We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Perfect in Every Respect”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Utterly Perfect in Every Respect”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is immaculate. A big focus on the food, and very porkie. All delicious. Great sommelier who recommended some outstanding wines to us. The Pig Chap was slightly scary but tasted incredible. Comfy beds, attentive staff, lovely grounds, with some very peaceful nearby walks. Book well in advance and don't take the kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    374
    192
    126
    52
See reviews for
245
904
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had heard about The Pig in Brockenhurst from various locals so my partner booked us a table for my birthday meal. I have to say the place looked amazing in the dark with all its lights on and a christmas tree on the lawn. We received a warm and friendly welcome as soon as we arrived and were taken straight to our table. The table was very rustic and we even had a potted beetroot plant on it, along with smoked salt, herb infused oil and butter, for the warm fresh bread that soon appeared. The staff were attentive but not interrupting, knowledgeable about the menu and delightful. The wine list or should I say lists was huge, A3 size and two off! The food itself was very good. We had the sirloin steak and the pheasant, both highly recommended to anyone visiting. As the evening when on the restaurant got busier with a good atmosphere and the food was quick to arrive despite them being busy. Realising it was my birthday, I was brought a pig shaped biscuit with happy birthday iced on it and a small carafe of desert wine, very thoughtful. All in all a great place to have dinner with friends and enjoy the fabulous house and its welcoming staff. Back in March for my partners birthday and maybe an overnight stay as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb_Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel, and had a wonderful time. The food was superb and the staff were exemplary: friendly and attentive without being intrusive; professional and courteous without seeming over-formal. I can honestly say that we enjoyed absolutely every aspect of our time at The Pig, and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 916Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonbridge
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I requested the Dog House room and was told i could have it as long as no dog owners needed it and thankfully that was the case.It is a fabulous room and we had no problem lighting the log burner which made it very cosy.
There was a problem with the hot water which was rectified and due to that we received a room discount without having to ask which I thought was great customer service.
it is easy (ish) to provide good service when things are going well but its when things go awry a good service becomes very much appreciated.

Please try Garry ( The Wild Cook) the forager. we spent a wonderful 3 hours mushroom hunting which was fun informative and great exercise in the New Forest. When we returned to the hotel we had our mushrooms served as a starter with a delicious ducks egg...perfection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hideaway : especially the Dog House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet-tonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I'm amazed that we had to book so far in advance for our weekend at the Pig given my summary of our stay. We arrived late on a Friday evening and our greeting was warm and friendly. We were shown to a double room at the back of the main house. It was comfortable but not outstanding. More Laura Ashley than country house chic. The bed was awful and although we were away as a couple for some R&R, we didn't want to constantly roll into each other, down the slope in the middle, throughout the night.
Menus are given in the bar and orders taken there and not at the table which is rather formal. I don't know why this is and it means that when you arrive at the table, you have no relationship with your waiter. The food was ok but I struggled to find anything particularly appealing.
The public rooms at the Pig are very warming and lovely to sit in during the afternoon which we duly did on the Saturday. Some of the "piggy treats" from the bar menu were far superior to some of the starters on the main restaurant menu.
My husband and I had been looking forward all day to having a steak and chips for supper with a nice glass of red that night but when we were handed menus in the bar prior to dinner, we were informed that there was no steak! It was 7pm in the evening! A cardinal error on the part of the chef. Little apology was offered in response to this.
Breakfast at the Pig is a lukewarm affair and whilst their produce may well be local, it is arranged with little thought or care on the plate. The local bacon was so fatty it seemed almost undercooked.
The Pig does tick some boxes, adequately furnished bedrooms, nice public areas and friendly staff but it just doesn't hit the mark. Having stayed at Babington house and measuring most "weekend" getaways against this - The Pig has a long way to go - to be honest that's not surprising because it's much cheaper but it just didn't cut the mustard for us.
On the Friday evening at the end of our meal, instead of asking if we wanted coffee, the waiter asked if we were celebrating a special occasion??? What an odd thing to ask but as we scanned the room it was clear that The Pig is clearly a "special weekend away" for many other couply guests. I'm not being a snob here but it just wasn't that big a deal to us. Running out of steak on a Saturday night….wrong! Charging us for items from the mini bar on our bill which we did not have…..wrong! charging us for the weekend FT twice even though it was the same paper that was delivered on both Saturday and Sunday morning…….wrong! Is it a special occasion?….wrong! We just wanted to get out of London for a couple of nights. It may be expensive - but save your money and have a real weekend away at somewhere like Babington house or Limewood!

Room Tip: Avoid the room 17 as this appears to be located close to some extractor fans outside the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We returned to The Pig for an overnight stay and dinner, having enjoyed a lunch there in the summer. The house itself is in a beautiful forest setting, and the grounds are lovely. There are some rooms in the main building, and others in converted stables etc. around the place. The kitchen garden is full of the vegetables used to prepare the meals. The rooms we had were interesting and well designed. The room was very hot, and we found the window tricky to open. The bathroom was enormous. The front of house team work well together and are efficient and helpful. We did not enjoy the food so much on this occasion. Two of us found our main courses not very nice, although the other two enjoyed theirs. When we mentioned this, the 'discretionary tip' was removed from the bill. Not a very 'discretionary' gratuity really. The cooked breakfast was tepid. We noticed others bringing this to the attention of the staff, and the replacements seemed little of an improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JK5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A morning in the New Forest and than a great lunch was served, excellent cooking, refined but hearty, and reasonably priced. My party of four, containing two incredibly picky members, were very satisfied. For me, the linguini with Dorset clams and a pork chop were cooked to perfection. Some good puddings as well. For others the partridge was highly rated. But, for a restaurant deep in the New Forest, the lunch lacked the "feel" of that forest. Hence the paradox: for an enterprise which takes pride in sourcing its food from the local area, where amongst the front-of-house staff were the Forest folk, with their warming New Forest burr and knowledge of the life and ways of the forest? Thus, despite the excellent service and charming staff, intruiging decor and beautiful setting, it was far from a genuine New Forest experience. Perhaps that was an unrealistic expectation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing