We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$264
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
142
238
130
90
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
238
130
90
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrear gardenrefurbished roomlovely hotelbeautiful locationplenty of hot waterlovely gardenbrockenhurst villagetea and coffeeone night stayfull english breakfasta lovely stayyogurtrenovationdogforestscaffoldingworkmen
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 685 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed In this hotel in September 2012 and can say that the best thing going for it was the great location. I was staying at this hotel with friends. It was booked for me and I hadn't seen the reviews on trip advisor before staying. We had a number of rooms booked and the quality of the rooms seem to differ somewhat in size. Some how the room that I had been allocated, was one of the largest.

The main room itself, was clean and comfortable although I found it to be quite cold in the evening with no way of adjusting the heating. I found the bed to be comfortable although it squeaked quite a lot.

The bathroom left a lot to be desired, and was showing its age. There was mould on the ceiling and on the shower curtains and this wasn't exclusive to my room. The shower, dribbled water rather than flowed. My friends bathroom, was so bad he wouldn't even get undressed in there and he asked to share my bathroom.

The hotel itself has got potential to be a really nice place, It just needs, the owners to spend some money and refurbish the property.

Unless the hotel is refurbished I would not consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJA_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel has potential, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is gorgeous and so close to the village and walking and cycling.

Our room , including en-suite bathroom, was clean [I'm allergic to dust so that was acceptable], and I thought it was presented well, shabby but charming olde worlde hotel chiq describes it well.

For me however, wanting a weekend to relax and treat myself, I found the cold in the bedroom and bathroom meant I did not want to go back to my room, and as the shower dribbled luke warmly , there was not enough water coming out for a bath even, I couldn't even warm up with a hot shower. I had real concerns that I wasn't going to be able to wash out the shampoo from my hair !

One of the bedroom windows did not actually shut at all, and the temperatures were down way low. The radiator was not adjustable and barely warm. My last hope to get warm was the hairdryer .... but that was almost cold too. I gave up trying to dry my hair as it was taking so long ! Such a pity as the hotel could have a lot going for it.

For the money paid I would expect heat and a powerful hot water supply for goodness sake !

I won't be going back unless they can sort that out, nice as the staff were.

Sorry :-(.

Room Tip: We were in room 108 at the back. It was very quiet away from the road and nice and bright.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed last light in a double room 10 .We had to attend a wedding in Careys Manor and so had to book a hotel overnight .
Staff at reception welcoming , Room clean , bathroom nice and spotless , with shampoo's soaps hair dryer .Bed so comfortable , looked out across road into forest .
Had couple of drinks in friendly bar before retiring .
Put case in car and went into dining room with stunning views of garden , table stacked with fresh juices , yoghurts , fruit , cereals , bread ect ect exellent , Tea and coffee pot on table , order then taken for full English breakfast , other choices available , came to table within 5 minutes , exellent dining and smiling staff .It's an old forest hotel filled with character , warm , peaceful in our room , will come again , thankyou all xxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linlolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location

Staff very friendly - otherwise absolutely appalling

Bed was squeaky with springs poking through and dirty looking linen

No kettle in the room

Heating not working

No wifi as advertised

Electricity went off for about an hour with no warning

Dinner menu cheap ingredients - dreadful - salmon pasta completely inedible

No maps of New Forest available as advertised

Cold plates

Fire exit instructions made no sense

Room was filthy - window frames showing signs of rot

Shower curtain was dirty

Lunch service was cancelled for some reason

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s_graham805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had read the previous reviews and had expected the worst, this wasn't the case, we had two rooms booked, one for a couple and one for couple and a 2 year old. Rooms were clean and bathrooms clean with shampoo and shower gel, plenty of clean towels and clean bedding. The hotel is in need of some TLC but nothing as bad as some reviewers. The staff do not seem very experienced but made up for that in their helpfulness. Visted Peppa Pig and Paultons Park, would book again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 couple and family room 28
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliebellie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews