We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch & a superb one at that !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lunch & a superb one at that !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a party of 10 for a luncheon in 2012 here at the Balmer Lawn, & I have to say it was one of the best experiences of a large luncheon we have come across.

The service was 1st class, along with the Jazz band playing that added a touch of class to the whole occasion.

The food was warm/delicious and on time.... Cutlery/crockery very clean & if you like bread & butter pudding, then this place serves the best in the country as far as I am concerned !

Well done and first class.... Well worth the money and most definately a 4 star standard in the Restaurant side of things.

I would say our only gripe! was there were children on the table behind us that were slightly unruly !! And I say unruly in the sense they were allowed to wander onto our table and watch us eat and play with the curtains/drapes beside our table which was a little offputting..... Yes that is the parents responsibility to keep 'kids' in check, however, maybe the staff or 'maitre di', could be managed in how to approach and talk to the parents/guardians of children who might be 'annoying' to other guests..... Especially as this is a 4 star establishment and it could let itself down if this is allowed to continue too much in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent lunch with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your lunch. Please accept my apologies with regards to the unruly children. You're right, a Manager should have spoken with the parents, but as you can imagine, this is sometimes easier said than done!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    406
    125
    84
    48
See reviews for
350
760
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

t was the warmth and efficiency of the staff that sets this hotel above many others. They were superb and nothing was too much trouble. Couple with excellent food, comfortable room and plenty of lounge areas, and a bar man with a sense of humour at 3am made a fantastic break. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryKemp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time with us over the New Year, and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

As a party of 6 adults, we were looking for an hotel for a New Year Break.
We'd been let down / ignored by a couple of other hotels who couldn't deal with our request for an accessible bathroom for one of our group who has mobility issues. Having driven past the hotel many times as a child holidaying in the area, I thought I'd give it a try.
I'm so glad I did.
From our request for an accessible bathroom to checking in & checking out again everything was dealt with smoothly & efficiently.
All 3 rooms were clean & comfortable. Our room was towards the rear of the hotel on the 3rd floor & was fab. Nicely decorated, wardrobes tall enough to accommodate a long dress, plenty of drawer space & a light over the dressing table (other hotels, please note, it's not the same putting your make-up on in the bathroom), bright bathroom with a hot, decent powered shower.
Even though we arrived before the official check-in time the receptionist did call housekeeping to see if our room was ready. As it wasn't quite finished, we were invited to 'make yourselves comfortable' in the lounge until it was (only about 20 minutes) & were offered assistance with our luggage.
Our dinner reservation was confirmed & we were given details of the New Year Festivities for the following day.
Our evening meal was very nice, only slightly marred by the fact that the restaurant ran out of steaks, which left one member of our party disappointed. Food was hot, well cooked & delicious. (as a DBB resident we had a £30 pp allowance for dinner which every one was conscious of, although it wasn't an issue, I personally prefer a menu with premium items (e.g. scallops, lobser, steak, cheese board) at a supplement).
The lounge area was busy after dinner (as it's so nice to sit in a comfy chair with a nightcap, in front of the fire), but there are additional chairs dotted around that the staff are only to willing to move around for you.
We used the pool & jacuzzi & would have stayed longer but for the kiddies playing in the pool, but a pleasant interlude.

The New Year Function was billed as a Masquerade Ball & most guests arrived for the champagne & canape reception in the main lounge masked & dressed up to the nines. Staff also entered into the spirit & all wore masks too.
The meal & evening entertainment was held in the Conference suite, down a winding corridor from the main hotel which mean that any noise was kept away from rooms, if people wished to go to bed before the event finshed. The 6 course banquet was lovely, efficiently served & cleared, with plenty of staff around to pour wine, water etc. One of our party has a nut allergy & this was dealt with effortlessly & without a palaver, unlike other places we've been to. The beef course was really good, compliments to the chef.
We all liked the fact that the disco was in a separate room, which meant that those who didn't wish to dance could still hold a conversation at a sensible volume. The fun casino was an interesting addition to the event - even better that we won the prize for the biggest 'pot' at the end of the evening.
Breakfast on New Year's day was later 10am to mid-day (so everyone got a bit of a lie-in) & relaxed. Buffet-style full English or Continental, with a selection of cooked to order items available too.
All staff we came across during our stay were charming, friendly, polite & helpful, they make the hotel what it is.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will certainly consider coming back for next New Year, if not before.

Room Tip: if you can, use the hotel's room chooser on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your stay with us over the New Year festivities.

I am delighted to hear that you all had such a good time, and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, and maybe for next New Year!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at the Balmer Lawn with two children on 19th December 2012. Fantastic all round and ideal for children. What sets this hotel apart is the staff ,they are very friendly and efficient. A perfect place to stay with the kids and an ideal location to Peppa Pig world.

Room Tip: Room 8 is good if traveling with Kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I'm delighted to hear that you found us to be a good family friendly hotel as this is something that we strive to be.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I took my Granny away for a night using one of the deals sent to me by email. My grandmother wasn't hugely impressed with our room, but the reception staff were utterly wonderful. We were upgraded to a great American twin room and were treated really well. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant and felt so relaxed, the pool area was gorgeous. Thank you for an amazing little break before Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great to hear that your problem with your room was dealt with so efficiently and yo ucould continue to enjoy your night with us.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had yet another superb stay at Balmer Lawn. We checked in late at night on this occasion due to seeing a show in Southampton first and nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted at the door, the paperwork was ready waiting for us and they even kept the bar open for us. We have tried most other hotels in the area over the years and this one stands head and shoulders above the rest. There are always staff on hand to assist with anything you need and you feel valued as a guest. The leisure facilities are excellent with a range of activities such as Squash and Tennis that you do not normally find in hotels.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been recently refurbished - the option of 'Forest View'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am really delighted to hear that you find us to be one of the best hotels in the area, and that you are made to feel valued as a guest. This is something that we really strive to achieve and it is great to hear that we've got it right!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I recently attended my annual Christmas party at the Balmer Lawn. Check in was very easy and I was assigned room 6 on the first floor. The room was very spacious, clean and had great facilities. The food during the party was excellent and all the staff were very helpful and attentive. Special mention goes to Daniel who went above and beyond his duty to help out on any queries we had.

I would recommend this hotel as a get away for people visting the New Forest as it's a beautiful hotel set in wonderful grounds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing