We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a traditional English Country House Hotel.. this is for you.”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If your normal stay is a Marriot or Hilton, this may blow you away - Set in the beautiful New Forest, a well appointed country house, the staff are courteous and polite, the snug room clean, traditional and well appointed, with good size ensuite, with separate power shower and roll top bath, original wooden floors throughout, and all the little individual extras that make a personal stay that much nicer, so far removed from the corporate - blah blah boxes, a pleasure - with areas to relax in front of a roaring open fire, to read, chat have a drink and unwind.
My wife and I had been looking forward to the " Pig " as a dining experience, and I think it may just have been us, it was nice, but not outstanding, I felt a little rushed - possibly a 9pm table didn't help, and maybe my black pudding starter a little to strong in flavour for my following pork, we retired to the snug, with no offer of dessert or coffee.
Breakfast - a full range of cereals and juices, cakes, eggs, full traditional fry to fresh honey off comb, excellent range and good value at £15 each.

Room Tip: Snug is fine, beware that breakfast conservatory maybe a little chilly - for some in the morning, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyFWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

The pig was everything we expected and more from this wonderful, old, large country mansion converted to a 26 bedroom hotel/restaurant. The room we stayed in was of a good size, clean and comfortable.
The staff were excellent and very polite. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was of a very good standard.
Excellent country walks in the Forest.
The Hotel is full of charm and character with open fireplaces.

Room Tip: Only negative was that the hotel was too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our final stop in our UK honeymoon, and it really was lovely.

We chose a Comfy Luxe room, which was in a converted stable. The open plan bathroom, with freestanding bath and huge monsoon shower were fabulous. Although it was a pity that the toilet didn't have an independent light switch as the light woke my hubby up when I went to the loo in the night. I'll bring a torch with me next time!

They describe the place as 'a restaurant with rooms' and the food didn't disappoint. The portions are huge, so you'll need to be hungry to get your money's worth. But the cocktails were the highlight for me. They do all kinds of flavoured vodkas and invite you to pick one and leave the barman to create something for you. Mine was delicious!

One tip for the beer drinkers: the bottled beer in the larder in your room is £1 cheaper than the same beer at the bar.

Overall we had a super stay, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had booked our stay at this hotel a few months ago and had been eagerly awaiting a night away! Our room was lovely, extremely comfortable and we didn't want to leave! Yes, the floors were wooden, but there were no evidence of splinters. The nespresso machine was a bonus, so much nicer than a kettle with packets of naff coffee. The shower is huge was a fantastic stream of lovely hot water, soft towels, lovely smelling toiletries and huge bath robes.Shaby chic works for us. The staff was brilliant and were on the ball. Dinner was filling and tastyI. had the Bath Chap which as only a little fatty- it does come from a pig afterall- and my husband had breast of pheasant with confit of leg, which were both delightful. We found the restaurant staff knowledgeable and polite and they knew wht they were doing, not surprising as we saw who we took to be te gardener, explaining t members ofstaff in the kitchen garden, all about the veg that was growing there. all in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinePoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent a while looking for the right place for a much needed break in the New Forest and originally were looking at the Limewood Hotel as fancied a day of spa facilities. However the prices for the Limewood meant we would only go for a couple of days when we saw their website mention The PIg as their sister Hotel nearby. Once we looked at their site it seemed a great place and had the option to use the Limewood's spa at a much discounted rate so was the prefect option. We weren't disappointed. We followed advise from trip advisor and requested a room in the steelyard as wanted a quiet time and it worked out well. I emailed a few queries in advance and the reception manager replied promptly and was really helpful, especially as we had to change our initial booking dates due to work commitments, which were handled with ease. We booked a comfy luxe room for 4 nights from Sunday and arrived early to meet with friends who lived locally. We popped in the hotel to get our bearings etc and were pleased to be informed we were in luck as our room The Pig Pen was already available from 11.30am, and they showed us to the room, provided us with ironing board as we needed to get ready to g o out. The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly, I loved the slightly informal air of it. I have managed customer service and corporate reception teams and found they did provide a great service across the board. The place is as lovely as the pictures,quirky, charming and every little detail is thought of in the rooms. The bed was very comfy; I have a fussy partner who often has trouble sleeping on other mattresses but this one was, in the words of Goldilocks, just right. Not only did it look inviting but the bedding and sheets themsleves were of high quality, there wasn't a pillow option which was a shame but I didn't ask in advance as I usually do for non feather so my fault. The mini bar is filled with cute inviting treats, it is steep in price but that's to be expected in a hotel of this standard. Coffee making facilities in the room were much appreciated with the always reliable Nespresso machines. The toiletries were very fitting to the whole feel, and the views from our window gave us the pigs and chickens so we soaked up the whole atmosphere. We were near the rail tracks that some visitors spoke of but I personally didn't find they intruded that much as it didn't seem to very busy line and wasn't earth shattering in sound when trains did pass. We ate in twice, the food we had was amazingly delicious, lots of non pretentious tasty options and they fill the plates high here. Service was attentive but not over the top by the young team who were personable and great fun.
Breakfast was yummy when we made it in time, the service was slower and not as accurate here, maybe to reflect the laid back nature of a break away but we were disappointed the way the menu was split for food options in price which was a shame as everything else there genrally does seem pitched right. We couldn't get Wifi in our room, we didnt really mind as its a break away but it was fine in the Hotel itself and they advised it should work, the evening staff did move the signal box to try to get it to our room but it was intermittent.
They booked us a spa day at the Limewood and at £40 per person was well worth it, shame we could only book on the day itself but even then both places were easy going in getting this sorted, and even managed to book in a personal trainer session for my partner, whilst I enjoyed the mid week quietness of the place to relax in and by the gorgeous pools. Limewood looked very posh so maybe if we strike it rich we would go there but The Pig isn't shabby at all compared to it.
Overall we would definitely go back, it's a stunning location nestled right in the Forest, gorgeous house, the decor is right up our street,the staff made us feel welcome and the room facilities lived up to our expectations. A few tiny changes, small things so nothing major,and it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Request a room in the stable yard for a quieter break Use the Hotel lounge if you need to go onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have wanted to visit The Pig for a long time having read so many newspaper articles raving about it, but have to admit I was a little disappointed. We stayed for one night and here are the things they don't tell you. The first impression was lovely, beautiful long drive through the New Forest, warm welcome, log fires, comfy leather chairs in various lounges, a lovely ambience. Our room, at a cost of £199 room only, was a short distance away from the hotel surrounding a small courtyard. "Shabby chic" in the room means a wooden floor with the possibility of nasty splinters, remember your slippers, there are none provided! Rotten boards which were unstable in the bathroom were concealed with a rug. If, as we do, you like to sleep with a window open, the main high speed railway line is at the bottom of the field and you hear the trains all night. Bed and linen were very nice and comfy, but it was impossible to get cold water from the tap during the night, even after running for 10 minutes, it still ran boiling hot through the cold tap. We did report this. There was the most ghastly smell of sewage outside the room. We noticed a digger in the vicinity, so imagine they had major problems ,it was not animal waste as there were only three small pet pigs on the property, well away from the area that was being dug up. If this persisted in the summer months, it would have made it impossible to make use of the small seating area outside the room, which I was told when I booked, was why the room was in the more expensive category.
The food and service was the main disappointment. When we arrived we were proudly told that they had just won Restaurant of the Year. Quite honestly I am amazed. One of our party had to send their main course back as it was stone cold, another ordered a Bath Chap which had absolutely no meat on it at all, it was just solid fat, the third member of the party was unable to eat her pollock dish as it was so salty, as were the extra greens, which were also sent back. The service was diabolical, we were drinking an aperitif and olives and the waiter came to our table and proceeded to serve us coffee until we pointed out that we had only just arrived! After that, whilst eating our first course another waitress proceeded to put veg dishes down on the table, until we pointed out that we had not yet received our mains. I do expect better service from an establishment that charges in excess of £300 for a dinner for four, why were they not properly trained? The maitre d' finally appeared after we had made a complain,t but he was not in evidence during the service. Breakfast was a better affair, very nice in fact with a good selection of fruits, wholegrains and bread, but they charge £10 or £15 if you want cooked. I am sad that The Pig did not live up to the hype and will not go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ABPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I LOVE this hotel. We stayed here for a weekend a year ago and this time stayed at The Pig In The Wall in Southampton because The Pig In The Forest was booked We had the shuttle (Chaufered Land Rover) service to TPITF for dinner. Fantastic food, locally sourced and and I love the roaring fires and seriously relaxed ambience. I used to be in hotel design and the attention to detail here is incredible. (Love the plants in terracotta pots on the tables, good lighting, and lots of candles). Had time for a forest and coastal walk, both stunning.
Looking forward to their new creation on the Dorset coast next year.

Room Tip: The Pig In The Wall where we stayed is in Southampton centre, so surrounded by big buildings so woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen_murdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,951 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,798 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $207 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing