We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel we've stayed in for years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgcumbe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Edgcumbe
Ranked #6 of 51 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hotel we've stayed in for years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wonderful views, lovely welcoming family Beautiful rooms. Good selection for breakfast. Can't say enough good things about this lovely hotel. Our only complaint is that when we tried to book another stay they were fully booked!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJbeamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    26
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
146
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Everything about this place was great.

We went on a Wowcher deal so didn't get the best rooms but they were fine - big enough, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean with tea/coffee/biscuits etc, flat screen TV, wardrobe, bedside cabinets, two chairs etc. The ensuite was fine too - not big but adequate. View was of the back yard - but many rooms have a sea view. The bed was very comfortable

The house is brilliantly situated just up from the beach in a cul de sac, with a sun room at the front so that you can sit in comfort whilst taking in the view. There is a small bar, and plenty of box games etc available. Breakfast was fine, with smoked salmon available as well as the usual fry up stuff. You can get a meal in the evening at very reasonable prices, and very good quality. Parking is limited in front of the house, but there is some free on road parking which we managed to get every time we needed it. If all else fails, you can get 24 hours parking in the beach car park a minute's walk away for £5

There is free wifi which is supposedly just in the public areas but actually you could get it in our room at the top of the house.

But, the best thing about the place is the staff, who live on site (it's a family business). They are friendly and cheerful and helpful. Absolutely brilliant.

I would happily stay here again - highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle,staffs
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have stayed at The Edgcumbe on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. All of the family are incredibly friendly and make you feel welcome. The rooms are modern, clean and bright with fantastic views at the front. There is a pleasant bar area with comfy chairs and sofas to relax in and the selection of local beers is great. There is a great selection at breakfast, everything from the full English to a continental with an additional choice of yoghurts and fresh fruit. We always stay here when we visit Bude and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want a view of the sea and room 5 has a lovely big bathroom compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. Attention to detail ranges from the beer chosen in the bar to the soap and linen in the rooms. 12 foot ceilings help create a marvellous and relaxing atmosphere. We were blown away by the personalized attention even providing soy milk for a dairy free delicious breakfast with an unforgettable view of the beach. We will return and recommend this place for all travellers to bude. Thank you guys!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Owners will go out of their way to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you're going to stay in Bude this is the place to go. Being in a prime position overlooking the beach is just the start.
The hotel has a modern, seaside feel, nice rooms, clean and bright. We had great views over the beach despite a late booking of the last room available. There is a nice lounge/bar to relax in and enjoy a coffee, cake (great homemade Victoria sponge) or glass of wine.
Breakfast is excellent, a great choice and good quality.
However the thing that makes this hotel that little more special is the family who run it. Warm and welcoming when you arrive this extends right throughout your stay. Friendly and helpful and certainly good fun, they really make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: Good views from room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for two nights just before Easter and were very impressed by the welcome , the high standards of service , the very clean bedroom with a very large en suite/bathroom , great location overlooking the bay with a nice conservatory area at the front where you can relax and have a drink. Very friendly and helpful owners - would highly recommend and definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We turned up at this hotel late evening without prior booking on the off-chance of a room for the night. We were so impressed with the friendly and welcoming service that we stayed for another night. The room was clean and so well equiped with everything you could possibly need and the breakfast was delicious. We so enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JYDandKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#9 of 51 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dylan's Bed and Breadfast - Bude, Cornwall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgcumbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgcumbe

Property: The Edgcumbe
Address: Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgcumbe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Period property on the outside, seaside chic on the inside, so much more than a B & B, with a look and feel more suited to a small boutique hotel. A relaxed and easy bar area with board games and quizzes for cosy evenings in and and a contemporary yet relaxing dining room for breakfast and home-cooked evening meals. Great spot overlooking the coast, cliffs and town and an easy walk to town centre and 2 great surfing beaches. Everything you need for a great break in an unspoilt and stunning area with accommodation to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Edgcumbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgcumbe Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing