We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just had a fab night in The Pig. Great food and amazing service . Nothing was too much trouble. The cocktail waiter was knowledgable and entertaining . They went the extra mile to get my husband a nice ice cream desert . Wonderful . Would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Batmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    367
    191
    121
    53
See reviews for
237
891
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Despite terrible weather on the Friday and flooding on the train lines, we finally made it to this fantastic hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. We were taken to our room which was within the main building. The room was lovely with a large free standing bath and walk in monsoon shower. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a great night sleep.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday which was amazing. The service was very efficient and the staff were all extremely knowledgeable about the menu. There was also an extensive wine list and the waiters were happy to recommend matching wines.

On the Saturday, we headed out to explore the local area. Upon our return to the hotel later that evening, we noticed that it seemed very dark. It quickly became apparent that the area had suffered a power cut. The hotel was lit by numerous candles which made it very atmospheric.

The staff were still assisting with a smile and despite there being no electricity they were determined to continue providing an impeccable service. The chefs relocated to outdoors and reduced the menu to dishes they felt able to provide by using a wood fired oven and gas bbqs. I do not think that anyone could have been unhappy with the way that the staff handled the situation which was beyond their control.

Breakfast was lovely and a perfect portion.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenwichGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Pig is a fantastic boutique hotel all within in an under 2 hour train ride from central London. The restaurant is arguably the focus but I found other aspects to be perhaps just as spectacular. For example, I had one of my best massages of all at the Pig and it was done in the most stylish of sheds. It was raining when we were there and the warm fireplaces throughout the living rooms were inviting and cozy. The staff was friendly and they offered their assistance throughout our stay. The decor was incredibly tasteful and stylish. We will definitely return, including when I bring others there for a prenatal retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which was wonderful, especially since we had our baby with. We were able to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purposeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Arrived on a wet Thursday afternoon, with local roads blocked or partially blocked due to bad weather, but no way were these pathetic attempts by Mother Nature to stop us arriving going to succeed.

From the moment you make your way up the winding drive and see the hotel come into view, you cannot help but start grinning in the knowledge you made the right choice this time. Fabulous building and can only imagine how the grounds look in the summer! Stunning.

Reception staff were friendly and took us to our room, The Pig Shed! Wow. Superking bed I would guess with quality linen & pillows. Real milk, not UHT, for tea or coffee. Other hotels please note!!!! Flat screen tv, deep roll top bath bath and separate very large drenching shower simply enhanced the experience. Views over the chickens a nice touch.

Nice walk through the gardens where we could see produce bound for the table over the coming weeks. Again, in better weather, this would be a delight for all senses, and further walks around the grounds would make this a few hours long if you so desired.

We chose to have an afternoon drink in the bar area, fire blazing, although there were other quieter rooms too if you preferred. Duncan served us and his passion for the job and hotel during the brief conversation told us we were in for a treat. We were not the only guests to notice this! His colleagues continued along the same vein when he was called elsewhere.

Dinner was sumptuous. The Pig have an ethos of ingredients coming within a 25 mile radius. Keep it local is a mantra that many of us agree with today for a number of reasons inc. local economy, seasonal food, green miles etc. but the flavour needs to be right when you are paying good money! We were not disappointed. You may as well choose your meal via eeny, meeny, miny & mo as whatever you choose I very much doubt will disappoint. Happy faces everywhere. Great atmosphere. Good service from staff kept the finely tuned "machine" rolling effortlessly.

A hearty breakfast the following morning set us up for the day. Superb local produce.

You could have 2 or even 3 treats at other establishments for the price of this 1 but I guarantee those will be forgettable whereas I know we will remember and talk of our time at The Pig well into the future. No doubt we may have to pop back from time to time too! Not just for the Martinis, Duncan.

Room Tip: Not sure there could be such a thing as a "bad" room. I'd be happy to take any on offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DraytonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Pig in the Wall Southampton for the night on a Sunday. Part of the deal was a landrover trip to eat at The Pig in the Forest with a return trip back to Southampton. Wow what an amazing place! Staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was amazing! It was so difficult to choose what to eat as we liked everything on the menu! I settled for the pork cheek. I never thought I could have too much crackling on roast pork but I had to share it with my husband as the portion was too big!
Another surprise was the fact that the restaurant seemed to be full which must be unusual for a wet, windy winter's Sunday evening!
Can't wait to return to the Pig in the Forest and stay the night!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed just one night as a treat and it was everything we expected it to be. Staff were welcoming and helpful , very professional but in a relaxed and casual way, even down to the dress code which immediately made you feel comfortable. A far cry from some of the stuffy personnel I have encountered at similar rated hotels. The attention to detail was just fantastic ( Rugs and Wellies just an example) and I loved the decor again something that made you feel at home. We stayed in the Pigsty, away from the main building and it was extremely comfortable and together with a roaring wood burning stove made it even cosier.
We ate in the Restaurant and the food was delicious even though I chose badly! Should have gone for Pork after all the name said it all, but hey it was good. Cost of dinner was reasonable but not cheap!
My only criticism would be the pricing it was very high especially without breakfast, I cannot believe it would make a great deal of difference to profits to include breakfast in the room rate. Several friends and family have stayed here and all have said the same, also I see it comes up in a few reviews. Please consider it !
Would I stay here again, yes ! But have Pork for dinner!
I look forward to checking out The Pig on the Beach when it opens in May and I wish you luck but please throw in an egg and some toast !

Room Tip: For a one night stay The Snug is perfect there are so many lovely communal rooms to relax in and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangiare48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to the Pig, having previously visited when it was only a year old and pretty new. We did have a lovely 2 night stay, but we experienced a few niggles which suggested that the hotel needs to pay a little more attention to some of the details if it doesn't want to lose it's impeccable shine, which is something that we remember taking away from us after our first visit.

We arrived early on the Friday afternoon and were taken up to our room which was room 6. Like a previous reviewer noted, both rooms 5 and 6 sit above the restaurant / bar areas so the first thing we noticed was the noise of music coming up from below. However what struck us even more was the quality of the room; black hand marks around the light switches/walls, scuff marks along all the walls, paint chipped on the skirting boards and wardrobe. All in all, the sort of things that didn't make us feel like we were staying in a £185 per night room (Comfy room)

The staff happily moved us to a significantly nicer room 3 which was great. Some people may find room 3 a little noisy at the end of an evening as it overlooks the drive way where people leave and visit for a cigarette break, but personally we felt the noise was kept to a minimum for a short period of time, so this did not affect our stay. The beds and the quality of sleep was faultless.

The only thing that we noted from room 3 was that the top of the wardrobe hadn't appeared to have been dusted for a very long time. We only noticed this because we stored our bags on top during our stay, and we were subsequently covered by dust when we took them down to re-pack.

Our final niggle to note was simply the carpet on the landing of the main hotel. We do understand that this is a very busy hotel, but the carpet really does show just how many people walk over it, it's hoovered, but pretty grimey. Again, this doesn't feel like the sort of standard you want to portray when your average room price (without breakfast) is getting on for £200 a night on a weekend.

The staff and service were generally excellent. They were both very friendly and attentive however we noticed that the breakfast rush tends to peak at about 10 am, with a result that our breakfast order was wrong and we had to wait quite a long time for tea and coffee and our food. Nevertheless, the error was dealt with very professionally.

All in all, we did have a lovely stay, we fed our concerns back to the reception and they genuinely welcomed our feedback. We would definitely go again, however it just looks like they've got a little to do to make sure those very special standards that they originally had, don't slip any more.

Room Tip: Room 6 (Comfy) is above the restaurant so regular noise from music is to be expected. Comfy room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevetrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing