We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Last weekend we celebrated my Mothers 70th Birthday at 'The Pig'. What a wonderful experience, from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out the following day. I can honestly say it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It really is a haven right in the heart of the New Forest. The staff are so freindly and very professional. The rooms are out of this world and the food and wines just perfect. We have already booked to go back in December for my Birthday and I'm counting the days. You must go.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    391
    195
    129
    54
See reviews for
257
932
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Pig is a delightful retreat in the heart of the New Forest region.It's flourishing kitchen garden provides much of the restaurant menu. There is a covered courtyard with open fire and pizza oven where drinks and snacks are available,a variety of comfortable rooms and a bar area as well as the quirky conservatory restaurant area where delicious meals are served,including items from their own smokehouse.
Our room (27)was well furnished with a huge adjoining bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pig recently, mainly as a stopover from London before decamping to big sister Limewood the next day.
I had not really read much about it other than that it did good locally sourced food and had comfortable rooms. When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful country house in wonderful grounds. We were shown to our room, on the courtyard, a concern at first as it was a balmy evening and there were several tables occupied but we were assured that the tables would be vacated at 10 in consideration to those occupying surrounding rooms.
The room was large, comfortable with a great shower. A nice touch was the tea making facilities plus a nespresso machine...listen up Limewood!

We had a wander around the gorgeous grounds and kitchen garden, visited the pigs . Then found a comfy sofa in the bar whilst we browsed the menu. The atmosphere was really buzzy but effortlessly laid back. The stunning conservatory that houses the restaurant was packed, amazing for a Monday night! As requested we were seated a little earlier than we had booked which was very helpful considering how busy the restaurant was. As mentioned before, the food is all locally sourced, within 25 miles of the restaurant. Most of the veg and herbs are grown on site, and the menu was beautifully balanced. I had a salad to start, leaves and petals freshly picked from the garden in a divine dressing. Pork fillet to follow, utterly delicious! Lemon tart to end..light and tangy. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his meal. The staff were all wonderfully enthusiastic, which is a quality that is so lacking in most hotels. After dinner we retired to the lovely bar, having settled down the lights all went out! Power cut! Not a problem, tea lights were strewn across every surface, lanterns were lit, diners in the restaurant continued as if nothing had happened. The staff seemed absolutely unflappable. Torches were found and drinks continued to be served. The house looked beautiful by candle light, I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere! Even the couple in the bar who had not yet had dinner did not seem to mind a cold option, such was the good nature of the staff.
We went off to our room with our torches and upon waking there was a handwritten note to apologise for the inconvenience and that breakfast was on them!
Breakfast was delicious, followed by a walk in the kitchen garden and a chat with one of the gardeners who was collecting edible flowers for lunch, he showed us which petals worked in salads got us to taste them.

A perfect stay, lovely happy staff, great food, would totally recommend .
Do book restaurant when making reservation, very popular!
.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at The Pig for two nights, following a short weekend cruise. The hotel itself, the location, the staff, the rooms and food were all first class. We were made to feel as if the hotel was our 'home' - so friendly was everyone.
The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was quite superb - not cheap but excellent value and much of it locally sourced and even from their own kitchen garden. The conservatory dining room is so atmospheric and very interestingly furnished - someone has good taste. Although we were there as a couple, there were several families staying there and all enjoying it too.My only 'gripe' - the wine prices are on the high side and there shouls be more choice of good quality wines under £20. Good bar too! Try it and see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We last stayed at The Pig in October 2011, when it was still quite new. This time, we stayed for three nights in The Tamworth, one of the larger rooms a short distance from the main hotel building. The Tamworth was near perfection, with an entrance hall, a bathroom with roll top bath and very large walk-in shower, and a spacious bedroom. If the weather had been bad during our stay (it wasn't), we would not have felt claustrophobic at all.

I have read in the past criticism of the food and service in the restaurant. I would describe the food offering at dinner as being the type one would expect in a lot of good gastro pubs. It is mainly locally produced, and is of a very good standard. Yes, it can be quirky, but that's part of the fun. I have to say that we found the service in the restaurant and the rest of the hotel to be of an excellent standard. The only suggestion I would make to improve the offering would be the inclusion of breakfast in the room rate; the fact it is not is the reason I have given a lower Value rating.

We would not hesitate to return to this great hotel in the beautiful New Forest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidG638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went with friends for dinner, and I had heard some mixed reviews of The Pig. We were all warmly welcomed by the staff and shown promptly to our window table over looking the fine gardens. The menu was very good and varied. The food and service were excellent throughout our evening . All together a fine dinner . It is not cheap, but in our view well worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at The Pig with 3 other couples, for 2 nights in June. The setting is wonderful, in the heart of the New Forest and the building and grounds are beautifully kept. we arrived first out of our party and were shown to our "Garden Room", situated just off the bar courtyard, with our own tables and chairs outside. our friends arrived not long after and were shown to their rooms, all but one couple were as happy as we were with their accommodation. The final couple could not even enter their room as the smell of raw sewage was completely overpowering as they were told that there must be an issue with the drains! the really unfortunate part of the story was that they could not be given another room, so had to be booked into a nearby hotel, which was not anywhere near the same standard.
We were all booked into the highly acclaimed restaurant that evening and our friends managed to make it back to The Pig for this. I must say that the Manager acted quite superbly in offering us Champagne and free drinks in recompense for the unfortunate incident.
Overall if I were giving a revue, just based on our experience we would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidll54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,723 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
800 reviews
6.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing