We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay & eat”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay & eat”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Spent a night in "the pig sty" in February, although we have eaten here numerous times before. The room was clean, well finished and has plenty of room for two adults and two children. The living room is well laid out and has a log burner, which was lovely as it was cold and wet outside. The master bedroom has a large, comfortable bed, with views over the open countryside. The second bedroom has bunk beds, which the kids loved. The food was excellent as usual, and the staff even let us have the private dining room to ourselves as we had friends staying with us.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay and eat - staff always friendly and a relaxed, not too formal atmosphere - not cheap, but certainly well worth the money.

Will certainly be back soon.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank x-jon-the-one-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    374
    192
    126
    52
See reviews for
245
904
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the Pig today with parents and our two boys aged 1 and 2. Staff were attentive and very sweet with children. Lovely rustic decor and enjoyed the table set up with large chicory plant as centre piece. Outdoors area is beautiful and was easy to nip out with youngsters when they got a bit tetchy and entertain them with the large swing, model of pig and trains nearby. Our 2 year old loved his children's cocktail, what a nice touch when you usually just get a choice of fruit shoots when eating out. I am a vegetarian and was very pleased to get a separate menu; I had expected a very meat-heavy menu but the choice was vast and it all looked innovative and mouthwatering. I had a salad for starters with quails egg and rainbow beetroot. For main I had nettle fettuccine. Easily the best meal I have had out in the past few years.
We really enjoyed a walk around the kitchen garden afterwards.
Thank you so much, we will definitely be returning next year.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NearlyMrsGaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed at the Pig with friends back in December, was lucky enough to have room 15 one in the courtyard which is delightful, may be noisy in the summer with other guests, but in the winter was delightful, food was delicious as always. Also stayed at the Pig In The Wall on the same weekend. Loved it and would definitely recommend for a special weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Courtyard, though our friends had a family room and that was also gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richj497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I recently spent two nights at The Pig with my boyfriend. We stayed in The Dog House, a beautiful suite room complete with wood burning stove. We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights of our stay, the menu changes with each day so there are always some new dishes to choose from. The food was perfectly executed and absolutely delicious. Despite reading some criticism of the food from previous guests I can find no fault, the food is good, simple, British cooking, perfectly fresh and seasonal. The restaurant and bar staff were incredibly attentive and helpful.

I have just two small criticisms. As helpful as the hotel staff were, when asked for pub/walk/local transport recommendations their local knowledge was rather poor. Secondly, and this is something that many people have commented on, we thought it inappropriate to charge an additional £16 per guest for a cooked breakfast. The Pig is not cheap, the rooms in particular are priced very highly, it would not hurt to have breakfast included in this steep price. There are no other breakfast options in the vicinity, you have to, and want to eat breakfast there.. so please Pig, throw breakfast in!

Otherwise.. thank you for a most lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went to The Pig as a family for a birthday meal. It was my first time in going but not for my family. All I can say was that it is beautifully decorated, and a lovely atmosphere. We didn't feel rushed at all, enjoyed the views from the dining room. We decided to share a few little light bites before our main (5 between 6 people) and they were all lovely. For main we all had something different which were all beautifully presented. I, inparticular had the venison, and it was stunning!! Cooked beautifully. Only one negative, and I hate to say negative as it's such a strong word.. Is that it was incredibly difficult to get hold of any staff for more drinks etc whilst at the table and when we did it took quite a fair while. However, this has definitely not put me off returning and I shall do very soon.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VAR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Fantastic stay. Room very nice; staff very very helpful and pleasant; lovely log fires add to the overall ambience, with a lovely atmosphere to both the bar and restaurant. Did we mention the restaurant ... simply superb. We won't say more ... try it for yourself ... Your challenge, should you wish to accept it, is to find any fault!!! We couldn't!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beta4David_Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend & on first impression was looking foward to our visit. The room we had was really nice, the bed gorgeous but thats the upside done with! Most of the communal areas looked like a film set, the interior designer having combed salvage yards for interesting items which did'nt ring true. Food was average to good & the young staff did their best but were a bit rigid in attitude.On a purely personal level i found the clientel a bit "metrosexual" for my taste, young, urban and would not give you the time of day, sorry but i don't think i have stayed in a more unfriendly place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing