We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great service, nice room, good breakfast, average property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balmer Lawn to your Saves list
Balmer Lawn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great service, nice room, good breakfast, average property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There wasn't anything negative with our one-night stay at Balmer Lawn. The service was exceptional and the food was very good, especially breakfast. Our room (No. 7) was large, helped by a bay window (not all rooms have one) and very clean. The indoor pool area was very nice and great for our toddler daughter. My only reservation with giving Balmer Lawn an "excellent" rating was the price of the stay. I have stayed at a much nicer properties with more amenities for less, so the overall value is only on the average side.

Room Tip: Room 7 is one of the cheaper four-poster bedrooms, but has a bay window for extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravellerfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You should now be entered onto our mailing list so will receive the benefit of more competitive rates in the future should you wish to return.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    352
    109
    71
    46
See reviews for
290
641
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Balmer Lawn as a birthday treat and it was lovely. The hotel had upgraded us to a suite (room 27) which was wonderful, clean, spacious and a fantastic view of the forest. We enjoyed a great breakfast on both mornings and dinner on the Sunday evening which was excellent although the restaurant was a little quiet. The swimming pool was lovely, small but warm and clean. We also enjoyed a lovely cream tea in the lounge on Sunday afternoon which was delicious and good value. All in all a very successful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bejenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We love it here. The location is wonderful, the hotel well equipped and the rooms delightful but what we really come back for are the staff and this stay made no exception. We took our young daughter and were made to feel really at ease despite her being on the constant go at all times. From the start at check in Lucy in reception was warm and friendly and could not do more, Will on the bar provided us with colouring pencils for our baby to play with and was really accommodating and Milan who seems to be an all rounder maintenance man and waiter was professional and friendly. Thank you Balmer Lawn for another fabulous stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattigj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that my team were so helpful, I have already thanked Lucy, Will and Milan!

I do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Room was modern and clearly redecorated recently. Hotel itself has evidently been revamped, and to that end was comfortable with a good lounge area with nice open fires, with good leisure facilities.
Whilst we had an adequate stay (2 nights in February 2013), we felt strongly that the organisation, or rather lack thereof, let the hotel down.

We had to ring reception 4 times ahead of our stay to make sure we were booked into the correct room for the price we had paid (the voucher we used, caused much confusion - which could have been totally prevented had the hotel kept records of the voucher numbers and prices paid...). Once there, our room service breakfast was late and the poor lads bringing it up could definitely have benefitted with a trolley to leave at the door, to save their blushes with the pair of them traipsing through our room with my wife still in bed :)

Dinner in the main restaurant was good, and the fish was excellently cooked. But again, general service let the place down. We waited over half an hour for a plate of cheese and biscuits in the bar later on, and on another occasion waited about 20 minutes for a pot of tea.

So in summary, a good hotel with excellent views and facilities. The food, when it comes, is good, but the whole place seemed a little disorganised. If it were a person you'd call it talented but scatty...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CantankerousDrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. As you will see from other reviews on Tripadvisor, service is something that we usually are very good at, my apologies that we didn't 'get it right' during your stay.

I do hope that you will consider giving us another try in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were on the first floor, in an absolutely brilliant room! Number 3! It was spacious, tidy, modern but maybe not such a brilliant view compared to the other rooms! Would highly recommend the higher quality rooms! So worth the money!!!
The food was brilliant, we ate at prezzos in lying ton the first night however just to explore the area. The Sunday roast the next day was super! We also had breakfasting bed (room service) which was lovely!!!
The staff were polite and informative! Offered many different services such as paper in the morning etc, it was lovely to start to recognise staff members through out our stay, it felt much more personal and as if they were there to help us at any time- nothing was ever too much hassle.
The service was fantaasssticccc felt so cared for! Should be a 5* hotel!!!
Take a swimming costume and your wellies!
No complaints what so ever, just a brilliant hotel through and through! Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, but the are lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMummy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked direct with the hotel (taking advantage of one of their offers) & stayed for my birthday. This is the 3rd time we have stayed & as always the staff are simply wonderful, so helpful, so polite, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has, I think, the best location in the New Forest, fantastic walks direct from the hotel, cycle hire can be arranged by the hotel. We raised a couple of issues whilst we were there & the staff immediatley resolved them for us. Food & wine excellent. We always have a wonderful time when we visit Balmer Lawn & we intend to continue visiting, I always leave feeling very special.

Room Tip: do not book room 49, lovely decor & fantastic view of the cricket ground but a very very small b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for takling the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 3rd visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent 3 days at this picturesque hotel, and it just goes to show that you do not always need to leave the country to relax. I found my room very nice and liked the modern decor, even though it was cold and wet weather the hotel was warm and friendly. I attended as part of a group dealing with loss of loved ones and the training room was spacious and clean. I liked the informal lounges with open fires and the walk into the village was easy to do. I am looking for forward to returning in April on the follow up day and would be happy to pay for an overnight stay...many thanks to the staff who found no request to hard during the meal times and took on board my allergies by providing alternatives ie Gluten Free Bread, being aware of my Nut allergies and so on. I was not made to feel like a burden. For such an emotional time this hotel in my opinion was ideal and best suited for the purpose

Room Tip: Forest views are breath taking, I had room on 3rd floor (no 43)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristyErdington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am pleased to hear that we managed to make an emotional time that little bit easier for you and I hope we can do the same when we see you again in April.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com and Odigeo so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing