We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Nice stay, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our initial room was very modern but had a snag in the bathroom. As it was not fixable on a Sunday we were moved to a larger four poster room but as that turned out not to be ready we were moved again to a similar modern room on the top floor. Glad actually, the 4 poster was located above the dining area where they had some live music that Sunday evening and that was pretty audible in that room. The top floor room was nice and relative quiet, small bathroom but all is pretty new and the bed very comfy. The personnel is mostly east european but there english was pretty good and contrary to experiences in the past they were all very friendly all the way and correct, very positive. Breakfast, better as many similar hotels, good selection, fresh, well presented. Why not 5 star, well, there is simply something not 100%. Yes the rooms are modern and tasteful but the bathroom is small, the bathtub is small, smaller all as you would expect for such a level hotel. Internet connection was poor in our room and partially simply not operational, that should not be an issue anymore this day and age. I would though fully recommend this hotel if you need to stay in the area, very strategical for New Forrest explorations.

Room Tip: Don't stay above the dining area or bar. Standard room is pefectly fine, the further away from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

Please accept my apologies for the few problems that you had with getting allocated a working bedroom / bathroom. I'm pleased to hear that you liked our newly refurbished top floor bedrooms. The Balmer Lawn is a traditional country house, and with this in mind, all our rooms are different shapes and sizes. Some do have slightly smaller bathrooms, but should you wish to stay again in a similar bedroom, you can book via our "Look Before You Book" facility and actually specify which room you would like and can therefore pick a bedroom with a bigger bath.

I do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    407
    125
    84
    48
See reviews for
353
762
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel with my dog once or twice a year to boost my spirits and to give myself a treat. I am always made to feel just as welcome with my dog as if it was just me,
(some other hotels behave like they are doing you a favour when they accept dogs). The setting is perfect for dog owners with a walk in the woods almost on the doorstep. The breakfasts are just brilliant. The taste of the giant mushrooms,tomatoes and bacon is fantastic! Although you can't take dogs into the restaurant the hotel will put a table for dog owners to have meals in the lounge (with their dog) if you ask them. I can't wait for my next visit

Room Tip: Those who like an early night or a quiet setting , a room at the side of the hotel is better in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that both you, and your dog, enjoy your time spent with us. As a classical country house hotel it is lovely to have four legged friends in residence too, and they all love the direct forest access (and all the lovely doggy smells of the local wildlife that go with it!)

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to the hotel in the near future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing weekend at Balmer Lawn. We usually visit the New Forest around this time of year for a short break and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's in a great location, right in the forest where you can see many ponies wandering around most of the day. Our room was a forest view right on the front of the hotel, it was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was a great sixe too although the bath was a little creeky with a few loose tiles, but really nothing major to put us off, there were also some lovely toiletries on offer. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening where we had steak and chips, a glass of Prosecco and a cheese board to share in the lounge afterwards. The food was very good, and the staff were very attentive, although it is quite pricey but worth it for a treat. We will be returning to this hotel again as we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciderspider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great to hear that the hotel was a 'pleasant surprise' for you. We are spoilt with our location and views, especially at this beautiful time of year with all the trees changing colour.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having just read a review from someone staying at the hotel recently and complaining about the swimming lessons, I felt I must write and make things clear. We have been members of the Balmer Lawn for years and always find the staff very friendly and helpful. We also use the pool for swimming lessons for our four year old, and whilst this may be a pain for this particular guest who seemed to complain about most aspects of the hotel, we find that the swimming teachers do try and keep to one side of the pool if other guests are using it. If there are swimming lessons booked, then it is probably best to use the pool outside of these times (approx a two hour window) on particular days. There is a sign on the reception desk making you aware that this the case when you check in.

The hotel itself is in great repair, it is a country hotel so what this guest saw as shabby, is country chic ! Maybe the person concerned would be better off staying at a Travelodge with its wipe clean surfaces.

The lounge in the hotel is wonderful to sit and read the paper with a coffee, a cream tea ,or order a full meal., catering well for children's needs too. The food is always exquisite and the service impeccable. The location speaks for itself although we find tourists get a little too close to the ponies with their children which is insane and also try and feed them, which they are told not to do.

In the summer, the outside pool is delightful and it is highly recommended to sit on a lounger by the pool and order a drink or food and enjoy your surroundings. The sports facilities are also excellent, tennis, racquet ball etc.... there is something for everyone at this beautiful Forest hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beentherehampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a supportive review on the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that we are 'getting it right' in the eyes of a regular visitor to the hotel, that is praise indeed!

Thank you.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My daughter and I have stayed at Balmer Lawn five times now. The setting is gorgeous, with lovely scenery and ponies in abundance. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the rooms we have stayed in have always been clean and well appointed, with stunning views over the forest. The indoor pool is small, but the water is always beautifully warm, with the added bonus of a jacuzzi and sauna mto sooth aching muscles after a hard days walking and riding. Breakfast is absolutely delicious, with everything you could ask for and we have always enjoyed our evening meals in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that both you and your daughter enjoyed your 5th stay with us and we look forward to hopefully having the chance of welcoming you back for a 6th stay in the future!

K Birrell - General Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of the New Forest and made a beatiful location for an Autumn weekend break. The staff are attentive, welcoming and helpful. They assisted us with bike hire and maps. We had a lovely room with an extra smaller sitting room complete with TV and gaming equipment. The evening meal was good and the breakfast offered good choice, but would have been better if they served the cooked breakfast at your table, rather than self- service. The facilities are good with an indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi along with a very comfy lounge and bar area. We will definitely be making a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the New Forest in all it's autumn glory!

We only run a buffet style breakfast during busy times to ensure all our guests get quick service. However, if you would prefer your food cooked to order, and are prepared to wait a few extra minutes, then this can always be arranged if you ask a member of staff.

I do hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location walking distance to pubs and restaurants but close to busy road which is noisy if you are on that side of the hotel.

Our kids twin room round the back was lovely our more expensive 4 poster was shabby and very hot the only way to regulate this was by leaving the balcony doors open which was very noisy.

We were greeted by two very dizzy receptionists. The first was unable to check us into both our rooms until my husband arrived, when pushed he called his colleague over whose opening words were 'I'll have to be quick as my mum is waiting for me' great welcome!! After a quick whip through her list of newspaper/dinner reservation we were given our two keys. No idea where to go, was there a lift? Where is the pool? What time is breakfast etc etc.

We had booked balmer lawn for its location which is great but also as it has a pool, we seldom swim at home so this is a treat. We found our rooms dumped our luggage then headed to the pool. It is quite small and an odd triangular shape which makes it hard to swim lengths. All this would not have mattered if the pool room was not full of mothers and children and the pool full of children having swimming lessons! The teacher obviously felt she had priority over hotel guests and made no effort to keep the children out of our way. We hoped they would finish and go but more trooped in so now the pool is full and changing rooms too. We did manage to get out and changed but lessons continued from 4 to 7!!!

A sign we later spotted on the reception desk said no lessons in the afternoon of the following day. Oh good we thought, but no they were all back again the following day.

I choose this hotel my husband had wanted to go elsewhere. It is lovely to have the horses right outside and be able to go out to eat (didn't like the hotel menu) on foot. But the hotel is shabby paintwork rotten and peeling. Foreign staff helpful. Overall it was disappointing we paid over £500 for two night b&b for two rooms. They seem more interested in making a few pounds in swimming lessons than ensuring the hotel guests have an enjoyable stay.

We visit the area every year but will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lml67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I was very disappointed to read your review with regards to your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

My apologies that your 4 poster room wasn't up to your expectations. We do have an innovative new booking facility called 'Look before you Book' where you can actually book a specific room of your choice. The Balmer Lawn boasts a wide selection of bedrooms, both in size and decor, to suit all tastes and budgets. We have recently put the heating on as some nights can be quite cold, but we have also had some very mild nights. My apologies that you found your room too hot. Had you brought this to our attention then we could have turned your radiators off.

I am very sorry that you found the check in process to be so poor. Having since spoken to the female receptionist on duty she is horrified that she came across this way as this really wasn't her intention. She often gets guest comments on how helpful and pleasant she is. I am sorry that you found her to be otherwise.

Again, my apologies with regards to the poor communication over the swimming lessons. All local hotels with such facilities offer private leisure membership to locals as this is an important revenue stream to help finance such expensive facilities. We only offer the use of our pool for lessons on weekdays at non peak times when the pool is usual empty all day. The sign on the Reception desk has been corrected since your stay with us.

The Balmer Lawn Hotel is a family owned hotel and refurbishment work is done as, and when, finances and business allows. Last year we completely refurbished the top floor and replaced all the bedroom doors, on all floors, with solid oak ones, and replaced the balconies. It is a bit like the Forth Bridge, the refurbishment work never ends!

We have tried to call you privately to discuss your issues as I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to prove to you that we can 'get it right' and I hope the many great reviews on this site will reassure you of this. My apologies that we got it wrong during your stay.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing