We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“spacious and quiet and great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in your private hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in your private hot tub
The Roundhouse Spacious hexagonal lounge from which the property takes its name
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Relax in your private hot tub
The Roundhouse
Spacious hexagonal lounge from which the property takes its name
Beautiful original beams in the lounge
Well equipped farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with kingsize bed, ensuite shower and doors onto patio
Spacious twin bedroom
Cosy twin bedroom
Family bathroom with separate bath and shower
Private patio with seating and charcoal BBQ
Private lawned area accessed from the patio
Guests are welcome to fish in the farm's lake
our cattle enjoying the summer sunshine
Our farm dogs are a great favourite with visitors
Bude Sea Pool is perfect if you aren't into surfing!
Summerlease Beach, Bude is just one of many beautiful beaches within easy reach of the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela S
1 review
“spacious and quiet and great location”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second visit to The Roundhouse, everything you could want and more. Comfortable and very spacious. Paul and Polly very welcoming especially Patch and Bob. Definitely visit again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMHWJH
2 reviews
“Great holiday location!”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic week holiday in this beautiful cottage. Photos don't do it justice at all. Very spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean on our arrival. Paul and Polly very welcoming and friendly. Great location to discover the delights of Devon and Cornwall. Would highly recommend 'The Roundhouse' for a restful break and we hope to return again soon. Thanks Paul & Polly.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
546shaunj
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love it there!”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A brilliant combination of peace and quiet if you want it but not far to go to find plenty to do. Absolutely spotless, plenty of room and the kitchen has everything you need. A walk to the local - the Molesworth Arms, for a Sunday lunch is a must!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j N
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, Great location”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Roundhouse at Higher hopworthy Farm was just what we needed. A beautiful cottage with lots of history . It's very roomy, tastefully furnished and has everything needed for home from home comfort in a lovely secluded area, (but within easy reach of the north coast).

The owners are very welcoming .The two farm dogs are friendly and it was nice to walk to the private lake and to sit in the cottage's patio garden and enjoy a BBQ.
We hope to return soon

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,Beautiful Lounge,More than 1 bathroom
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themusgro...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodation, great location, great hosts!”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in the Roundhouse and we recommend it highly enough.
The cottage is very nice; comfortable, well equipped and in a fantastically quiet location.
The dogs (Patch & Bob) kept us entertained and our hosts were extremely welcoming finding a fantastic balance between being available and friendly without being intrusive.
You will need transport and the cottage is on a working farm so the tractor comes past quite early but if you want a quiet retreat this is perfect.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucky last minute booking”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we booked this cottage at last minute and couldn't have done better. Spacious, well equipped, quiet - everything you you need and more.
Lovely people, quiet location, we will certainly return.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatoklo1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful & welcoming cottage stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was by far the best cottage holiday we've had.
The cottage itself was spacious, clean & well equipped. The bedrooms were a good size & very comfortable.
The location was perfect for us; very peaceful & tranquil with beautiful views over the countryside & good for walks too.
You do need a car to get around but the waitrose & local shops are just short drive & the lovely Bude town only a few miles away with all the convenience of supermarkets plus some really nice little bistros, shops & takeaways, this really didn't bother us.
We explored a little further away for some fantastic Cornish beaches but Bude beach is also nice.
Polly & Paul were very hospitable & friendly & always there if we needed anything but we also felt that we had privacy too. We can't praise them enough! The local beef from the farm & the fresh eggs are highly recommended.
Bob & patch the farm dogs were the highlight of the holiday... They kept our son well & truly entertained for the whole week! He's usually quite nervous of dogs but that quickly passed when they showed him how playful & friendly they are.
This place is highly recommended. We had a great week, we couldn't have asked for more & we will definitely be returning, thank you!

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing