We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campsite but a bit pricey!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollands Wood Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a tent in April. It was freezing cold but that's nothing to do with the site. It's a 10 minute walk from brockenhurst pubs etc. toilets and facilities were well maintained and staff were regularly going around the site. However £26.50 to camp for one night is a bit on the expensive side!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 588 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Four of us stayed at Hollands Wood over the easter weekend, we stayed in a camper van as the weather was so cold, we arrived at about 5pm on the friday afternoon and were seen by reception, they were helpful and friendly advising us of do's and dont's on the campsite.
It is a beatiful area with lots of space with free roaming animals (so make sure if u are in a tent u pack away ur food when u go out, as the poines are very nosey!) the toilet blocks are clean and tidy and warm and are serviced every day about 10am nice hot showers. there were no queues but i think that was because it was cold weather, i think it would probably be busier if it was warmer.

little bit on the pricey side but thats because it was a bank hols.

there is no shop on site and no electric hook ups so its very back to nature which is nice if u want that sort of thing, which we did. the village is only a 15 min walk if u need milk bread etc.
lots of lovely walks in the forest, we bought a map and we were given helpful tips by the site staff, i can honestly say they were really nice people and made us feel very welcome.

only down side was the noisy road, try to camp away from the road side of the site, otherwise we had wonderful time, will return here again.

Room Tip: try to camp away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Such a great camp site! Holland's Wood is beautiful. It's surrounded by donkey's and ponies grazing and wandering around the site and the open field on the right hand side of the site.
The WC facilities were always clean whilst we were there. I can see people having to queue for a shower in the mornings during peak times of the year. We stayed for a few nights in September 2011, the campsite wasnt full, but wasnt empty and only had to queue once for a shower.
I would definitely go back to Holland's Wood. It's in a great location!

Room Tip: As you drive in to the camp site, pitch on the right hand side. You will hear road traffic noise on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELWilko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. The campsite had all the amenities you want including hot showers, washing-up area, toilets and recycling facilities.
The campsite staff were friendly. We arrived on foot and so didn't need to book, at £6/night it was a real bargain. Beware of the ponies they are very friendly but want your food!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxanneBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well... what can I say? It was my first experience of proper camping. I loved it, it was a busy bank holiday weekend but that didn't cause any problems. The shower & toilet facilities were always clean (although you do get some who don't mop the shower after them). You are a short walk from Brockenhurst centre, such a lovely picturesque walk too. The river next to the site is also very peacful & you can walk or ride a bike for hours in the woodlands. I wish we would have stayed longer and managed to hire bikes out!!

Room Tip: Pick the dryest spot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysH0nest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The campsite is set underneath woodland and overlooking fields where various horses and donkeys graze. It is very beautiful but unfortunately it is also set near a road which,if you are camped near, can get noisy peak hours. There is no shop or pub/restaurant onsite but it is only a 15 minute walk into Brockenhurst which has a few restaurants and pubs. The rangers are very helpful with suggestions of places to go and ideas of things to do.We camped over a weekend where it gets very busy and it can be an slight issue finding a decent space as it is an unreserved campsite. The showers and wash area is basic but clean. This place is great for weekend walking but I would not reccomend it for glampers

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StealingSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived for two nights camping, and wished we could have stayed longer! the camp was quite quiet, but i think they had had a busy weekend before.
We camped in the middle of the site, but I think next time we will go further inwards near the fields, the traffic on the main rd can be noisy, plus if you camp near the field you will have un-interupted view of the fields and nearby woods.

The pony's, donkeys and cattle roam freely round the site, and we witnessed some ponies making a real nuisence of themselves, barging into tents and stealing food, you either need a dog (which seems to keep them away) or the confidence to loudly shoo them away!

The showers are clean, but get busy around the usual times (9am ish) so best to choose a different time if you can.
Washing up area clean and not busy, launderette convenient, £3 per wash and dryers take 20p's and you need at least £1.40 to get anything dry.

I was disappointed with the lack of a site shop, they sold milk, and you could hire ice blocks, but that was it, we ran out of gas and had to walk to a shop in Brockenhurst, which was well stocked I might add.

Brockenhurst is only 15 mins away, and has some lovey pubs and shops. I would recommend the Forester Arms, really friendly staff and reasonably priced food.

We will be back!

Room Tip: No shop on site, nearest camping shop Brockenhurst. We needed rock pegs as ground very hard. Camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,684 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#3 of 14 in Fordingbridge
484 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
2,530 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Manor at Sway
The Manor at Sway
#2 of 9 in Sway
230 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollands Wood Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollands Wood Campsite

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitching your tent here will automatically connect you to nature and provide you with a camping experience you won't forget! Just a ten minute stroll away is Brockenhurst village with an abundance of pubs, banks, shops and restaurants. The campsite also has direct access to the forest via its numerous walking and cycle paths, and is within easy reach of the popular and expansive picnic site of Balmer Lawn next to the Lymington River, perfect for a dreamy lunch next to an enchanting waterway - where wildlife is abundant. This is an extremely family-friendly campsite and popular with families, groups and young people alike; it is therefore advisable to book in advance during high season to avoid disappointment. This campsite features grass pitches suitable for tents, caravans and motorhomes. There is no electricity on site, but it is fully equipped with three toilet and shower blocks, disabled facilities, baby wash and change areas, laundry facilities and a dog showe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollands Wood Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Hollands Wood Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing