We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel... and especially lovely staff”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here on Valentine's weekend, and had a complimentary upgrade, the hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic setting.
What really made it for us though - we were unlucky enough to have an incident with a flood, near the hotel, two hours waist deep in water pushing our now ruined car out - and I must say the staff were so charming, helpful and most of all sympathetic! Didn't bat an eyelid when we had to leave the car there after we left, and so on.
Even after a small question about our bill (overcharged us for some drinks or something) they were extremely helpful/
What we saw of Brockenhurst and the New Forest is beautiful too,
Definitely be returning - in drier weather!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaramaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. Sorry to hear about your car troubles but I am glad that we could be of service to ease the pain a little bit. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel as far as you could and also complimentary commented on our ever so helpful staff. I look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just got home after a house hunting trip,and stayed two nights at The Balmer Lawn Hotel.

From the minute we arrived at reception,we were treated with kind and attentive service.The hotel is gorgeous,clean,comfortable and perfectly situated in the heart of The New Forest.

Our room was lovely,super views over the gardens.Bathroom was well stocked with fluffy towels and great smelling soaps and lotions and potions.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night.The food was amazing,breakfast the next morning was superb,a light supper in the bar was delicious.

So,back home,having brought home some extra kilos,but many happy memories,many thanks.



Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Loustheplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you had such an amazing experience at Balmer Lawn Hotel and you enjoyed all the great facilities we can offer. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our good food. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Friendliest staff of any hotel I've been to in the UK. Also fantastic veggie main meal.
Location is superb for walks, cycling, pubs and train.
The food was a reasonable price and the wine list very good.

Very comfy room and clean bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrotomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our home made food, especially our Sunday lunch. Many thanks for the complimentary comments about our fantastic staff, which made your service experience so memorable. We look forward to seeing back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a sunday carvery first, which was totally delicious and big portions. The waitress and head receptionist were so attentive and polite. The jazz band helped it go down very well. Then we stayed over for the night. The room was clean and warm. We needed two champagne glasses and when asked the staff were brilliant and sorted it out straight away. We enjoyed the leisure facilities which comes with a stay over. The pool was warm and the sauna amazing. The changing rooms were clean and showers hot.

Another lamp on the bedside table of room 51 would be great.

Weve been to several hotels in the area for dinner.....no comments...just to say we have finally found our favourite and will be back for sure : ))

Room Tip: just check the view is what you would like. Staff are always happy to offer a room to suit if they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzlar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay and Sunday lunch at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed all of our facilities. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our home made food and especially about our fantastic staff, which are certainly a great asset to the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We've been several times from one night to a week and have never been disappointed. Very clean, great facilities and the restaurant food is fantastic. The staff are lovely and the spa treatments great

Room Tip: You can choose your room before you book, but every room we have stayed in have been to the same hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sand2098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that service experience as well as all of our facilities are very well received by you and you enjoy your return visits every time again. We look forward to seeing you many more times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I have just had an overnight stay at the Balmer Lawn, first time we have stayed but certainly won't be the last. Having stayed in some of the top hotels in London previously we were presently surprised by this hotel. Our double room was spacious and extremely clean. From the moment we arrived the staff were not only polite and friendly but couldn't have been more helpful. The food was superb and probably the best breakfast I have had in a long time. Considering this hotel is almost on our doorstep it is a hidden gem and we are already looking at when we can book to stay again either for a romantic break or for all the family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed our great facilities. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our staff and the good home cooked food including the superb breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Booked a two night stay for my partners birthday,booked the winter warmer bliss package.we also included meals ie dinner which gave us £30 allowance per person each night to chose from the evening menu.also a 1 hour treatment from the spa was included so we both went for the aromatherapy massage.upon arrival we were greeted by Sofia on reception who immediately made us most welcome,first impressions count and she made sure of that.after checking in we went to the room and wow,how nice it was,modern and well presented,the bed was huge!!! another thing that was included was afternoon tea which we enjoyed down stairs,our host was a gentleman who's name I cannot remember he was also the maitre d' for the restaurant on both evenings.again very polite,service with a smile and made us very welcome. The food was amazing,breakfast great chose's and delicious,dinner was fantastic on both nights,certainly tell things are home made and fresh.
This was our first visit to the Balmer Lawn and we will certainly come back again,it's so nice to find the perfect relaxing getaway and this was surely it.

Room Tip: check the hotels web site where you find/chose your own room by browsing the floor plan of hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdm113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your visit to the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time at the hotel and you loved all of our facilities especially our new Spa. Your comments about the room you stayed in as well as our lovely homemade food are very much appreciated. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our customer service and for mentioning some of our great staff. They certainly work very hard to make every customer welcome and are a big asset. I am delighted to hear that you felt everything was perfect for you and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,782 reviews
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
407 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#5 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $129 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing