We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite in a beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollands Wood Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. The campsite had all the amenities you want including hot showers, washing-up area, toilets and recycling facilities.
The campsite staff were friendly. We arrived on foot and so didn't need to book, at £6/night it was a real bargain. Beware of the ponies they are very friendly but want your food!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxanneBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 587 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well... what can I say? It was my first experience of proper camping. I loved it, it was a busy bank holiday weekend but that didn't cause any problems. The shower & toilet facilities were always clean (although you do get some who don't mop the shower after them). You are a short walk from Brockenhurst centre, such a lovely picturesque walk too. The river next to the site is also very peacful & you can walk or ride a bike for hours in the woodlands. I wish we would have stayed longer and managed to hire bikes out!!

Room Tip: Pick the dryest spot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysH0nest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The campsite is set underneath woodland and overlooking fields where various horses and donkeys graze. It is very beautiful but unfortunately it is also set near a road which,if you are camped near, can get noisy peak hours. There is no shop or pub/restaurant onsite but it is only a 15 minute walk into Brockenhurst which has a few restaurants and pubs. The rangers are very helpful with suggestions of places to go and ideas of things to do.We camped over a weekend where it gets very busy and it can be an slight issue finding a decent space as it is an unreserved campsite. The showers and wash area is basic but clean. This place is great for weekend walking but I would not reccomend it for glampers

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StealingSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived for two nights camping, and wished we could have stayed longer! the camp was quite quiet, but i think they had had a busy weekend before.
We camped in the middle of the site, but I think next time we will go further inwards near the fields, the traffic on the main rd can be noisy, plus if you camp near the field you will have un-interupted view of the fields and nearby woods.

The pony's, donkeys and cattle roam freely round the site, and we witnessed some ponies making a real nuisence of themselves, barging into tents and stealing food, you either need a dog (which seems to keep them away) or the confidence to loudly shoo them away!

The showers are clean, but get busy around the usual times (9am ish) so best to choose a different time if you can.
Washing up area clean and not busy, launderette convenient, £3 per wash and dryers take 20p's and you need at least £1.40 to get anything dry.

I was disappointed with the lack of a site shop, they sold milk, and you could hire ice blocks, but that was it, we ran out of gas and had to walk to a shop in Brockenhurst, which was well stocked I might add.

Brockenhurst is only 15 mins away, and has some lovey pubs and shops. I would recommend the Forester Arms, really friendly staff and reasonably priced food.

We will be back!

Room Tip: No shop on site, nearest camping shop Brockenhurst. We needed rock pegs as ground very hard. Camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The site itself was beautiful, although too big a site for my liking and the toilets and showers spotless. I'm sure the staff think they're being efficient, but what actually comes across is rushed, confusing and sometimes plain rude.

We were attending an event at Beaulieu and the site seemed to be perfectly situated. When we arrived we were greeted by a very smiley lady that took our booking details away and came back, handed us a leaflet and then started reeling off what I'm sure would have been useful information had it been slowed down to 33rpm from 78rpm. She then pointed at where we could pitch up on a small handy sized map before turning and rushing off leaving at top speed taking said map with her.

Later that evening, after returning from dinner, we turned into the campsite, had just gone over the first speed bump when the same person came rushing over. I did think it must have been a very long shift and this is possibly the reason for the complete change in demeanour, we lowered the car window to be greeted by what only can be described as a screaming banshee telling us to slow down. There are 5mph around the site and we could not have been going much over this, if at all as we had only just turned into the site, gone over one speed bump and were approaching the second. After screaming her tirade, she yet again turned and fled.

Would not stay here again as there are cheaper, more intimate sites with far better customer service slightly further out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superpoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great site with plenty of facilities. Its an easy walk to the shops (20ish minutes). Everything was as it should be, and the staff were helpful and polite.

By the Brockenhurst Station there are all the things you might need ( banks, Nisa Local, Tesco Local, Fish and Chips shop, Butchers, Greengrocers, Chinese & Indian Takeaways amongst others) So basically all you need, as well as the numerous pubs.

It is popular so at busy times i'd recommend turning up as early as you can after midday, to secure a spot.

Only thing to mention is that if you are a light sleeper, you should aim to pitch up as far from the main road as you can, but thats a minor thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deesingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Loved this site, great location, set in the middle of the forest with ponies wondering between the tents, friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and only a 15 minute walk into Brockenhurst. Will definitely go back next year.

Room Tip: A good tip is to pitch your tent away from the road as it can get a bit noisy at night...or take ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,087 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
612 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollands Wood Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollands Wood Campsite

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitching your tent here will automatically connect you to nature and provide you with a camping experience you won't forget! Just a ten minute stroll away is Brockenhurst village with an abundance of pubs, banks, shops and restaurants. The campsite also has direct access to the forest via its numerous walking and cycle paths, and is within easy reach of the popular and expansive picnic site of Balmer Lawn next to the Lymington River, perfect for a dreamy lunch next to an enchanting waterway - where wildlife is abundant. This is an extremely family-friendly campsite and popular with families, groups and young people alike; it is therefore advisable to book in advance during high season to avoid disappointment. This campsite features grass pitches suitable for tents, caravans and motorhomes. There is no electricity on site, but it is fully equipped with three toilet and shower blocks, disabled facilities, baby wash and change areas, laundry facilities and a dog showe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollands Wood Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Hollands Wood Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing