We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family accomodation for all ages.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Kitchen/dining room
A curious neighbour!
Living room
A great place to sit and watch out for passing donkeys, ponies and cattle
Bi-fold doors onto patio
Bi-fold doors onto patio
Large patio with seating for eight
Groundfloor bedroom made up as a super king
Ground floor bedroom made up as a twin
Downstairs shower room
Downstairs showerr room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite to master bedroom
Double bedroom with view over the garden
Double bedroom overlooking the garden
View from back bedroom window
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Landing
A selection of games, books and maps
View from the front bedroom window!
New neighbour
New arrival 2016
Autumn Pannage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frances D
1 review
“Fantastic family accomodation for all ages.”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house is lovely, clean and spacious with a great garden, and the owners are very helpful and seem to have thought of everything. The location is ideal, especially for none car drivers as it close to the village and train station but on a very quiet road (apart from ponies wondering past from time to time). I won't write any more as we liked it so much we want to go again, and don't want it to get booked up too many years in advance!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Frances it was lovely to get the chance to meet you and your family albeit very briefly. We are very pleased that you liked the house and that you had a good holiday and would love for you to return sometime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Companion...
1 review
“Beautiful house with all home comforts in ideal location”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Myself & my grown up children & granddaughter spent a lovely long weekend at Hathersage in Brockenhurst to celebrate my 60th birthday. The house is fantastic, the layout is perfect for larger families of varying ages & having 3 bathrooms makes all the difference.
The wonderful kitchen/diner/lounge area across the back of the house with bi-fold doors leading out onto a great back garden is perfect for family meals & games nights as well as outdoor fun. Having a separate quiet lounge at the front where those who need to retreat from the mayhem of family life is an added bonus!
The location in Brockenhurst village with the train station on the doorstep is perfect for thise travelling without a car & also to be able to get out to all the nearby attractions such as Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Longdown Activity Farm, Moors Valley Country Park & of course the wonderful New Forest itself with the loveky walks & picnic spots amongst the ponies, one of which wandered up our road after our arrival!
I cannot thank Alison enough for making our stay at Hathersage such a happy one & for providing for all our needs, even leaving a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge to help me celebrate my grand old age! Flowers in the kitchen & a welcoming card as well as comprehensive instructions & information to help make our stay a truly wonderful memory!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hathersage Cottage, and thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your birthday celebrations and hope to welcome you all back sometime. Regards Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebacons...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hathersage cottage”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely weekend break here . House was amazing everything you could need for a break was supplied . Lovely pubs only a 5 min walk away with lovely food .Village only about 10 min walk . Kitchen is done to i high stranded as with the rest of the house but could do with another sofa in kitchen . Will be going back so i hope

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your break. Thank you for your review and your suggestion. As you know we currently have a sofa and a number of occasional chairs in the kitchen. We did this as we felt it would be more flexible for guests, but we are constantly reviewing things so it maybe something we consider in the future. In the meantime as you know there are 2 large sofas in the living room if people prefer. Hope to welcome you back to the house in the future. Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belkhayes
1 review
“Lovely House great position”
Reviewed December 21, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Had a thoroughly enjoyable two weeks with extended family in this beautifully presented very well equipped house. Everything has been considered. House close to both Station and Village. Owners very helpful and thoughtful. Although Winter, excellent heating-it was a delight to return to after a days outing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2016
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back sometime. Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriag...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hathersage Cottage”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely short break at Hathersage Cottage with our son, partner and one year old grandson. The cottage itself is ideally situated and was beautifully presented and clean. Would definitely like to visit during summer months to enjoy the garden which is accessed via the open plan kitchen/diner which is like the rest of the cottage beautiful!
Thank you to the owners who were very attentive even contacting Marie whilst we were there to ensure we were warm enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your break and hope you will visit again. Regards Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzmaz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING house and location! ”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights in early November. Wow, what a place! We can't speak highly enough of the accommodation. The space, decor, styling and equipment were all exceptional but it was the attention to detail that we really loved and appreciated. The welcome basket with card and goodies was a lovely touch and our one year old son loved the play mat and toy baskets that were provided.

Alison was so kind and, as she wasn't in the area, even dropped us a message one day to see if we were all warm enough in the house as it had suddenly got so cold! Most people wouldn't have bothered but it really showed that she cares whether her guests are having a good time.

The location is also fantastic. A few minutes walk into lovely Brockenhurst saying hello to the roaming donkeys and ponies on the way. And so much to see and do in the vicinity, all within a short drive from the house.

In summary, this is a gem of a place, we will definitely be returning next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad you all had a great stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollybuk
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful long weekend in a beautiful home”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I celebrated a special birthday with my family at Hathersage and the property was ideal. There was a wonderful kitchen/family room looking on to the garden where the children had plenty of space to play.. The grand-children really enjoyed all the toys provided. The property is really well equipped with everything one could need. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. We enjoyed the local area and also it was just a short drive to Mudeford, Hengisbury Head and Christchurch. The owners responded very quickly to any enquiries before our stay and were extremely helpful during our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was most enjoyable.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Hi Molly, thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and your birthday celebration at Hathersage. I hope the children had fun on their crabbing expedition. We hope to welcome you all back sometime. Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing