We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Calming, Beautiful & Secluded”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ABODGEUP
ESSEX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Calming, Beautiful & Secluded”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have to say that before I booked Hendra I did my homework, I did not find a single bad review anywhere that I looked.
I really was not let down, From the early communications with David to our last day everything about our stay was idyllic.
We were welcomed by David, who showed my disabled parents where they could park and gave me a full tour of the property, explaining where and how everything was and how it worked, he offered non-slip mats for my parents shower and also sourced some "plastic" glasses for my little imp's as I would never trust them with actual glass!
There was chilled wine in the fridge and enough scones, cream and homemade Jam to satisfy all 8 of us. The fresh flowers in every room are a lovely touch too.
My husband and I took the upstairs double,which would fit both of us and both our girls (aged 6 + 5) and it did on several occasions! and it was so comfortable I even slept the first night, which is unheard of. The bathrooms were well equipped spotless and the showers were larger than most you get in holiday lets.
The Kitchen, like the rest of the house, was spotless and everything that you could possibly need was provided. The decor, ambiance and furniture all blend so well and the views from both upstairs and the living room over the Tamar Valley are breathtaking (I will attempt to add a photo of our bedroom view) my only very very tiny complaint is that the sofa's are not that comfy and hard to get up from as they are quite low, but honestly that is such a small thing on the grand scheme of things.
David,thank you so much for the care, attention to detail and welcome that you gave us, you are a real Gentleman and as a family we will be back to the stunning Hendra for another week of blissful peace in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for writing us such a comprehensive and appreciative review. I am truly delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us - it was a pleasure to host your family's Cornish break. We try very hard to make it a home from home, so it's wonderful that you noticed all the little touches. It makes it all worth while!

Thank you also for your feedback about the sofas - it's always very important to us that we find out this sort of thing. In fact, since your stay we have already replaced the main sofa facing out to the view and are looking to replace the other sofa soon. I do hope you will notice the improvements next time you come to stay. You will always be most welcome.

With my best wishes and thanks,

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R
1 review
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Hendra was a fabulous property: spacious, well equipped and luxurious. We had a mixed group of extended family and friends for our first holiday with our 4month old baby and it suited everyone wonderfully. David was a lovely host and we appreciated our heaped plate of scones with local clotted cream and homemade jam and the fresh flowers all over the house. We had mixed weather but even days at the cottage were spent with time under the shady trees in the garden and the family enjoyed the trampoline and the barbecue.

We had lovely trips to Port Isaac, Widemouth Bay, Boscastle, Bude canal/marshes and Clovelly(very pretty but difficult with a pram!). We also had a fabulous meal at Elements Italian restaurant in Widemouth bay. We would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review - it is much appreciated. I am very pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday in Hendra cottage, and it's lovely that you noticed all our extra little touches - we work hard to make it a home from home so it's great when it pays off. We feel very lucky to have such extensive grounds, and it's good to read that you made the most of the trampoline and barbecues, despite the inclement weather. You make some excellent recommendations for future guests, mentioning some of our favourite spots on the North coast - there's always plenty more to see. It was a pleasure having you all to stay, and I sincerely hope you may come back to visit us again soon.

With my best wishes and thanks,

David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna D
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb accommodation in wonderful location”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The owner David is an extremely welcoming and approachable owner. He has furnished the property to a very high standard and it was a pleasure to stay with our children and their partners. The setting is beautiful and there is the added bonus of David's two dogs. It is an extremely dog friendly holiday let and allows easy access to many of Cornwall's beautiful locations. We would particularly recommend Cotehele House and Quay as the gardens are spectacular. We also enjoyed cycling the Camel Trail and visiting Stiblyback Lake for some kayaking. I would also recommend the circular walk along the coastal path from Widemouth Bay to Bude and back along the Bude Canal to Widemouth as the varied scenery is wonderful. In the wooded area along the canal from Bude you can pick wild garlic in the Spring which is lovely in a risotto. We would hope to come back soon as there is still so much to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful accommodation and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing such a positive review for us. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in Hendra and that you appreciated the boutique furnishings. We are very proud of our dog-friendly status too, and my two terriers always love to meet the guests when they can. It sounds as though you certainly made the most of our location, and it's great you found time to explore the stunning coastline. Cotehele is one of our favourite local attractions, just further down the same river that runs through our village - a truly remarkable building, and as you say, spectacular gardens. I am pleased to read you were able to make the most of the local sporting opportunities as well - cycling, kayaking and walking - you really kept busy! Surfing, rock climbing and horse riding will have to wait until next time! It was a privilege to host your holiday this year, and you would be most welcome to return again sometime.

With best wishes and thanks,

David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a week away at Hendra. We went with another family and had a lovely time. The children had lots of room to play and we're really safe in the gardens. The trampoline and football goals were a real hit! As for inside.... it was such a good house for us all plenty of room in the living area it was great all being open plan. The kitchen had everything we needed and everything was really clean. The welcome pack and wine was much appreciated after a long jouney . And the flowers in the rooms was a extra touch too. The pictures dont do it justice we were surprised by the size when we arrived and how very nice every room was. Thanks to David for being so helpful beforehand. We would defiantly recommend this cottage to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review of your stay in Hendra. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to see our younger guests making the most of our play equipment - there's certainly plenty of space to let off steam and the trampoline is always a hit! I'm so glad you appreciated the space and comfort of Hendra, and that you liked all our fresh flowers - as you can probably tell, we're rather fond of flower arranging! The welcome pack is another favourite amongst our guests, and you're right - it's just what is needed after a long journey! I do trust your journey home wasn't too bad and hope you might consider visiting us again soon.

With thanks again for the review and very best wishes to you all,

David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapnapare...
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“simply superb”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a mind blowing property, surrounded by rolling hills. We were a family of 9. We stayed at cottage Hendra. Beautiful, very comfortable. had all the amenities of a modern home. Flly Equipped with washing machine. dryer, dish washer.
Free wifi.
Located ina tiny village but short drives to lots of pretty places.

The owner David had kept a welcome package of wine tea coffee etc & some traditional Cornish Scones Strawberry Jam & Clotted Cream!!! simply divine. David ws very helpful. Gave us a lot of tips for sightseeing around in the area.
Its a good base to go see typical cornish villages. Bude, padstow, Tintagel, St Ives, Penzance, St. Micheals Mount.
Theres a play area for kids, trampoline, Bbq, loads of games, toys.

The photographs on the website is exactly how the house looks!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for kindly writing us such an excellent review of your break. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities of Hendra and that you appreciated the interior design - it's something were very proud of! I'm also very glad that you were able to take the time to explore the area; there's so much to see and you definitely included a few of the highlights. It was a pleasure meeting you all, and welcoming you into our little corner of heaven! We hope to see you again soon.

With best wishes and thanks,

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was superb. It was done up to a very high standard with your own patio / garden facilities. There are a total of 4 cottages so ideal for families / groups. It was Set in gorgeous, well maintained gardens, which offer bbqs, plenty of seating, a pair of woodpeckers, a trampoline, playhouse, sandpit and football goal. It was ideal for us to do an Easter egg hunt for the children. Check in was straightforward and the owner was really friendly. We were welcomed with fresh flowers, hot cross buns and Easter eggs. A lovely touch. There was also a list of local events, free use of wifi and a selection of magazines available to us in our cottage. There is also a room where you can do laundry, have use of a freezer as well as use their selection of games. The location was ideal for us and we did walk around the local area down to the river and canal. We would definitely recommend these cottages and go back again. Plenty of people agree in their visitors' books! Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us such a wonderful and comprehensive review of Hendra cottage, and for writing such a kind comment in our guestbook - we're delighted the girls enjoyed the Easter pack. We love the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you appreciated our extensive grounds - an Easter egg hunt is a brilliant idea; we have just the right variety of gardens! You wouldn't be the first visitor to appreciate the wildlife either, though I think seeing both woodpeckers makes you rather lucky! As you can imagine we put a lot of effort into making the cottages 'just so', and we're genuinely delighted that you've noticed all the little touches. It was really wonderful to host your Easter break in Cornwall, and we sincerely hope we might see you again. You would all be most welcome!

Best wishes and thanks

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip O
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage & secluded location”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed a week in Hendra last year; the facilities are fantastic, and extremely well decorated - far above what we'd expected from a holiday cottage.
Felt really at home, with a very welcoming host - and small touches such as fresh flowers and a bottle of wine in the kitchen!
It's in a lovely peaceful spot in the middle of the countryside; very quiet and away from it all. Although the free wifi in the cottage was a real bonus!
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again, especially with a family group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the very special feel of Hendra - it's our aim to make it as comfortable and homely as possible. We hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes and thanks,
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing