We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Le Blaireau

Le Blaireau
Ranked #8 of 58 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Carey's Manor and decided to dine on the first night at Le Blaireau, it was so good that I dined there each night for the rest of my stay.

The food is excellent, lovely variety of dishes and the Cornish clotted Ice cream and Kirsh cherries dessert is to die for. The warm and friendly but efficient service made dining alone (never a pleasant experience) easy for me. The decor and haunting French music along with the delightful vine covered outdoor terrace tranpsorts you across the channel.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    122
    29
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Brockenhurst”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great Food, Great Service, Great Price...what more could you ask for.

Only downside is they do not serve all the wines on the list per glass. Minimum purchase of 1 bottle

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ra66it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A taste of France in the Forest.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned from yet another splendid meal at Le Blaireau. We have been eating there for some time and are always happy to return for a celebration or just a quick but excellent coffee.The service is friendly but unobtrusive and the ambiance as authentic as you can get this side of the English Channel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor service and average food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My fiancée and I dined here as all the other restrains we full. The greeter was a very enthusiastic and pleasant chap, it was a shame that the rest of the service did we not as eager to serve. After waiting 40 mins for moules frites (nice) and duck breast (tough, but in a tasty sauce), we chose profiteroles. They were straight out of the freezer and not worth £6.50 for two balls of ice cream wrapped in stale choux pastry. The waiting staff, who had been impossible to attract) were not interested as to why I had only eaten two bites of my dessert, but they were too busy.
The overall experience was pas mal (pleasant atmosphere and interesting street cafe decor kept us amused while waiting), but the food and quality of service did not match the steep price.
Food Cafe Rouge, but sticking +25%.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loadsamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayenne, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent food and beautifully presented. Lovely ambience. Staff very attentive. Very good value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Blaireau also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Le Blaireau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing