We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel in an ideal location.”
Review of The Edgcumbe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Edgcumbe
Ranked #8 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is friendly and very clean and tidy. It has wondeful views over Summerleaze Beach. We paid £65 for a double room with an excellent breakfast. The only downside was that ours was a rear facing room with views over Sainsbury's car park. May well be worth asking for a sea view but not sure what is the additional cost. The online booking does not appear to give an option?
We would definitely stay again. Go for it.

Room Tip: Consider a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Crook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 281 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Just had two days at the Edgcumbe and we could not fault it. The proprietors were so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were excellent . The rooms were extremely comfortable and well maintained

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliadawn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Where to start! This place is just lovely! The Edgcumbe is faultlessly clean and beautifully decorated with such a lovely atmosphere, and there is such attention to detail here that I haven't seen in "Luxury" hotels.
The staff are so friendly and attentive. Breakfast is great; quality food cooked perfectly, presented beautifully and served either in the pleasant dining room or in the sun lounge overlooking the bay. Our room (No3), although quite small was lovely, cosy and warm with a nice en-suite, the only negative would be the view from the room of the car park and the hotel yard which could be improved- but this did not bother us. Location is great, situated so close to the beach but only a few minute’s walk into town.

I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: no view in No 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband & I stayed at The Edgcumbe for 2 nights over the May bank holiday & we had a lovely time. We were met with a lovely warm welcome which continued throughout our stay. Breakfast was cooked to order & was delicious both mornings. The decor creates a lovely relaxing atmosphere & the location is perfect! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is a gem! We loved the huge fluffy towels, warm welcome, fabulous breakfasts and the lovely, clean room. The weather was awful but the house was really warm with independent radiators in the room for you to use. Coming from Oz it was appreciated. The bar was nice to sit in after a day touring looking out onto the sea.

We travelled for a month around the uk and it was the best place we stayed in. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipper484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here on a KGB deal as part of our honeymoon traveling around Cornwall we enjoyed our stay the food was lush and the room was well maintained and tidy. The staff are helpful especially as there isn't a lot in bude but its a great place to relax plenty of walks along the beach which is on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starr-Elliott1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The family run hotel was lovely. Nice clean room and the breakfast was excellent.

Friendly staff and close to shops, pubs and restaurants.

We went off season but the hotel was still busy over the weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0KrisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.3 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
238 reviews
0 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#10 of 49 in Bude
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgcumbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgcumbe

Address: Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range: $93 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgcumbe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Period property on the outside, seaside chic on the inside, so much more than a B & B, with a look and feel more suited to a small boutique hotel. A relaxed and easy bar area with board games and quizzes for cosy evenings in and and a contemporary yet relaxing dining room for breakfast and home-cooked evening meals. Great spot overlooking the coast, cliffs and town and an easy walk to town centre and 2 great surfing beaches. Everything you need for a great break in an unspoilt and stunning area with accommodation to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgcumbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgcumbe Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing