We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keen to go back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Keen to go back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

As first time visitors we loved almost everything about The Pig apart from the cost, which was pretty eye-watering. Luckily we were partially subsidised by gift vouchers from a family member. The location and setting would be hard to beat, although as others have noted there's a railway line one field away from the house. We didn't find this intrusive.

The "shabby chic" style works well. I can understand if some guests don't take to it, although it shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone who researches before booking. The informality of the staff fits the image.

Our room in what I took to be a converted stable block was clean and well presented.

The restaurant appears to be fully booked for lunch and dinner every day, attracting large numbers of non-residents. The menu is fairly short, as previously noted. However, unlike the reviewer who had difficulty finding anything he or she wanted, we wished to stay longer so we could try everything. A good and generous breakfast buffet is augmented by several cooked options at extra cost, although frankly for these room prices the basic breakfast might well be included, rather than adding £10 per person.

Our only small problem was with the timing of our evening meals. Taking advice from the hotel because of the restaurant's popularity, we reserved tables for both of our nights at the time of booking the room. Without going through all the details of what followed, we eventually sat down at our preferred time and there didn't seem to be a problem, so the whole saga was a bit of a mystery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    367
    191
    121
    53
See reviews for
237
891
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent one night at this very pretty hotel this week. The weather was glorious. Our room was extremely well furnished with fabulous bed and lovely soft pillows. The staff, who seemed all to be in their early twenties were absolutely charming. The kitchen garden was very well stocked with cherries spinach, etc. etc.

So why have I given this hotel such a low rating? THE FOOD.

Our evening meal was on the terrace and our waiter could not have been more charming. My main course, ravioli with chorizo (forget the description) was difficult to eat as the ravioli was hard, almost baked and very very chewy. The chard beneath the ravioli was so undercooked that it was difficult to chew let alone swallow.

My husband had the pork filet with mashed potatoes which was not very tasty and also was chewy and pedestrian. The chard was ----undercooked and too chewy.

Not much on offer on the veggie front considering there is a kitchen garden.

Puddings o.k. Housewine good value.

Breakfast for me was 2 poached eggs, nicely cooked but on two halves of very thin toast.
My husband had the full breakfast but scrambled eggs overcooked and mysteriously wet, bacon like the rubber mat he works out on every morning (his discription).

Niether meals merited the prices charged.

The food is the main attraction at this hotel according to its website but we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: We were given a groundfloor room with doors leading out to the courtyard. It was quite gloomy and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Great position, great old building, relaxed easy decor. Spent one night and for what we got was a lot of London priced accomodation. It was good but nothing really acceptional.
Service was slack. The outside terrace was virtually no service. Had to go looking while staff stood around chatting. Thirty minutes later the wrong wine arrived.
Breakfast was not included and once again a captive market. Bad service, cold coffee and once again moaned. No response.
So overall would recommend but be patient with what seems like staff that are not trained.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGI6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Saturday was our second time here. We have now been in the evening for dinner and Saturday lunch. Both were truly amazing experience. The evening it’s a lovely evening out, the house looks amazing at night. By day stunning. The veg garden is worth a wonder around it really does enforce you are truly eating how grown food. The grounds are stunning. We were spent 5 hours there had lunch drinks in the garden, chilled on the hammock amazing didn’t want to go home.
The food is lovely menu always different. Service second to none nothing too much trouble. Spotlessly clean, difficult to stay away.
Very romantic one of my favorites places to go well, great concept very natural this really is a must you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to The Pig at Brockenhurst to celebrate the birthday of a friend. We have been once in the past and thought we would give it a second chance as the house itself is very inviting. However, this time things were very similar in that we immediately felt that everyone was in a rush. We arrived about 10 minutes early and before our friends but the staff wanted to get us in the bar immediately and to start choosing from the menu. We said we would wait in the lounge until our friends arrived. Upon their arrival one of them wanted to go to the toilet first but once again we were being urged to get a move on - in the nicest possible way of course. As soon as we sat at our table the waitress came to take the order and again we felt we had to hurry. We ordered a glass of wine each for 3 people and a beer for the forth person. For the beer we had to remind them 4 times before it was served. To be honest we found it quite difficult to choose something as the menu is not too extensive. The portions were small and our wood pigeon was very tough. The bread, however, was utterly delicious. We won't be going again as it all felt too uncomfortable. Pebble Beach at Barton on Sea is a much better bet with a large menu and staff who make you feel relaxed instead of our being made to feel we just had to be quick so they could get rid of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingHeavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

A cheeky mid week escape found us at The Pig on Tuesday and what a treat it was. A beautiful country house, with many orignal features. Our room was gorgeous with an orignal stable divder separating the bedroom and bathroom, with a freeststanding bath and super powerful shower. The food is fanatstic, you can walk around the kitchen garden and watch the guys picking the produce that will be served only a few hours later. Absolutely delicious! Our new favourite country retreat in the UK. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowthwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Last weekend we celebrated my Mothers 70th Birthday at 'The Pig'. What a wonderful experience, from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out the following day. I can honestly say it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It really is a haven right in the heart of the New Forest. The staff are so freindly and very professional. The rooms are out of this world and the food and wines just perfect. We have already booked to go back in December for my Birthday and I'm counting the days. You must go.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing