We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why have I not been here before”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Why have I not been here before”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate last night. Great service, fantastic food, sublime setting and attention to detail second to none.
In fact I was blown away by my dinning experience and as for value for money. 2 of us, 3 courses, drinks (no wine) under £100. Looking forward to an overnight stay next....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TGM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    374
    192
    126
    52
See reviews for
245
904
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for two nights at The Pig. The hotel is situated in beautiful surroundings and if you want to get away from it all this is the place to stay. Room was a good size with a large comfy bed. The shower was excellent, the hotel offers massages but don't waste your money on this just turn the shower up full.
Lots of comfy sofas to sit on around the hotel to relax with a drink or two and good seating areas outside. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent and very busy. On our arrival at the hotel we had been reserved a table for our first night which was a nice touch. All staff very friendly.
If visiting this area will stop at The Pig again

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wonderful place brilliant and exciting menu, rooms beautiful but some are a little on the small side.
Despite this still really worth a visit staff were with out exception all very friendly and helpful, it felt i they really enjoyed working there. Will definately be going again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent one night, stayed in a snug room, It was small but perfectly formed and met my requirements. Only negative, like other guests have said, the room was very warm and I had to sleep with the window open. Everything eaten or drank here was wonderful, right down to the hot chocolate in the "in room larder" .Opted for lamb as my main course, it was beautifully cooked and tender. Breakfast was delicious and satisfying. Staff were all very approachable, helpful and welcoming, will recommend and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked the Hen House, a duplex room with the bedroom & toilet downstairs and a bathroom and fantastic double showers upstairs, complete with a roll top bath. The room was gorgeous, with fantastic views over the free range chickens and pigs. Lovely "shabby chic" decor, very comfy bed, fridge, chairs, desk, kettle, free & quick Wi-Fi. It was also very quiet. The public areas were just as comfortable, with a really relaxed feel.
We had dinner in the restaurant, which was excellent: good service, and the main course beef pie and pork escalope were both delicious. It was very busy, especially for a Sunday night, but the tables were well spaced. Breakfast was just as good, with a big choice of buffet items plus a cooked to order hot breakfast. The focus on locally-sourced items is great.
The grounds are lovely to wander round, and the pigs particularly are great to see. The car park was full when we first arrived at 2:30 but after we went for drive round the local area, there were spaces on our return.
The staff are very friendly, enthusiastic and efficient. We loved our stay, were extremely reluctant to leave and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
295 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ate dinner when staying nearby at Lime Wood (superb btw).

Really enjoyed our meal - quality ingredients, well prepared served by a good bunch of people.

Lots of interesting carnivorous options.

Try the bath chap if you are adventurous - some of the best pork I've had.

Ginger beer sorbet was the nicest I've had outside of Italy - very simple and refreshing.

Totally recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horndean, hampshire uk
Level Contributor
257 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were invited to join our daughter and son-in-law for dinner at The Pig on a Saturday evening. They had a two night stay at the hotel, we were invited to take a look at the room before we embarked on a 'tour' of the walled garden. Their room was ok, but at £200 per night it should be but their gripe was that at that price, breakfast should have been included in the price! Shameful of the hotel management at squeezing yet more money from customers for an 'ok' room.
The hotel interior has a shabby chic design, giving it a much more casual feel rather than a 'stuffy & staid' atmosphere of some pretentious establishments. The food, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, has all been sourced within a 25 mile radius, appreciated by our group.
The various starters and main courses were all well cooked & presented, no complaints here. My only real gripe, i believe the shabby chic feel has been taken a step too far by using mis-matching cutlery! This is an absolute no-no at home let alone in a restaurant that is far from cheap, so a request to the management, matching cutlery, please?
All in all, an enjoyable evening at The Pig and would happily return - but matching cutlery please!!

Room Tip: Request that management include breakfast in the price of the room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing