We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Read about this place for a while .. so booked as xmas present for my husband....miserable weather all weekend .. torrential downpours so unfortunately couldn't make the most of the grounds or local area. So we settled in by the fire and ordered gin and tonics! :-)
Great atmosphere here .. relaxed ..lots of rooms with comfy sofas and fires.
We stayed in Pig Shed ....could watch the chickens from our window
I guess you come here for the food ... the restaurant has a great informal setting.. tables are allocated as you arrive and it does get busy...once seated service was very good .. getting attention at bar areas can be more difficult. Menu was interesting but lacked appeal to us. Food was good but not amazing.
A great escape for a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ,,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    310
    163
    100
    44
See reviews for
201
754
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great for a mix of business and pleasure tucked away from the world in the middle of the New Forrest.
Great rooms (be aware that the railway line is just beyond the stable rooms!) and good service albeit a little patch at times.
Wi-fi not available in non-public rooms and even then not much band width so if you need it for business's beware!

Room Tip: Main house is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank all_ar0und_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had read the reviews over a period of time and wondered whether this place was as good as they say. I guess that driving down to the New Forest in late November in the early evening may stir some romantic thoughts in some people but we got hopelessly lost and stopped at almost every pub in the area until it was pitch black.
Finally we arrived and thoughts of what had seemed like a bit of nightmare journey simply faded away. The welcome from the staff was warm and personal as was the atmosphere with Pine log fires burning in the lounges pervading the whole place with a true winter country house air. The escort to our room was friendly and informative and I was already thinking what a shame it was that we were only staying the one night.
Our room was perfectly proportioned and very chic with little touches that were idiosyncratic of the ideology behind this place. It was in every way quintessentially quaint with a short staircase that led down into a small but well equipped bathroom furnished with white fluffy towels and quality soaps and everything was spotlessly clean.
So having glimpsed the lounges and smelt the comforting aroma of a real wood fire we freshened up and made our way downstairs to relax, and that comes very easy here. The sofas are huge and well placed, some close to the fires and others more discreetly located to provide a little intimacy. There are books, journals and newspapers at hand and you feel very familiar with everything very quickly.
Being mid winter and oh so cold we never ventured out doors but could not help but notice that they have a pretty amazing courtyard complete with a massive brick build oven and BBQ resplendant with Rattan furniture, obviously for the those warm and balmy evening that seemed so far away in November.
We were meeting friends and had booked a table for 8pm, they arrived around 7pm and the staff took our orders for drinks and presented us with the menus which are possibly not for the feint hearted unless you love Pork. This is not to say that that is all is there is but it does feature an awful lot but then what else would expect from a Hotel Restaurant named the Pig.
Well everything Piggy was fantastic especially the Piggy Bits and the Tobacco Onions, not what I expected but fabulous all the same, make sure to order a selection of these as they are great for sharing. The restaurant is situated in what appears to be a very large Georgian style conservatory and it was humming with atmosphere obviously created by the dedicated customers that were arriving in droves.
Their Flower Pot of Triple Cooked Chips are the perfect accompaniment to almost everything and the portions are well forgive the pun but fit for Piggy's, that said we still found room for a couple of sweet desserts and some great British Cheeses.
After dinner we retired to one of the lounges for coffee etc and then to bed for a truly great night's sleep, peaceful, silent warm and so comfortable wrapped up in the perfect weight duvet and fine quality linens.
Breakfast was served in a side room off of the main dining area and was as could only be expected from such a food focused hotel a real delight and needless to say the Bacon and Sausages were scrumptious.
Our only regret was that our stay was for just one night but we shall be back in the Summer to explore the glorious New Forest and visit some of the local Towns and Villages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeffy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We should declare that we're fans of Robin Hutson and his achievements, and The Pig encompasses all of the good things in his repertoire.
As you approach the hotel you somehow know it's going to be a good experience and we've never been disappointed. The public rooms are beautifully furnished and you never seem far away from an open fire or log-burner to curl up in front of and enjoy a glass or two from the magnificent wine list while you decide what to do in this most beautiful part of England. It's a warm place to stay in both temperature and ambience.
The bedrooms are unique and beautifully appointed and the beds are as comfortable as any we have slept in, with crisp cotton sheets and a mattress to die for. For both our visits to date we have stayed in a suite of bedrooms remote from the main house ( The Pig Hut, first time and The Stables, this time ) - lovely, quiet, and cosy. The bathrooms too are super and the showers just wonderful.
Dining at The Pig is a delight. The conservatory style restaurant is like dining in a potting shed and the food is fresh (much from the kitchen garden - which is well worth a visit ), local and beautifully cooked, and the service relaxed, unobtrusive and pleasant. The wine list is a wonderful and diverse collection.
Overall we could not have enjoyed our visits more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon were very warmly welcomed and shown to our room.The room was exceptionally spacious along with all mod cons.The bathroom excellent & very roomy.Later we went to join friends for dinner,all of us were treated like royalty by all the staff.Eveyone was courteuos,polite,very helpful{recommendations when asked about food and wine}.The food as always superb.Overall EVERYTHING about the pig was and is just fantastic & for such a reasonable tariff.Thank you one and all.We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My partner and I visited the Pig for a surprise Birthday Lunch and I really could not have asked for a more fantastic surprise, the Hotel is very very welcoming, it was a lovely spring day and the gardens were fantastic, we were able to walk through the kitchen garden and see the vegetables that we were later to eat for lunch. The bar has a table displaying numerous bottles of vodka infusions made on the premises, these are offered in a lovely selection of cocktails, also a splendid display of quality cigars are on offer.
The meal was second to none with wonderful service, the bread homade and delicious with plenty of butter :-)
I loved the dinning room with young vegetable plants (that will later go into the garden) on each table and a very interesting mossaic like floor. I really look forward to returning and perhaps staying for a few days.
Thank you everyone, you made my day extra special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a one night stay at The Pig and it was a wonderful experience. Everything, from the atmosphere to the cocktails, was excellent and we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to getaway.

After a warm welcome we were shown to our room (no.17). The room was gorgeous; power shower, roll-top bath, huge comfy beds and views over the grounds. When booking I didn't realise that The Pig is so close to the train line, but this didn't bother us as we could barely hear the trains going past.

We had dinner in the restaurant (make sure you book in advance) and it was delicious. I had the ham hock followed by the pork escalope and my boyfriend had the meat plate followed by beef stew and couldn't fault either of these dishes. We were also treated to complimentary Piggy Bits whilst enjoying pre-dinner drinks. The service was attentive but unobtrusive.

If you're looking for somewhere to escape for a night or two, look no further than The Pig- we will be recommending it to everyone we know!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#6 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing