We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect over night bag escape!”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect over night bag escape!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After taking the 13.12 train to Bournemouth on Thursday from Clapham Junction, I met my husband after a work meeting and drove straight from there to The Pig. We arrived to what felt like a country home away from home. The attention to detail was nailed, thus giving it a chilled and elegant atmosphere. It is truly a private country house experience with a library room, a sitting room and a laid back bar, all with firing log fireplaces. The conservatory-styled restaurant was situated in the following room, all lit with stunning scones and candles. The staff were very well trained, catering to the minor details, such as putting an extra log in the fire while passing by. The Maitre D' came over and took our order while we finished our drinks in front of a raging log fire, in a very professional yet friendly way. Our table was amongst climbing plants in a glass conservatory. I ordered the escalope with capers and my husband had hake. It was delicious, local sourced food, cooked in a simple way. YUM! When it came to the rooms, again, no detail was missed. It was cosy, romantic, comfortable and cool at the same time!!
We are already planning on returning for our next escape!

Room Tip: Make sure to turn the heating down in the room before going to dinner, it can get quite hot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    374
    192
    126
    52
See reviews for
245
904
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed 2weeks ago did the one night, we booked the hen house , loved it only downer was the wood burner being out of action,who needs a bed just camp in the upper bathroom, fantastic.
Food , usually dissapointed by at least one course but not at the pig, I'm pretty sure I could have ordered anything off the menu and enjoyed it, I went for the full monty in the morning, wow !
Thank you for a fantastic stay , you enabled me to treat my wife johanne like a princess for the evening,worth every penny. Jo's philosophy is not not revisit anywhere a second time , ha ! Another taboo soon to be broken .,.,see you soon.
Mark and Johanne ransom
Godalming

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaniejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at The Pig just for one night but it was the perfect getaway for our first night alone since having a baby. Loved the whole ambience and vibe - like Babington House but less pretentious and better value. Massage in the treatment shed was amazing and loved the cocktails and breakfast especially. Two things that let it down for me. Firstly our room wasn't ready when we arrived. It didn't really matter as we just sat in the bar and had a drink whilst we waited but i would just expect for a hotel like this to ensure the rooms are ready by 3pm. The other disappointment for me was the room itself. We had a comfy luxe room and it says most have baths on the website. Ours didn't however, and despite having a fab rainforest style shower, i still felt a bit cheated.

Overall though The Pig is a fab hotel and i would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum2Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived to find nowhere close to the door to park. Should nt have been a problem for most of those using the phalanx of Sherman tank like vehicles crowding round the door but if you have any kind of walking limitation - forget it. You can park 150m down the gravel drive and lug up your own bags. After dinner the first evening 12.5% was added to the bill without asking! Beware! Sitting in one of the two comfy lounges ae were disturbed the first day by a resident on his mobile and lap top drafting a contract in conference at length! The second day we were in the lounge there seemed to be a constant stream of prospective customers being told of the champagne receptions and weddings they could have -not very relaxing. We came to our room the second evening to find a large black bin bag in the room filled with rubbish. On leaving we had to lug our bagsdown the hill -no offer of help and we willnot be back at £300 per night for b&b.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Read about this place for a while .. so booked as xmas present for my husband....miserable weather all weekend .. torrential downpours so unfortunately couldn't make the most of the grounds or local area. So we settled in by the fire and ordered gin and tonics! :-)
Great atmosphere here .. relaxed ..lots of rooms with comfy sofas and fires.
We stayed in Pig Shed ....could watch the chickens from our window
I guess you come here for the food ... the restaurant has a great informal setting.. tables are allocated as you arrive and it does get busy...once seated service was very good .. getting attention at bar areas can be more difficult. Menu was interesting but lacked appeal to us. Food was good but not amazing.
A great escape for a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ,,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great for a mix of business and pleasure tucked away from the world in the middle of the New Forrest.
Great rooms (be aware that the railway line is just beyond the stable rooms!) and good service albeit a little patch at times.
Wi-fi not available in non-public rooms and even then not much band width so if you need it for business's beware!

Room Tip: Main house is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank all_ar0und_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had read the reviews over a period of time and wondered whether this place was as good as they say. I guess that driving down to the New Forest in late November in the early evening may stir some romantic thoughts in some people but we got hopelessly lost and stopped at almost every pub in the area until it was pitch black.
Finally we arrived and thoughts of what had seemed like a bit of nightmare journey simply faded away. The welcome from the staff was warm and personal as was the atmosphere with Pine log fires burning in the lounges pervading the whole place with a true winter country house air. The escort to our room was friendly and informative and I was already thinking what a shame it was that we were only staying the one night.
Our room was perfectly proportioned and very chic with little touches that were idiosyncratic of the ideology behind this place. It was in every way quintessentially quaint with a short staircase that led down into a small but well equipped bathroom furnished with white fluffy towels and quality soaps and everything was spotlessly clean.
So having glimpsed the lounges and smelt the comforting aroma of a real wood fire we freshened up and made our way downstairs to relax, and that comes very easy here. The sofas are huge and well placed, some close to the fires and others more discreetly located to provide a little intimacy. There are books, journals and newspapers at hand and you feel very familiar with everything very quickly.
Being mid winter and oh so cold we never ventured out doors but could not help but notice that they have a pretty amazing courtyard complete with a massive brick build oven and BBQ resplendant with Rattan furniture, obviously for the those warm and balmy evening that seemed so far away in November.
We were meeting friends and had booked a table for 8pm, they arrived around 7pm and the staff took our orders for drinks and presented us with the menus which are possibly not for the feint hearted unless you love Pork. This is not to say that that is all is there is but it does feature an awful lot but then what else would expect from a Hotel Restaurant named the Pig.
Well everything Piggy was fantastic especially the Piggy Bits and the Tobacco Onions, not what I expected but fabulous all the same, make sure to order a selection of these as they are great for sharing. The restaurant is situated in what appears to be a very large Georgian style conservatory and it was humming with atmosphere obviously created by the dedicated customers that were arriving in droves.
Their Flower Pot of Triple Cooked Chips are the perfect accompaniment to almost everything and the portions are well forgive the pun but fit for Piggy's, that said we still found room for a couple of sweet desserts and some great British Cheeses.
After dinner we retired to one of the lounges for coffee etc and then to bed for a truly great night's sleep, peaceful, silent warm and so comfortable wrapped up in the perfect weight duvet and fine quality linens.
Breakfast was served in a side room off of the main dining area and was as could only be expected from such a food focused hotel a real delight and needless to say the Bacon and Sausages were scrumptious.
Our only regret was that our stay was for just one night but we shall be back in the Summer to explore the glorious New Forest and visit some of the local Towns and Villages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeffy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing