted and it was only a short walk before we were out on open grassland when we needed her to be clean. Geographically it was close to the town centre at Brockenhurst and we could easily walk into the centre as we wished.
The owners were very pleasant people who we saw and talked to daily making it more like home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy accessibility
Liked least: Some of the kitchen tools were left sticky/greasy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffpam
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well equipped accommodation in an excellent position.”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We much enjoyed our stay but the instructions for opening the key box were out of date as were most of the information leaflets which of course are less vital in the age of the internet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden outlook and freedom
Liked least: Entrance from the road was necessarily protected by a cattle grid.. A narrow path would have helped access for the old/people with disabilities , who admittedly could use the main gate.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber O
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Peaceful Holiday”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed at the Annexe for four nights, and overall my stay was lovely. When I first arrived at the annexe there were a couple of little problems however I rang up new forest holiday lets and they were very helpful and came to the cottage within ten minutes and fixed the problem! The Annexe was very clean and tidy, and there were good little signs showing where switches for items were :). With the odd cow and pony wandering past the house and it backing on to a big green field I found the annexe a lovely and peaceful place to stay, which I would recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Although it was attached to the main house I loved the privacy.
Liked least: Only thing and very little, but the kettle could have done with a bit of a clean.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy little bedsit, but with a few issues (please read)”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Before I proceed let me say we enjoyed our stay at The Annexe very much and would consider visiting again. However there are a few issues future guests might wish to consider before booking. First the positives:

* Great location - 10 minute walk to Brockenhurst, on the doorstep of the forest, 20 minutes by car to the coast. Nice family friendly pub within 10 minutes walk (Rose & Crown), picnic area with shady trees and stream (Balmer Lawn) literature a minutes walk from the property.
* Well supplied kitchen with everything you would need to prepare meals
* Off road parking
* Sitting area for guests at the rear of the property overlooking the garden
* Washing machine and tumble dryer in outhouse
* Owners were pleasant and were quick to address any issues we had

However there were a few points I would make future visitors aware of before booking:

* The owners have a nervous rescue dog who barked when we returned to the property on every occasion. I felt running a guest house was somewhat incompatible with a dog with these behavioral issues. The dog was nervous around unfamiliar people, every after 5 days of us being there.
* The property is not given Wifi access be default, and I didn't want to request it. Luckily the 02 (Nexus 5) 3G network was good enough for general browsing. Typically getting 5-8 Mbps during the morning, although by evening this would tail off to 0.5Mbps, making streaming of youtube / netflix not viable. Facebook and browsing were generally fine. However my wife's Vodafone network was receiving zero signal at the property for reference.
* The apartment allows guests with animals to stay, as such the living room furniture had a clear "animal owners" smell to it. Didn't really bother me, but it might some, however should really be expected if the terms don't strictly state no animals, so I'm not making the score down for that just making people aware.
* The bedroom does look on to a minor road so there is some traffic noise until later in the evening (although not excessive)
* The outdoor sitting furniture has seen better days and while functional could do with replacing (see pictures)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Owner had a nervous dog who wasn't accustomed to strangers
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtanid
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A treasure opening up the New Forest”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I stayed here as we needed a quick short break. We were so pleased with the accommodation, which was very clean and comfortable. The location was ideal at right at the edge of the New Forest. Great restaurants nearby also made it special. Thank you and hope to be back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, peace and quiet
Liked least: To short a holiday
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing