We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We felt so relaxed and happy at The Pig. The food, walks and staff made this a stunning weekend away. The hotel is the perfect distance from London too. We absolutely loved how the hotel was done up and thought it was the best shower ever. Stunning roaring fires everywhere and a beautiful location made for a dreamy and romantic winter break.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the bar so you don't get music noise. We told them about the noise and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    361
    188
    118
    51
See reviews for
233
878
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I visited the Pig last weekend, having really no idea what it would be like. Some of the reviews on here where hit and miss, and I was conscious of how it would be. However, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the Pig was absolutely fantastic.

Firstly,and to dispel any of the below comments, the service was fantastic. All the staff made an enormous effort to make us feel welcome, and really did provide the 5* treatment. I am normally a difficult guest, and even I have not one complaint about the staff.

The place itself is beautiful, set in the middle of the forest, its picturesque...however I was very impressed by the little details of the place and the touches that made it really very quaint.The whole place has a querky, homely feel, with lots of rooms to sit by the fire in or relax. Whilst being luxurious, its also very use able and comfy, and perfect if you are looking for a break from the city for a night or two.

The rooms were very nice (fantastic showers) as was the restaurant, which again had a very rustic feel to it. It was all part of the charm.

All in all, after our stay, I was enthusiastic about writing a review (my first ever) as there is so much choice in the New Forest, but you need not look any further than the Pig. It provides you with the perfect country weekend away and seems to cater for all groups.

I don't want to sound like an advertisement for the place, but you wont be disappointed with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked many months ago for my husbands Birthday treat and the hotel and restaurant lived up to expectations.

The staff were 95% fabulous with the other 5% a little aimless on occasion for example not making eye contact with customers waving drinks menus their way. Nothing that cannot be easily fixed with a little training and support.

As a veggie I found enough choice to keep me happy for the 2 night stay and I really liked that you can choose a small or large serving for most of the dishes, they also adapted a dish to make it vegetarian which was really appreciated.

Our room (Tack Room) was lovely, not large but well furnished with a great roll top bath and separate shower with top quality toiletries. I really liked how original features had been used in the room design.

I would love to come back to this hotel and look forward to trying the Pig on the Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was here in January 2012. Loved it.

Hidden in the heart of a forest the rooms are brilliantly appointed. The outdoor fireplace was awesome even in the dead of a January winter.

The restaurant was good on par with decent London restaurant.

The surrounding setting was amazing but most importantly he hotel had this marvellous lounge-y feel. Guests tended to hover near the hotel or lazed in the various reading rooms.

Emphasis on relaxing. Will be back with the misses and dog.

Room Tip: G a room in e barns out back. Good luck getting the dog friendly room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nachtzeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from A fantastic weekend at the Pig, we stayed in the Hen House, great bathroom,the best shower ever. Staff are great. A really relaxed, informal setting.
Love it. Our friends joined us on the Saturday night for dinner and stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the courtyard. They loved it also.
Well done to all at the Pig.

Room Tip: Hen house was great our friends stayed in room 16, in the main house courtyard also very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We just had dinner at the Pig and loved it - it was recommended to us and we are so glad we booked a table. Unusual foraged local menu, fantastic atmosphere, great bar and lovely shabby chic highly stylised setting.

We had a cocktail in the bar - which is oaky and atmospheric with large leather chairs and cool period features. We then dined in the vintage conservatory - ate some 'piggy bits' followed by superbly cooked main meals (melt in your mouth beef and a pork chop). Great wine list and somewhere a little bit different for food with a creative menu. Looking forward to our next visit - next time we will stay over!

Two course meal, bottle of wine, two cocktails and service approx £100 - perfect treat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I first visited the Pig in November 2012 and had lunch with my sister.
We loved the building, having known it as the Whitley Ridge prior to the new owners taking over, I was very impressed with the work that had been done.
We had a drink before lunch in the bar, with picky bits, which were fantastic then lunch in the restaurant. The food was very good and reasonably priced for the content and surroundings.
The only thing I feel they have a problem with is the service.
The waiting staff were all young (nothing wrong with that) but although willing, there was an obvious lack of training. A lot of running about that gave you the feeling that there was little structure to the service. Not the fault of the staff but the management.
It did not ruin our lunch at all, we were not in hurry and had a really good lunch.
My second visit to the Pig was for afternoon tea. We arranged to meet a group of friends here to have afternoon tea before going on somewhere else.
I assumed (wrongly) they would do a traditional afternoon tea.
When we arrived they only served cake (choice of two) or sandwiches (not little tea ones but the full blown lunch sandwich or soup) One of our party had the soup which he said was obviously home made and very good, another had the sandwich (of which he said, the filling was good but the bread was stale!) The rest of us just had a piece of cafe. Mine was the Dorest Apple Cake and I loved it!
Service was, as on the previous visit, friendly but very dis-organized
So all in all, not a disaster but a disappointment.
I feel sure that if a traditional afternoon tea was offered, it would be a real hit.
I will go back to the Pig, as the lunch we had in November was lovely.
Hopefully the management will have addressed the service issues by then

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ForestGirl930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing