We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff and reasonable food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Filly Inn

The Filly Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Filly Inn
Ranked #20 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
portsmouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and reasonable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and myself ate at the Filly on the evening of Sat 26th January. The staff were very helpful in fitting us in at short notice on what was a very busy night and this level of service and attention was consistently good throughout the evening. The Filly is very comfortable and clean and has a good atmosphere and the numbers that patronise this Inn clearly speaks for its popularity. Although not on the menu my wife requested a salad and this was arranged at £9-95. I had the chicken casserole which was quite satisfactory from the main menu again priced at £9-95. We felt that the salad was rather small for the price paid although we recognised this was a special request. We shared a cheese platter at £7-95 which consisted of a selection of 3 cheeses, a few grapes and 8 cheese biscuits which we felt was satisfactory but not outstanding. With 3 glasses of wine our bill came to about £42. The attentive staff and good service lifted any issues associated with the food but I believe the management / chef needs to look closely at the portion sizes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    56
    22
    13
    21
See reviews for
42
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Filly Inn has always been the most convenient hotel for our annual weekend away but our satisfaction was not improving over the last few years

THANK GOODNESS we gave it one more chance.

The new owners have spent time and money sorting out the dated accommodation and it has become a comfortable and pleasant place to stay with completely redesigned and refurnished rooms. The bar is well stocked and the food is terrific. We shall definitely be returning next year - if not sooner !!.

Room Tip: For a couple with a child they have a large double bedded room with a single divan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just had a great night at the Filly Inn and what a positive change from twelve months ago. The whole place has been improved and the bedrooms especially have had a fabulous makeover. Excellent menu and although 12 of us were sitting down to dinner we enjoyed good food and great service. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the Filly. Well done to Steve and all the team.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ten walking group members stayed at The Filly Inn over the weekend 19th and 20th January. This is an annual event and all members were absolutely delighted at the quality of the recent refurbishment as well as the quality of the food and the ever helpful staff. The bedrooms are hotel quality rather than pub quality.

This is a wonderful change by the new team who took over in the summer of 2012. Well done to all of them and I have already booked a summer holiday there. The walking group members will definitely return there next January!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Filly before many times with friends and watched it gradually go downhill, until a year ago we decided we wouldn't stay there again. How lucky it was then that one of our group popped in for a pint a few months ago to find Steve the new landlord transforming the place. Our friend persuaded us all that if we gave the place another chance we would not be disappointed. We have just had our best New Forest weekend in years. The welcome was warm and friendly. The rooms have all been brilliantly refitted and were a revelation to those of us who knew the old place, well presented, warm and comfortable. They are not huge and some have low ceilings in places, but that is the nature of the old building. You are after all staying in an old New Forest inn, not the Dorchester. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the ales went down a treat sitting by the fire in the bar, which has lost none of it's old world charm. We will definitely return next year, and maybe before that.

Room Tip: There is a nice family suite for couples with older kids, two separate bedrooms, one double one twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Athealstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Firstly, ignore any reviews over about 6 months old. The Filly has a new owner and he has worked miracles. I have been going to the Filly for years with my wife and friends and it did go through a bad patch. That has all changed. All the bedrooms have been completely refurbished and the bathrooms (through a clever bit of rearrangement and knocking through walls) are now spacious with good showers. The breakfast room has been transformed. The staff are friendly and eager to please. The food is good and reasonably priced. Even a couple of good real ales!
If you have been there before and thought it was a dump then give it another try, you won't believe the difference! If you haven't been before, don't be put off by the old reviews, the Filly has been transformed into a great place for a New Forest stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

A group of 8 adults and 10 children dropped into the Filly on New Years Eve for a late lunch. We hadn't booked and yet no problem for the pub as they geared up for the evenings celebrations. All the team looked after us very well. Great service and the food was very clearly home cooked and local. One of our children had food allergies and the kitchen was clearly diligent and supportive. The beer and wine also very good.We sat in the newly refurbished garden room and had a lovely afternoon watching the rain coming down, nice and warm by the wood burner. We thought the prices very reasonable, too. The walks nearby are lovely when the weather good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
1.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Filly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Filly Inn

Property: The Filly Inn
Address: Lymington Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Hotel Class:4 star — The Filly Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Filly Hotel Brockenhurst
The Filly Inn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing