We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel in a great location”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing weekend at Balmer Lawn. We usually visit the New Forest around this time of year for a short break and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's in a great location, right in the forest where you can see many ponies wandering around most of the day. Our room was a forest view right on the front of the hotel, it was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was a great sixe too although the bath was a little creeky with a few loose tiles, but really nothing major to put us off, there were also some lovely toiletries on offer. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening where we had steak and chips, a glass of Prosecco and a cheese board to share in the lounge afterwards. The food was very good, and the staff were very attentive, although it is quite pricey but worth it for a treat. We will be returning to this hotel again as we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciderspider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great to hear that the hotel was a 'pleasant surprise' for you. We are spoilt with our location and views, especially at this beautiful time of year with all the trees changing colour.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having just read a review from someone staying at the hotel recently and complaining about the swimming lessons, I felt I must write and make things clear. We have been members of the Balmer Lawn for years and always find the staff very friendly and helpful. We also use the pool for swimming lessons for our four year old, and whilst this may be a pain for this particular guest who seemed to complain about most aspects of the hotel, we find that the swimming teachers do try and keep to one side of the pool if other guests are using it. If there are swimming lessons booked, then it is probably best to use the pool outside of these times (approx a two hour window) on particular days. There is a sign on the reception desk making you aware that this the case when you check in.

The hotel itself is in great repair, it is a country hotel so what this guest saw as shabby, is country chic ! Maybe the person concerned would be better off staying at a Travelodge with its wipe clean surfaces.

The lounge in the hotel is wonderful to sit and read the paper with a coffee, a cream tea ,or order a full meal., catering well for children's needs too. The food is always exquisite and the service impeccable. The location speaks for itself although we find tourists get a little too close to the ponies with their children which is insane and also try and feed them, which they are told not to do.

In the summer, the outside pool is delightful and it is highly recommended to sit on a lounger by the pool and order a drink or food and enjoy your surroundings. The sports facilities are also excellent, tennis, racquet ball etc.... there is something for everyone at this beautiful Forest hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentherehampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much for writing such a supportive review on the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that we are 'getting it right' in the eyes of a regular visitor to the hotel, that is praise indeed!

Thank you.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My daughter and I have stayed at Balmer Lawn five times now. The setting is gorgeous, with lovely scenery and ponies in abundance. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the rooms we have stayed in have always been clean and well appointed, with stunning views over the forest. The indoor pool is small, but the water is always beautifully warm, with the added bonus of a jacuzzi and sauna mto sooth aching muscles after a hard days walking and riding. Breakfast is absolutely delicious, with everything you could ask for and we have always enjoyed our evening meals in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that both you and your daughter enjoyed your 5th stay with us and we look forward to hopefully having the chance of welcoming you back for a 6th stay in the future!

K Birrell - General Managaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of the New Forest and made a beatiful location for an Autumn weekend break. The staff are attentive, welcoming and helpful. They assisted us with bike hire and maps. We had a lovely room with an extra smaller sitting room complete with TV and gaming equipment. The evening meal was good and the breakfast offered good choice, but would have been better if they served the cooked breakfast at your table, rather than self- service. The facilities are good with an indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi along with a very comfy lounge and bar area. We will definitely be making a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rnb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the New Forest in all it's autumn glory!

We only run a buffet style breakfast during busy times to ensure all our guests get quick service. However, if you would prefer your food cooked to order, and are prepared to wait a few extra minutes, then this can always be arranged if you ask a member of staff.

I do hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location walking distance to pubs and restaurants but close to busy road which is noisy if you are on that side of the hotel.

Our kids twin room round the back was lovely our more expensive 4 poster was shabby and very hot the only way to regulate this was by leaving the balcony doors open which was very noisy.

We were greeted by two very dizzy receptionists. The first was unable to check us into both our rooms until my husband arrived, when pushed he called his colleague over whose opening words were 'I'll have to be quick as my mum is waiting for me' great welcome!! After a quick whip through her list of newspaper/dinner reservation we were given our two keys. No idea where to go, was there a lift? Where is the pool? What time is breakfast etc etc.

We had booked balmer lawn for its location which is great but also as it has a pool, we seldom swim at home so this is a treat. We found our rooms dumped our luggage then headed to the pool. It is quite small and an odd triangular shape which makes it hard to swim lengths. All this would not have mattered if the pool room was not full of mothers and children and the pool full of children having swimming lessons! The teacher obviously felt she had priority over hotel guests and made no effort to keep the children out of our way. We hoped they would finish and go but more trooped in so now the pool is full and changing rooms too. We did manage to get out and changed but lessons continued from 4 to 7!!!

A sign we later spotted on the reception desk said no lessons in the afternoon of the following day. Oh good we thought, but no they were all back again the following day.

I choose this hotel my husband had wanted to go elsewhere. It is lovely to have the horses right outside and be able to go out to eat (didn't like the hotel menu) on foot. But the hotel is shabby paintwork rotten and peeling. Foreign staff helpful. Overall it was disappointing we paid over £500 for two night b&b for two rooms. They seem more interested in making a few pounds in swimming lessons than ensuring the hotel guests have an enjoyable stay.

We visit the area every year but will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lml67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

I was very disappointed to read your review with regards to your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

My apologies that your 4 poster room wasn't up to your expectations. We do have an innovative new booking facility called 'Look before you Book' where you can actually book a specific room of your choice. The Balmer Lawn boasts a wide selection of bedrooms, both in size and decor, to suit all tastes and budgets. We have recently put the heating on as some nights can be quite cold, but we have also had some very mild nights. My apologies that you found your room too hot. Had you brought this to our attention then we could have turned your radiators off.

I am very sorry that you found the check in process to be so poor. Having since spoken to the female receptionist on duty she is horrified that she came across this way as this really wasn't her intention. She often gets guest comments on how helpful and pleasant she is. I am sorry that you found her to be otherwise.

Again, my apologies with regards to the poor communication over the swimming lessons. All local hotels with such facilities offer private leisure membership to locals as this is an important revenue stream to help finance such expensive facilities. We only offer the use of our pool for lessons on weekdays at non peak times when the pool is usual empty all day. The sign on the Reception desk has been corrected since your stay with us.

The Balmer Lawn Hotel is a family owned hotel and refurbishment work is done as, and when, finances and business allows. Last year we completely refurbished the top floor and replaced all the bedroom doors, on all floors, with solid oak ones, and replaced the balconies. It is a bit like the Forth Bridge, the refurbishment work never ends!

We have tried to call you privately to discuss your issues as I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to prove to you that we can 'get it right' and I hope the many great reviews on this site will reassure you of this. My apologies that we got it wrong during your stay.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

On arrival a member of staff came out to our car to collect our luggage. On entering the hotel we were met by a beautiful scent, so lovely I actually remarked on it. Our room was fabulous with a six foot bed. The lounge has squidgy leather sofas, perfect to relax and enjoy the lovely cream tea. All of the staff were delightful. The restaurant manager even went to the trouble of switching off the air conditioning near me because of my sensitive eyes. What service.

Room Tip: Look on the hotel website and you can see and choose your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and I do hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for just one night and had a lovely four poster bed room with balcony. Great location and the staff were helpful and lovely. Only area for improvement was the restaurant - we had an evening meal in the restaurant. Unfortuntely the scallops were the smallest I have ever been served and the partial skate wing needed to be returned to be warmed up. Having said that, the staff were very willing and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I'm pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your time with us.

I have spoken to both our Head Chef, and Food and Beverage Manager with regards to your comments about the Restaurant. Having seen a starter portion of scallops being plated up recently, I have to say that I really am inclined to agree with you! Please rest assured that these issues have been taken seriously, and more importantly, have been dealt with.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, and that you will consider giving the restaurant a second chance.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,796 reviews
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,949 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
414 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#5 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: $169 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing