We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel but could do with a makeover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Park Hotel to your Saves list
Forest Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel but could do with a makeover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here on 9th feb for one night 2 adults 2 children hotel is in nice location and I'm sure in the summer the surroundings look stunning ,staff pleasant but did have to ask 3 times to get a cot for my son .we had a family room which was a good size main room with 2 beds chairs tv etc 2nd room with double bed ,big bathroom the room was clean but could do with a makeover , we was b+b ,breakfast was good a nice selection of cereals toast etc and cooked full English which was lovely , overall the hotel does needs a referb but if it was re done then you wouldn't be paying the same prices that they charge at the moment as I would say its good value for money and I would return .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bish230880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    157
    102
    66
    73
See reviews for
108
240
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a 2 night break, and first impressions were good. I found the reception staff pleasant and helpful, and the service was quick. The room was comfortable and served its purpose. We did not eat at the hotel in the evenings preferring to walk 10 minutes into the town, but found the breakfast to be plentiful and the service ok. Next door to the hotel within the same grounds there is a riding stables, called the forest park riding stables, for those that are that way inclined I would highly recommend doing an hour hack into the forest opposite the hotel.
Our only criticism is in the bar, on the one occasion we did use it the member of staff behind the bar had both limited English and knowledge of the drinks she was actually serving.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne1983_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We took advantage of a £99 voucher which was for 2 nights plus breakfast. We arrived early and found a room all ready for us - unfortunately it was a double and we had booked a Twin - so after a visit down to a very friendly Receptionist they gave us another room which was about 50% larger that the Double, had 3 Armchairs and plenty of space for everything. The Radiator was not operating but there was a fan heater in the wardrobe which kept us warm. The grouting in the Bathroom could do with some whitening -The room overlooked a somewhat soggy garden, but that was'nt really the Hotels fault. The Dining room was shut on our first evening and as we didn't want to go out, I asked in a lovely wooden-bveamed bar, if they could make us a sandwich or something similar and - oh joy!! they produced a very welcome all-day breakfast. The one complaint I have about this (and many other) Hotel is the lighting. Both my Husband and I - being very elderly!! - like to sit and read in the evenings - especially sitting in bed. The new "better-for-the-environment" bulbs are just not good enough especially the way a lot of bed-side lamps are situated - so take a book with large printing
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would happily have stayed longer

Room Tip: There is no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22oap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fabulous location, but... the hotel is in need of some TLC. Carpets are threadbare, bathroom and towels were shabby, bed was rock hard and extremely uncomfortable.
Breakfast was plentiful, but had obviously been sitting on a hotplate for some time. I like my bacon crispy, but not so much that I lose teeth when eating it.
Staff were friendly and helpful, but not particularly attentive, particularly in the restaurant where you could be waiting for quite some time to be seated.

Having said all that, there were some positives. With a special offer voucher, it was good value. The room was a good size and warm, and I'm sure the grounds would be lovely in the summer, the bar prices were very reasonable and the real ale was very well kept.

We enjoyed our trip to the New Forest, but wouldn't stay at the Forest Park Hotel again, nor would we recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMEG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Forest Park Hotel for 1 night for a friend's wedding, and wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer! The hotel is in a lovely location but is very old fashioned and shabby.

As we started getting ready we realised there was no hot water so had to change rooms, staff weren't particularly apologetic. There were squashed flies in the roller blinds and the shower in the second room, whilst hot, had very little pressure. The bed was very hard, although the room was warm and had a nice view. There was also a fire exit door in the room which worried me slightly in terms of security!

Breakfast was OK, I ordered scrambled eggs which came with a lot of pepper so I left it - personal preference maybe. Options were limited, particularly in terms of continental options. We didn't try dinner.

Overall we were disappointed with what we got for £60 for a night. We both felt with a big refurb it could be a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front don't have double glazing and are cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night after attending a wedding in the area and the hotel was beautifully located and the staff were very helpful. The decor was a little old fashioned but we were served a really nice breakfast in the morning and enjoyed some drinks in the lovely garden.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheMinkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked a long weekend at this hotel for my partners birthday in November 2012. Once booked, i then went online and read the reviews...... was very worried to say the least!!

Arrived to a beautiful open fire in the reception area, and a friendly member of staff. We were quickly given our keys to the very large double room. Okay, so the hotel does need a wee bit of refurbishment but I thought that the dated decor kind of added to the rustic charm of the place!!

The location is good, nice cosy bar, helpful staff and the breakfast was amazing!! There is plenty of parking as there is added parking round the back of the hotel, not just the spaces at the front of the building.

The bed was comfy even if the headboard did bang a bit but to be fair, a pillow sorted that problem out. The toilet in the en-suit was comical as it made quite a strange noise when flushed but didn't cause us any offence!!

There is a lovely little main street about 5 minute walk from the hotel which is handy if you need any supplies to take back to the hotel (we smuggled a Chinese takeaway back on our first night there)!

So all in all, the hotel isn't as bad as all the horrific reviews on here and we do plan on going back in a couple of months. I do wander what the hell people expect for their money because I thought it was definitely value for money!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which I will be requesting again next time we stay :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise-200681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing