We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the New Forest”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went here for my birthday - based on a recent magazine article - and were not disappointed. Beautiful house in stunning grounds. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and approachable. Our room (No. 6) was very comfortable, well appointed and had a lovely view of the front lawn and a huge pig sculpture. The food in the restaurant for dinner was absolutely excellent, and the wine and dessert wine were excellent - a very extensive list! The bar was warm and cosy for having a nice pre-dinner drink in relaxed surroundings. We had coffee after dinner in the lovely library room at a very leisurely pace. Dinner was unhurried, however staff in restaurant were overly attentive and this was detraction from the experience. The only other criticism was that the whole house especially the bedroom was rather overheated and made it difficult to get indecent nights sleep - also our room was clearly over one of the main downstairs room and I was kept awake from early morning buy noise of moving chairs etc about.

We did not manage to try breakfast as we were still full up from the meal the evening before! But menu did look extensive and had something to suit every palette and taste.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louandadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
There are newer reviews for The Pig
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

It has changed a LOT since we last visited with a new bar room and a huge extension to the dining room and it is almost impossible to get a room for one night let alone two. But we enjoyed the food and the room and the service and the food was amazing - especially the fig and cream cheese ice cream. Our room was lovely except for a few cobwebs behind the big lamp in the corner (room 15) and that's a observation not a complaint. The shower was great but the bed was uncomfortable and the room was clean and well thought out but a bit creeky. We had invited some friends to join us there for dinner and they enjoyed it very much. There was plenty of room to sit around after our meal and catch up. Breakfast was very good too. We will definately come back and do it all again and would recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had stayed at the old hotel Le Poussin at Whitley several times and it was one of my favourite places to stay and dine. We couldn't get a room this time so stayed elsewhere but booked
dinner. It has lost its old world charm and friendly atmosphere and now feels like a busy London brassierre. Food was ok. Service excellent. This group have now taken over another of my favourite places to stay the Manor Hotel at Studland. This needs a refurb but I hope they don't lose the atmosphere here too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Delicious lunch with easy going and relaxed atmosphere.
Restaurant very busy but kindly accomodated us at short notice.
Unfortuantaly one female staff member overly keen to move plates and glasses so lunch appeared some what hurried at times.Other staff extremely friendly and accomodating.
We will be back with a larger group soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HARDY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent a memorable long weekend there with family (aged 1 - 70) to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. Great surroundings and fabulous food. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were always around when you needed anything. Very buzzy but relaxing in front of the log fires (both inside and out, in the courtyard). They cater well for children who were genuinely welcome. The bedrooms were immaculate and I loved the dining room and bar. I even found myself drinking cocktails much to my family's surprise! It is very popular for lunch and evening dining which can lead to an overlap of guests and shortage of seating in drawing room/library/bar area during the mid afternoon for a short time. The continental breakfast is excellent value. One small quibble is them adding a gratuity automatically to the dining/bar bills even to guests staying there.

Room Tip: If you choose a bedroom away from the main building you may notice the smell from the sewage system...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olgaworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is special, we spent a weekend celebrating our birthdays. Fantastic service, great food and our room the en house was wonderful. Split level with roll top bath and log fire! Go and enjoy this amazing hotel

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MR1979_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Four of us went to the Pig for dinner last night, having already promised myself that I would not return after several poor experiences I thought I would give it one last chance. Frankly, I should not have bothered;
• Poor and indifferent service, being hurried to have our order taken when we were trying to enjoy a conversation with friends. Don’t bother trying to place your order in the Bar that is not the way they like to do it as I was informed on a previous visit.
• No evidence of anyone being in charge of the “jeans and sneaker” wearing team who look and act like they are on the “catwalk”.
• Perhaps their refrigeration equipment had malfunctioned as none of our bottles of wine, water or beers were anything like cold enough. We were given an apology for this! It’s mildly ironic that they can present you with a frozen glass for beer but not a cold beer! This is totally summed up by the well-worn phrase being applied to this establishment “Style Over Substance”.
• The food is fine – but does not represent good value for money, certainly nothing to complain about in terms of quality but served in a highly amateurish way by inexperienced waiting staff who are not confident about presenting what they have on the plates and being a million miles away from knowing “who ordered what” – remember we were a table of 4!
Why is it so busy – every time I have been it reminds me of a book I loved as a child “The Emperor’s New Clothes”.
To be fair they have created a beautiful atmosphere in terms of the spaces, lighting, decoration, music etc. and the location is lovely, however, they seriously need to address the very real and fundamental service issues and raise the quality of the food offering or lower their prices.
Well the Emperor nearly got away with it – didn’t he? Stop voting with your wallets and vote with your feet – I will not be returning to be disappointed once again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank Saab L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,740 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $199 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing