We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in a beautiful location”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in a beautiful location”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

As you drive in and the hotel appears behind a cricket pitch the building looks impressive and luxiourious.
The decor is beautiful and each room is individual, you can actually view every room on the website and request a specific room before you stay. We did not request but got the room we wanted :-) number 56, 2 double beds and a sofa bed.
The room was decorated beautifully and was spotless, the only downside was the water pressure in the shower was really low.
The room came with a huge TV and integrated DVD player, a really nice touch,
The gym was a bit crowed with equipment and looked a little dated but was functional which was nice. The jacuzzi and pool were both warm and inviting, but the sauna was so hot I burnt my leg on the wood as I sat down,
We did not order fro the restaurant as we went out for dinner but afternoon tea was great with a good selection of cakes.
The staff were all really warm and friendly especially Laura on the bar.
All in all we had a really great stay and I would love to go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brinbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed all our facilities. It is also good to see that customer start taking note about our honesty when it comes to room bookings as you can look at pictures of the rooms you want to stay in. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about service especially in our lounge/bar. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    418
    133
    84
    49
See reviews for
378
784
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We only stayed one night, but we had a very relaxing stay, no complaints whatsoever. The food (lunch, dinner and breakfast) was delicious. Great location for walking in the New Forest too and close to Brockenhurst (although not a pleasent walk).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoolsReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that you had a relaxing but short time with Balmer Lawn Hotel. Many thanks for your complimentary comments about our great food. Next time you stay with us try some other walks, we have a few to recommend at reception. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife, 7 month old daughter and I spent 2 wonderful nights at the Balmer Lawn hotel. The staff were ever so helpful and friendly. The food in both the restaurant and the lounge bar was brilliant and boasted a great choice. My wife had a treatment in the spa and rated it highly. We all enjoyed the swimming pool. The room was modern, clean and large enough to fit a travel cot in beside the bed. All in all, it was a lovely few days away made extra special by this great hotel and its staff.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunwin1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our hospitality so much. Many thanks also for your great appreciation of our staff. They do work hard to make everybody very welcome. Thank also for your complimentary comments about our good food and all the great hotel facilities you used. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Clearly a talented brigade who also appreciate local produce and support things like the Hampshire Life Food & Drink Awards. I had a recently decorated room that was very comfortable. The views and direct access to The New Forest are such a treat. Briefly met the owners - you can see that they have great charm and personal style and a drive to consistently invest in developing and improving the guest experience. Just one example of this is the luxurious new spa area with pool, tub, gym etc etc

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneJHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your resent stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely time and enjoyed the local food during. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about newly created spa facility. It is always nice to get such great feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We arrived on Wednesday and stayed until Saturday at this hotel. On arrival we were greeted by a very efficient receptionist, and were quickly registered and given our key. Our room was a good size and very well appointed. It was very clean and comfortable. We ate in the lounge two evenings and the food was very good. The barman Adam was very nice and always found time to speak to us each evening while we were there. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of hot food or a continental buffet. The hotel is well situated to access the New Forest, and we were able to enjoy the scenery without travelling too far. I enjoyed using the swimming pool at the hotel, and found it clean and well maintained. All in all we had a very relaxing stay and look forward to returning in the future

Room Tip: We had a side room on the first floor and found it to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed the food and service as well as all our facilities. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our great staff, which we value greatly. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My family and I organised a surprise Afternoon Tea party for my wife's 70th birthday at Balmer Lawn Hotel on Easter Sunday. What a magnificent occasion for the 20 or so of us who came along!

The recently appointed Events Manager and his helpers were of course privy to the need for 'secrecy and subterfuge' in the pre-event arrangements and they could not have been more helpful in their response to our many requests and suggestions for this Special Afternoon in the hotel's Savernake Room

I can thoroughly recommend Balmer Lawn for their Afternoon Teas and for their meticulous attention to the detail of the occasion. Full marks to all concerned, and not least to the pastry chef for his specially commissioned birthday cake.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that we had the service experience as well as the quality of the food just right for your function and you and your family enjoyed your time at the hotel so much. Many thanks for the complimentary comments about our great pastry chef, he is an asset we would not want to miss. I hope we can be of help in the future for any similar events and have the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Have stayed at the hotel once before but decided to bring children with us for this visit. I queried the rates by phone as on the website they were a bit ambiguous, and was offered the lower rate. Splashed out on adjoining rooms 32 and 33 children, we had a four poster and children bunk beds, both rooms en-suite and over looking the cricket pitch at the front of the hotel.

The rooms were spacious and well stocked with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/bottled water and lovely toiletries. Beds very comfortable, with writing table in both and extra chairs in main room. A little old fashioned in decor but this adds to the ambience.

Hotel has great leisure facilities including two pools (one outdoor - although a little chilly!), sauna, jacuzzi, gym and tennis/squash/table tennis courts. We hired bikes and a trailer for younger child and managed to get lost in the forest - hotel very understanding when we were over an hour late back as a result!

New addition to the hotel is the spa - quite small and offers basic treatments, however very professional and relaxing, perfect treat! They were also very flexible with my booking when I was late due to getting lost in the forest!

Ate in the restaurant on both evenings, lovely and fantastically prepared meals but given that we were with children i would have preferred being signposted to the lounge area that had a simpler (and slightly cheaper) menu. Be aware that the bottled water is not cheap at £3.50 a bottle! Ask for tap water instead. Slightly disappointed that there was no variation of the menu over the two evenings (contrary to website), however the lamb and steak are highly recommended! Breakfast was varied with everything from toast to full cooked English. hot food was available from the buffet or could be order from the breakfast menu - they do an amazing porridge with honeycomb.

The staff were very attentive and polite, my only criticism is that some of the waiting staff sometimes got a little confused with orders which then required correction, that said, was done with apologies and prompt retification.

Hotel has adequate parking although we travelled by train to Brockenhurst which is approximately 10/15 minutes walk away or a short taxi ride.

Recommend this hotel for a lovely stay in the New Forest. It provides plenty do too whether you stay in the immediate surroundings or explore the locality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the front or side of hotel in order to look out over the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience at the Balmer Lawn Hotel while on your short family holiday. I am delighted to hear that you felt everything was right for you and your family and you had a relaxing time. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all our food offerings as well as the facilities we have to offer. Many thanks especially for the complimentary comments about our staff and the service we give. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,720 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
361 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#5 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing