We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
146
242
133
91
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
242
133
91
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge gardenrefurbished roomlovely hotelbeautiful locationplenty of hot waterbrockenhurst villagefull english breakfasttea and coffeeone night staya lovely stayyogurtrenovationdogforestscaffoldingworkmenwalks
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 698 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights earlier this year and were very disappointed with our room. It was situated at the top of the hotel and we looked out over the main road, which wasnt a problem. However, the room itself was small, sparse and charmless. The bathroom had been 'squeezed' in to provide an en suite but there was a sliding door which did not close properly. We had a cream tea on our arrival which was very nice, and the evening meal and breakfasts were also good. The communal areas were tidy and comfortable. As has been said previously, the place needs a drastic refurbishment as it seems a shame to let it get so run-down when it is in a prime position in the New Forest.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had booked to stay at the Burley Manor hotel part of the same group but due to a booking error, (they said) was transferred to The Forest Park which was very dissapointing. The room was smelly the shower hardly worked with just a trickle of water comming out. For a double room there was only one bath towel, on the second day there was a fresh towel but the other wet one had just been picked up of the floor and put back on the towel rail. The food was adequate but mostly cooked from frozen, we had roast beef one evening but had to ask for the yorkshire puddings which eventually came straight from the microwave. The worst thing however was that we were charged the rate as if we had stayed at the Burley Manor

Room Tip: Look at them all before choosing
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian230947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we have just had a three night stay at the forest park our third vist in as many years. We always enjoy our stay lovely location friendly staff good breakfast. Met the new manager Frank a very hard working man always on duty morning noon and night .as to redecoration which would be great we feel maybe his hands are tied dont blame him or staff go to upper management , the company that own it. One more thing this hotel takes dogs great for us and many more people if you dont like dogs dont go at lease it was not over run by kids.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Desperately in need of a massive investment to refurbish the whole place. It's a beautiful building (once a hospital) in a great location with lovely grounds. No excuse though for how dirty and dusty it is though (I was constantly sneezing and wheezing - not sure if that was from the dust or the dog hair). PAT testing sticker on kettle plug was almost 2 years out of date. Water from hot tap took ages to warm up - and was then only lukewarm at best. Furniture is extremely worn and shabby. Manager gave us and our friends a bottle of wine each to compensate for the shoddy rooms. Our friends booked this via a voucher they were given as a present and invited us along. Normally I would never stay anywhere they didn't come up to scratch on Tripadvisor. This hotel has great potential if the money was invested - and then, it would also make a great wedding venue. Breakfast wasn't too bad. On the positive side, the staff were all very friendly, courteous and helpful. Terrible shame that such a lovely building is being left to fall apart.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 19.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good points: location
Bad points: bad smell in bedroom
Mould on window frame
Peeling wallpaper
Uncomfortable squeeky bed
No toiletries dispite note to say there should be ( reception said they had run out!)
Stake pipe at rear of hotel broken, sat in the ( otherwise plesent) garden, with sewage dripping onto the patio!
Dirty toilets, both mail and femail, downstairs in the hotel.
This is by far the worst hotel we have stayed in and we usualy stay in 2 star hotels. Thank heavens for the location, easy walk to the village for nice food.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rencat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews