We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Forest weekend for years!”
Review of The Filly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Filly Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Filly before many times with friends and watched it gradually go downhill, until a year ago we decided we wouldn't stay there again. How lucky it was then that one of our group popped in for a pint a few months ago to find Steve the new landlord transforming the place. Our friend persuaded us all that if we gave the place another chance we would not be disappointed. We have just had our best New Forest weekend in years. The welcome was warm and friendly. The rooms have all been brilliantly refitted and were a revelation to those of us who knew the old place, well presented, warm and comfortable. They are not huge and some have low ceilings in places, but that is the nature of the old building. You are after all staying in an old New Forest inn, not the Dorchester. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the ales went down a treat sitting by the fire in the bar, which has lost none of it's old world charm. We will definitely return next year, and maybe before that.

Room Tip: There is a nice family suite for couples with older kids, two separate bedrooms, one double one twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athealstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Firstly, ignore any reviews over about 6 months old. The Filly has a new owner and he has worked miracles. I have been going to the Filly for years with my wife and friends and it did go through a bad patch. That has all changed. All the bedrooms have been completely refurbished and the bathrooms (through a clever bit of rearrangement and knocking through walls) are now spacious with good showers. The breakfast room has been transformed. The staff are friendly and eager to please. The food is good and reasonably priced. Even a couple of good real ales!
If you have been there before and thought it was a dump then give it another try, you won't believe the difference! If you haven't been before, don't be put off by the old reviews, the Filly has been transformed into a great place for a New Forest stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A group of 8 adults and 10 children dropped into the Filly on New Years Eve for a late lunch. We hadn't booked and yet no problem for the pub as they geared up for the evenings celebrations. All the team looked after us very well. Great service and the food was very clearly home cooked and local. One of our children had food allergies and the kitchen was clearly diligent and supportive. The beer and wine also very good.We sat in the newly refurbished garden room and had a lovely afternoon watching the rain coming down, nice and warm by the wood burner. We thought the prices very reasonable, too. The walks nearby are lovely when the weather good too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jim005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff were really welcoming and very happy to do their best to accommodate my needs. Vegan friendly pubs aren't the easiest to come by but they were so helpful also said as I was leaving, if I gave them a day or so notice they could make up a better selection of Veeg friendly food for me to choose from. The food I had was very nice and service was prompt and pleasant, I would recommend to others for sure!
Thanks :D

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LottieDotts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This pub is dog friendly but also very clean, tidy and welcoming and looks to be newly refurbished our food was home cooked and enjoyable, fresh home cooked chips, genuine handmade burger, fresh soup etc. Reasonable prices and friendly staff. The only slight dissapointment was the pudding which was small ( slice of chocolate chestnut pave) and a little dull in terms of presentation. we will visit again for the dog friendly welcome and try the Sunday lunch.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank caranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband took me to The Filly for my Birthday treat and booked us in to the B&B, as a nice get away from the family.. The starter "Goats Cheese & Red Onion tart" was amazing truly delicious only downside too much salad, but then it depends on your appetite! The main was a huge burger which i had topped with stilton and it was succulent well cooked and great value. Couldn't fault the food. The overall atmosphere of the pub was lively and up-beat as there was a band in the main pub, but this was fine as we were sat in the newly built garden room which is lovely. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rawg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A party of us went here for dinner and found the food very average. Chips were poor and the steak pie was just a small stew (probably from the freezer) with a lump of pastry cooked separately and dumped on top at the last minute. We thought this type of pub cooking had gone out in the 1980s! The service is erratic, occasionally too attentive, at other times leaving you on your own for ages with dirty plates in front of you. And it is one of those place when you try to help them by booking a table in advance you are given the worst table in the place - our first table before we complained was right in front of the outside door so a cold draught blew over us every time it was opened.Unnecessary as there were plenty of empty tables. Most of the beers on pump were not available as on the night we were there. Gents' Toilets could have done with a clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L, Owner at The Filly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

We always listen to our customers' comments and on many occasions it has led to significant changes to our business; however, this is an extremely unusual review. I have absolutely no idea why you would assume our steak and ale pie filling to be frozen. As described on the menu it is freshly prepared using great quality beef from New Forest cattle and cooked in a rich gravy made from our locally brewed best bitter. This is the very reason that it comes with a puff pastry lid as it is the only way to ensure the freshness of the filling without having to reheat a precooked pie. Our chips are hand cut, skin on and prepared from local potatoes everyday. In my opinion they taste fantastic and the only chips I would give to my family - but if you prefer McCain then perhaps they are not for you.

In fact our entire menu is designed to be really great quality home cooking freshly prepared from the best local produce we can possibly source. None of our food will ever have seen any of the additives or preservatives required to produce a 'ready meal' consistency. Our specials board always carries a great selection of impressive, restaurant quality food whilst our bar menu - including the pies - is designed to be rustic, nutritious, honest and wholesome. If this makes us unfashionable then, please, pass me the shoulder pads and hair crimpers.

As to your table choice, most of our customers tend to gravitate towards the lighter tables by the window so we assume these to be the most popular. Of course we understand that everyone has individual preferences and, providing there is the space, we are very relaxed with nothing being too much trouble for our staff and would be more than happy for you to choose your own seat - there is no reason for you to feel that you needed to complain.

Regarding the rest of your comments, there has never been an occasion when most of our beers were not available and our newly refitted toilets are without exception immaculate on opening everyday and checked regularly throughout the day. It is extremely disappointing, no matter how rare, to hear that a customer did not enjoy their time with us and we strive to try and ensure that this never happens. I can only apologise that this has not been the case for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
1.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,704 reviews
1 mi away
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
2,565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Manor at Sway
The Manor at Sway
#2 of 9 in Sway
236 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
842 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Filly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Filly Inn

Address: Lymington Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Hotel Class:4 star — The Filly Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Filly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Filly Hotel Brockenhurst
The Filly Inn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing